LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Debian
User Name
Password
Debian This forum is for the discussion of Debian Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 03-24-2021, 07:19 AM   #1
boughtonp
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Location: UK
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 1,236

Rep: Reputation: 1052Reputation: 1052Reputation: 1052Reputation: 1052Reputation: 1052Reputation: 1052Reputation: 1052Reputation: 1052
Prevent wifi network applet listing unused networks


Debian Testing/Bullseye with Cinnamon.

When I'm connected to a wifi network, I have no need or interest in seeing other wireless networks.

Does anyone know a way to hide them from the Wireless section of the Cinnamon network applet?

Failing that, is there some way to filter them out at a lower level?

Since the machine in question only ever connects to a single wifi network, I would be happy with a solution that involves whitelisting on name and/or ssid to only ever detect the network the machine cares about.

 
Old 03-24-2021, 07:35 AM   #2
wpeckham
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2010
Location: Continental USA
Distribution: Debian, Ubuntu, Fedora, RedHat, DSL, Puppy, CentOS, Knoppix, Mint-DE, Sparky, Vsido, tinycore, Q4OS
Posts: 3,740

Rep: Reputation: 1690Reputation: 1690Reputation: 1690Reputation: 1690Reputation: 1690Reputation: 1690Reputation: 1690Reputation: 1690Reputation: 1690Reputation: 1690Reputation: 1690
In a word, "no". There is no way for the applet to read minds and know what networks are of interest, and no setting (in my version) that allows you to HIDE networks.

That said, you do not NEED to run the applet. Once networking is set up and NetworkManager will connect you to the proper WIFI you can choose to disable that applet and simply not use or display network information at all.

There is also another option: which is to set up the networking manually. I do not recommend this, as it is not only quite advanced and subject to error but also more difficult to fix if things break or change.

With that out of the way, I have a question for you: why does it matter? What is there about being able to see other WIFI networks in that applet that is problematic? Normally I would consider it a GOOD thing.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 03-24-2021, 08:12 AM   #3
boughtonp
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Location: UK
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 1,236

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 1052Reputation: 1052Reputation: 1052Reputation: 1052Reputation: 1052Reputation: 1052Reputation: 1052Reputation: 1052
Quote:
Originally Posted by wpeckham View Post
There is no way for the applet to read minds and know what networks are of interest
It's not a question of reading minds - if I'm currently connected to network A, I'm not interested in network B.

It could also determine that networks below a certain strength threshold are not listed - I wouldn't be surprised if it did that already, but has a relatively low value.

Or, as I stated, I would be quite content with any method to specifically tell the desktop environment or the kernel which networks I am interested in.


Quote:
That said, you do not NEED to run the applet. Once networking is set up and NetworkManager will connect you to the proper WIFI you can choose to disable that applet and simply not use or display network information at all.
Oh! I didn't realise I was asking for something I didn't need! :|



Anyway, I've just tracked down the code to "/usr/share/cinnamon/applets/network@cinnamon.org/applet.js" (not the "/usr/bin/nm-applet" suggested by previous searches).

Making a test edit and reloading the applet the changes take effect, so it shouldn't take much to make it behave as I want, and then I'll go workout whether to fork the applet or if it's easier to re-apply the changes after each upgrade.

 
Old 03-25-2021, 09:43 AM   #4
wpeckham
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2010
Location: Continental USA
Distribution: Debian, Ubuntu, Fedora, RedHat, DSL, Puppy, CentOS, Knoppix, Mint-DE, Sparky, Vsido, tinycore, Q4OS
Posts: 3,740

Rep: Reputation: 1690Reputation: 1690Reputation: 1690Reputation: 1690Reputation: 1690Reputation: 1690Reputation: 1690Reputation: 1690Reputation: 1690Reputation: 1690Reputation: 1690
Quote:
Originally Posted by boughtonp View Post
It's not a question of reading minds - if I'm currently connected to network A, I'm not interested in network B.

It could also determine that networks below a certain strength threshold are not listed - I wouldn't be surprised if it did that already, but has a relatively low value.

Or, as I stated, I would be quite content with any method to specifically tell the desktop environment or the kernel which networks I am interested in.
The point is that what you are asking of the applet is not what it was intended to do. Your choices are either change the behavior to something that it was not intended to do, or simply not display the applet so you do not have to SEE those other networks.


Quote:

Oh! I didn't realise I was asking for something I didn't need! :|
1: I did not say you were asking for something you did not need. I said you do not NEED the applet. You were not asking for the applet, you already have it and that was what bothered you. You can eliminate the applet from your display and not have to see that wifi list. I do not understand why you seem to be manufacturing a reason to take needless offense.

2: actually you ARE asking for something you do not need. Unless you answer the question I asked (which you have not done so far) the assumption is that everything is working correctly (according to the design), you just WANT to not see it work quite as intended. What I WANT is to help get you there.
Quote:

Anyway, I've just tracked down the code to "/usr/share/cinnamon/applets/network@cinnamon.org/applet.js" (not the "/usr/bin/nm-applet" suggested by previous searches).

Making a test edit and reloading the applet the changes take effect, so it shouldn't take much to make it behave as I want, and then I'll go workout whether to fork the applet or if it's easier to re-apply the changes after each upgrade.

Oh good. Let us know how that works out.
 
Old 03-25-2021, 01:00 PM   #5
cynwulf
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Walsall, UK
Posts: 2,608
Blog Entries: 7

Rep: Reputation: 2132Reputation: 2132Reputation: 2132Reputation: 2132Reputation: 2132Reputation: 2132Reputation: 2132Reputation: 2132Reputation: 2132Reputation: 2132Reputation: 2132
If you don't need Network Manager and only ever connect to one network, just disable it and set up a manual configuration.

https://wiki.debian.org/WiFi/HowToUse#Using_ifupdown
 
1 members found this post helpful.
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] network-manager-applet-1.16.0-i586-1 package is missing 'org.gnome.nm-applet' schema. Jefferson Slackware 1 03-08-2020 07:50 AM
sftp ls command, short listing vs long listing slufoot80 Linux - General 3 02-05-2013 10:40 AM
Network-manager not listing all networks djeikyb Linux - Networking 1 07-03-2010 08:20 PM
Network Manager Applet (nm-applet) dwhitney67 Linux - Newbie 5 02-01-2010 11:20 PM
how to prevent directory listing in apache ? chuck77 Linux - General 7 12-21-2001 03:27 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Debian

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration