LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Latest LQ Deals
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware
User Name
Password
Linux - Hardware This forum is for Hardware issues.
Having trouble installing a piece of hardware? Want to know if that peripheral is compatible with Linux?

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 06-09-2021, 02:37 PM   #1
doumamuzan
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2021
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Question Will it require a separate power supply? Trying to connect 2 GPU cards to a small old Dell


Dell Optiplex 7010

Service Tag: 7KKH8Y1

Express Service Code: 16481196937

And then 2 of

ATI Radeon HD 4870
 
Old 06-09-2021, 03:06 PM   #2
TB0ne
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Distribution: SuSE, RedHat, Slack,CentOS
Posts: 23,827

Rep: Reputation: 6982Reputation: 6982Reputation: 6982Reputation: 6982Reputation: 6982Reputation: 6982Reputation: 6982Reputation: 6982Reputation: 6982Reputation: 6982Reputation: 6982
Quote:
Originally Posted by doumamuzan View Post
Dell Optiplex 7010
Service Tag: 7KKH8Y1
Express Service Code: 16481196937

And then 2 of
ATI Radeon HD 4870
Again, as with your other thread:
https://www.linuxquestions.org/quest...ot-4175695940/

...did you even try to look anything up?? You were given a picture that shows what the slots are. The manual for your system can be found on Dell's website, which you can go look up and read. The specs for the ATI cards are also available, and you can go read THOSE as well. Given that you have all the information you need, you are (essentially) asking us to read it FOR YOU. You can figure out how many watts those things draw, look at the specs on your power supply and do very simple math on your own.

You never bothered to follow up in your other thread, told us what the goal is here, or even told us how this is a Linux question. The only things we know are the model number and the service tag and code (neither of which means anything here). Why do you need two cards?
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 06-10-2021, 08:08 AM   #3
beachboy2
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2007
Location: Wild West Wales, UK
Distribution: Linux Mint 20.1 MATE, MX-19.3, antiX, EndeavourOS
Posts: 3,325
Blog Entries: 17

Rep: Reputation: 1262Reputation: 1262Reputation: 1262Reputation: 1262Reputation: 1262Reputation: 1262Reputation: 1262Reputation: 1262Reputation: 1262
doumamuzan,

Find the exact specs of your Dell PC and then enter the info in here:
https://www.newegg.com/tools/power-supply-calculator/

Then compare the recommended PSU power with that of your existing one.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 06-10-2021, 10:48 PM   #4
obobskivich
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2020
Posts: 300

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Just for folks finding this thread via google or elsewise: it's generally considered a very bad idea (because it can cause hardware damage) to run a graphics card (or any other expansion card that takes auxiliary power) 'split' across two PSUs (where PSU #1 is connected to the motherboard and PSU #2 is connected to the auxiliary inputs on the expansion card). I agree with TB0ne and beachboy2 for the OP - this is an easily answered question with the information you already have.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 06-10-2021, 11:09 PM   #5
rnturn
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Illinois (SW Chicago 'burbs)
Distribution: openSUSE, Raspbian, Slackware. Older: Coherent, MacOS, Red Hat, Big Iron IXs: AIX, Solaris, Tru64
Posts: 2,464

Rep: Reputation: 501Reputation: 501Reputation: 501Reputation: 501Reputation: 501Reputation: 501
Quote:
Originally Posted by doumamuzan View Post
Dell Optiplex 7010

Service Tag: 7KKH8Y1

Express Service Code: 16481196937

And then 2 of

ATI Radeon HD 4870
Dunno.

Questions for you:

Math/Electrical-oriented: What are the power requirements for the ATI cards? How "big" is the power supply in the Dell?

As a starting point, I'd probably starting thinking about a replacement PS that is the wattage of the existing PS wattage plus the power requirements of the two ATI cards.

Mechanical-oriented: Does the existing power supply use a standard form factor power supply? (NOTE: many commercial PCs use oddball sized PSs. Even DIY systems can run into this---I found out that the replacement PS I bought for a system in an old Antec case doesn't use the same hole spacing. It's close but disappointing that the industry decided to change that.) If so, are you comfortable swapping it out?

Cheers...
 
1 members found this post helpful.
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Variable output on power supply units: Power variance against voltage variance Michael Uplawski General 8 09-07-2018 01:01 AM
Poorly designed power supply or power strip? - Wasted space Jeebizz General 8 02-14-2015 07:22 PM
LXer: Power to the PC: How to Select a Computer Power Supply LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 09-16-2010 07:12 PM
Does Power Supply, supply power? --> Need comments SHENGTON Linux - Hardware 4 07-04-2009 10:46 AM
need ultra small power supply taoweijia Linux - Hardware 2 12-07-2003 05:53 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration