LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware > Slackware - Installation
User Name
Password
Slackware - Installation This forum is for the discussion of installation issues with Slackware.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 12-17-2017, 01:30 PM   #16
Gandalf73
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Dec 2017
Posts: 15

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled

Hi Didier,
thanks for your details.
I see that Slint is dated around Gen & your file August so my question : is the ISO patch included into the first file?
Taking into account that I linked the Slint into SATA virtual device (before to install) so I don't know how to include your patch before to run ISO distro.
If your patch is included I use the ISO Slint only...
(I found also the e2fcsk options : "e2fcsk -fp -C 0 /dev/nvme0n1p2")
Thank you very much...I let you know my news with installation details.
Bye
 
Old 12-17-2017, 04:02 PM   #17
Didier Spaier
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Nov 2008
Location: Paris, France
Distribution: Slint64-14.2.1 on Lenovo Thinkpad W520
Posts: 8,526

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gandalf73 View Post
Hi Didier,
thanks for your details.
I see that Slint is dated around Gen & your file August so my question : is the ISO patch included into the first file?
Yes it is.
Quote:
Taking into account that I linked the Slint into SATA virtual device (before to install) so I don't know how to include your patch before to run ISO distro.
Yes it is, as in the other ISO. Actually I shipped Slint64-14.2 fully patched before proposing the patches to Slackware.
Quote:
If your patch is included I use the ISO Slint only..
Feel free to. Or wait 24 hours and try the new release
Quote:
(I found also the e2fcsk options : "e2fcsk -fp -C 0 /dev/nvme0n1p2")
Thank you very much...I let you know my news with installation details.
Bye
You are welcome. Best of luck.

Last edited by Didier Spaier; 12-17-2017 at 04:05 PM.
 
Old 12-18-2017, 05:17 PM   #18
Gandalf73
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Dec 2017
Posts: 15

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Hello Didier..my test is negative.
It is very very abnormal...the virtual vmdk file have errors.
Below the e2fsck message found:
"Bad magic number in super-block while trying to open /dev/nmve0n1.
The superblock could not be read or does not describe a valid ext2/ext3/ext4 filesystem....."
Following at the installation package phase I try:
"hdparm (read set hard drive parameters)
Error:can't open file for writing read only file system
Error:error thrown
Error:failed to estract file /sbin/hdparm
Error package installation failed."
So I think that there is problems into the partition phase create.
The last trial that I can do is use other tool..diffrerent to cfdisk.
I let you know...but for me it seems very very strange...
Bye
 
Old 12-18-2017, 05:37 PM   #19
Didier Spaier
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Nov 2008
Location: Paris, France
Distribution: Slint64-14.2.1 on Lenovo Thinkpad W520
Posts: 8,526

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
I always use vmdi files, not vmdk. Maybe try that and see what happens.
 
Old 12-21-2017, 08:00 AM   #20
Didier Spaier
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Nov 2008
Location: Paris, France
Distribution: Slint64-14.2.1 on Lenovo Thinkpad W520
Posts: 8,526

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Slint64-14.2.1 is now available. Sorry it took longer that stated.

Last edited by Didier Spaier; 12-21-2017 at 08:01 AM.
 
Old 12-22-2017, 08:52 AM   #21
Gandalf73
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Dec 2017
Posts: 15

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Hello Didier!!
Congratulation for your precious work.
However I installed a Slackware64-current-DVD and the problem is the same :
process stopped because
"/usr/lib/setup/installpkg: line 378 /mnt/var/log/setup/tmp/tmplist_number read-only filesystem"
I also repeat the same ISO in virtual machine with SATA-SATA simulated support(HDD+DVD).
No errors found and installation was completed.
My other tests will be :
new version of Virtualbox (rel 5.2.4) with your new Slint & new version of Virtualbox with new version of Slackware64-current.
I let you know the results.
A little issue:
I saw that your old Slint version try to install all packages without choice (for example by passing some programs instead of other).
Is it correct?
Thank you again and....I wish you (and your family) an Happy Christmas.
Bye
A
 
Old 12-22-2017, 09:33 AM   #22
Didier Spaier
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Nov 2008
Location: Paris, France
Distribution: Slint64-14.2.1 on Lenovo Thinkpad W520
Posts: 8,526

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Hello,

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gandalf73 View Post
A little issue:
I saw that your old Slint version try to install all packages without choice (for example by passing some programs instead of other).
Is it correct?
Yes it is. In the new version that also includes LXDE and MATE, only KDE is optional.

Best,
 
Old 12-27-2017, 08:30 AM   #23
Gandalf73
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Dec 2017
Posts: 15

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Hello Didier,
I tried others Linux Distro and the same behaviour happened also.
During the installation phase there is a difficult to open the read package.
With Debian we have the same problem:stopped installation for corrupt packages
My thought is that it can be:
not enought memory in /tmp directory during the installation phase or something similare issues.
It is like very fast move and the /tmp space is not empty yet
Taking into account that the configuration SATA-SATA (virtual hdd + DVD) is very good for all kind of distro & all kind of ISO.
Bye
A.
 
Old 05-09-2018, 09:33 AM   #24
Gandalf73
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Dec 2017
Posts: 15

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Hi Didier,
nice to write you newly.
Finally I found the problem which we discussed previously.
All installation bugs (and after that) is generated by chipset that I choose: "ICH9".
All incopatibilty start on it.
If I pass PIIX3 as option at the machine configuration all go on very well.
Different case is when the item is "ICH9".
With it all system crash as you know.
The same behaviour is for Debian.
So it is very interesting at this time to know if the problem grow up from kernel module or VirtualBox driver.
What do you think about?
I hope that my discovered is useful for others.
Bye
Alessandro
 
Old 05-09-2018, 12:16 PM   #25
Didier Spaier
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Nov 2008
Location: Paris, France
Distribution: Slint64-14.2.1 on Lenovo Thinkpad W520
Posts: 8,526

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Hello,

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gandalf73 View Post
All installation bugs (and after that) is generated by chipset that I choose: "ICH9".
Yes, this seems to be confirmed by Oracle, and hopefully fixed in VirtualBox 5.2.10 (released April 17 2018), according to the Changelog that includes:
Quote:
Storage: fixed having multiple NVMe controllers with ICH9 enabled (5.2.0 regression)
So I suggest that you upgrade VirtualBox to confirm that the fix works in your case.
 
Old 05-10-2018, 04:56 PM   #26
Gandalf73
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Dec 2017
Posts: 15

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Hello Didier,
also the ver 5.2.10 have the same behaviour.
I think that the issue that solve the problem is:
"Serial: fixed possible data corruption when sending data under certain circumstances" in 5.2.12 version
I don't test yet the new version but I let you know as soon as I reach to complete the installation with ICH9 and NVME device without "error data corruption" into data transfer from virtual DVD iso to virtual NVME
Bye
 
Old 05-12-2018, 11:28 AM   #27
Gandalf73
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Dec 2017
Posts: 15

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Hello Didier,
confirm the same behaviour in the version 5.2.12 VirtualBox.
Using ICH9 chipset + Sata device + NVME virtual HDD, I think that grows up bug.
I suppose data corrupt during installation phase.
The configuration PIIX3 go on without problems with Sata device and NVME virtual HDD.
Very interesting issue...:-)
Bye
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
slackware 64bit virtualbox guest zenlunatic Slackware 32 12-01-2013 12:55 PM
[SOLVED] VirtualBox guest additions for init 3 Slackware guest? kikinovak Slackware 2 06-04-2013 10:36 AM
Move Slackware guest from a Slackware hosted Virtualbox to Windows hosted Virtualbox? damgar Slackware 1 08-07-2012 11:28 PM
startx on Gentoo guest (VirtualBox) giving STRANGE errors , please help :( asilentmurmur Linux - Newbie 2 02-08-2011 09:25 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware > Slackware - Installation

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration