LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware > Slackware - ARM
User Name
Password
Slackware - ARM This forum is for the discussion of Slackware ARM.

Notices


View Poll Results: Slackware arm aarch32 current port needed
Yes 7 38.89%
No 8 44.44%
This architecture is irrelevant 3 16.67%
Voters: 18. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 10-18-2022, 02:10 PM   #1
sndwvs
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2014
Posts: 1,618

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Slackware arm aarch32 current


Hello,

This survey was created to understand the need for Slackware arm aarch32 current for users, and what percentage of users are planning to buy on ARM processors aarch32.
 
Old 10-20-2022, 04:53 AM   #2
business_kid
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Ireland
Distribution: Slackware, Slarm64 & Android
Posts: 14,716

Rep: Reputation: 2028Reputation: 2028Reputation: 2028Reputation: 2028Reputation: 2028Reputation: 2028Reputation: 2028Reputation: 2028Reputation: 2028Reputation: 2028Reputation: 2028
Personally feel nobody except those on very limited budgets would buy 32bit today. The need, if one exists is for people who already have them.
 
Old 10-20-2022, 06:29 AM   #3
lucabon
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2021
Location: Italy
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 61

Rep: Reputation: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by sndwvs View Post
This survey was created to understand the need for Slackware arm aarch32 current for users, and what percentage of users are planning to buy on ARM processors aarch32.
I personally have to manage many ARM-Aarch32 single-boards, some with still ARMv5 processor, and some other with ARMv7 processors. Actually I plan to buy new low-budget ARM aarch32 based board for something like IoT (not really IoT, but they serve as bridge for BLE devices). They are the cheapest board.

But... I have compiled my own Slackware-based distribution, so not really a need since already updated to -current:
ARMv5 (32bit soft-float): https://bonslack.org/bonslack_armv5te-current/
ARMv7 (32bit hard-float): https://bonslack.org/bonslack_armv7hl-current/
ARMv8 (64bit): https://bonslack.org/bonslack_aarch64-current/
 
Old 10-20-2022, 10:57 AM   #4
sndwvs
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2014
Posts: 1,618

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by lucabon View Post
I personally have to manage many ARM-Aarch32 single-boards, some with still ARMv5 processor, and some other with ARMv7 processors. Actually I plan to buy new low-budget ARM aarch32 based board for something like IoT (not really IoT, but they serve as bridge for BLE devices). They are the cheapest board.

But... I have compiled my own Slackware-based distribution, so not really a need since already updated to -current:
ARMv5 (32bit soft-float): https://bonslack.org/bonslack_armv5te-current/
ARMv7 (32bit hard-float): https://bonslack.org/bonslack_armv7hl-current/
ARMv8 (64bit): https://bonslack.org/bonslack_aarch64-current/
Here, I’m talking about the same, there is a moment when it makes sense to take ARMV7, but you can’t put a fresh council on such a fee. I have 2 favorites of CRUX-ARM, which has not yet refused Aarch32.

Based on Changelog, your Current is 15.0 with updates. But by files this is still a full Current.

Last edited by sndwvs; 10-20-2022 at 11:08 AM.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 10-20-2022, 11:39 AM   #5
lucabon
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2021
Location: Italy
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 61

Rep: Reputation: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by sndwvs View Post
Based on Changelog, your Current is 15.0 with updates. But by files this is still a full Current.
Opppsss... Forgot to relink the ChangeLog.txt when transitioning from 15.0 to current... Many thanks for spotting it! Now it is updated (anyway, it is a simple copy of the official Slackware's ChangeLog.txt).
 
Old 10-23-2022, 04:11 AM   #6
OldHolborn
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2012
Posts: 229

Rep: Reputation: 189Reputation: 189
Lots of arm32 ( both v7 and <=v6 ) boards out there very competently doing "boring" jobs.

Giving Stuart beer and electricity money to continue support makes more sense than pointlessly sending them to landfill just to replace with more powerful machines that sit near idle all the time.

Thank you Stuart
 
3 members found this post helpful.
Old 10-29-2022, 03:45 AM   #7
ilmich
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2013
Posts: 6

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
I'm the maintainer of an unofficial port of Libreelec for Android TV Box with Rockchip 3228 SOC (a 32-bit arm-v7).
In terms of functionality it's slightly superior to a raspberry 3.
Hardware is inexpensive but poorly maintained original firmware. So by installing linux it's possible to prevent them from ending up in the trash.
I had started working on a slackware 15 image, but somewhere I read that support for 32-bit arm architectures was in question and I gave up..
So from my point of view it would be useful to keep maintaining the 32bit port.

Thank you Stuart
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 10-29-2022, 10:36 AM   #8
lucabon
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2021
Location: Italy
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 61

Rep: Reputation: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilmich View Post
I'm the maintainer of an unofficial port of Libreelec for Android TV Box with Rockchip 3228 SOC (a 32-bit arm-v7).
[...]
I had started working on a slackware 15 image, but somewhere I read that support for 32-bit arm architectures was in question and I gave up..
Actually there are 4 porting still supported for ARM 32 bits (2 official, 2 unofficial):
- v5te, soft-float, supported 14.2 (official): http://ftp.arm.slackware.com/slackwa...kwarearm-14.2/
- v7, hard-float, supported 15.0 (official): http://ftp.arm.slackware.com/slackwa...kwarearm-15.0/
- v5te, soft-float, supported 14.2, 15.0, current (unofficial): https://bonslack.org/bonslack_armv5te-current/
- v7, hard-float, supported 14.2, 15.0, current (unofficial): https://bonslack.org/bonslack_armv7hl-current/

Creating a Slackware porting is super-easy, because the main job is done by the core Slackware team.

I actually maintain unofficial Slackware porting for a total of 17 architectures/variants (Alpha, ARMv5, ARMv7, ARMv8, LoongArch64, MIPS, MIPSel, MIPS64el, OpenRISC, PPC, PPC64, PPC64le, RISC-V64, SH4, SPARC64, z/Architecture): https://bonslack.org/
The build scripts are the same as Slackware official sources, plus few additional configurations/patches to disable x86 specific code compilation. And this is a single-person job, with very few resources to compile packages (1 x86_64 PC + 4 single-board PC: OrangePI-PC, OrangePI-Prime, Nezha, Seagate GO-FlexNet).

I need Slackware porting especially for ARM 32-bit (both v5/v7), because I have many system with 32-bit processor that I need to maintain with the latest software versions and security patches.

So, I think we need a 32-bit Slackware ARM porting, but actually we already have some choice, so I think you can safely use Slackware 15.0 and/or current: it will be maintained by someone, should he/she be Stuart or someone else like me that needs Slackware porting for these architectures.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 11-02-2022, 04:36 AM   #9
ilmich
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2013
Posts: 6

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Hi @lucabon, thanks for the info.
I have done a removable media creator (sdcard in this case) where the kernel is packaged and the bootloader and the slackware minirootfs for arm are installed.
It is not my intention to maintain a distribution (mainly due to lack of time). Of course, official support would be great, but if you tell me that stuff like that can be done with your port too, I'll take that into consideration.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 11-02-2022, 09:54 AM   #10
sndwvs
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2014
Posts: 1,618

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilmich View Post
Hi @lucabon, thanks for the info.
I have done a removable media creator (sdcard in this case) where the kernel is packaged and the bootloader and the slackware minirootfs for arm are installed.
It is not my intention to maintain a distribution (mainly due to lack of time). Of course, official support would be great, but if you tell me that stuff like that can be done with your port too, I'll take that into consideration.
you can use the assembler by changing the settings for downloading packages
 
1 members found this post helpful.
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] KODI Leia - 18.x MediaPlayer - Optimized for Raspberry Pi1/Zero/Pi2B/Pi3B(+) on Slackware ARM 14.2 SF & Slackware ARM - current HF abga Slackware - ARM 25 04-29-2020 06:43 PM
[SOLVED] KODI Krypton - 17.x MediaPlayer - Optimized for Raspberry Pi1/Pi2/Pi3 on Slackware ARM 14.2 SF & Slackware ARM - current HF abga Slackware - ARM 40 08-28-2018 09:50 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware > Slackware - ARM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration