LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Linux Power User Bundle
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 09-14-2018, 05:05 PM   #1
Chels
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2018
Location: Australia Newcastle
Distribution: Ubuntu future
Posts: 24

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
(old laptop) acer - install Linux failed won't boot no bootable found


Hi all,

so in my efforts to get a Linux machine I came across an acer 11" laptop which I didn't have to fork out for which is fantastic yay.

I had to put a hard drive in the computer which I formatted to MS-DOS with a cable in Mac OS disk manager.

Then I put the drive in the acer laptop and booted in with a USB with a Linux distro Deepin which started and I went though the installation process.

It came up to install in a drive I choose the Hard Drive and installed it, the final process the computer restarted and said No Boot disk found.

I did a google around around and looked into bios though my bios there is things the system won't let me change which is weird. I changed the setting to boot from the hard disk but no joy.

Im really stuck its very stressful, it doesn't seem to want to install on the drive yet it looks like it went through the process.

chels
 
Old 09-14-2018, 05:47 PM   #2
rokytnji
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Location: Waaaaay out West Texas
Distribution: AntiX 17
Posts: 5,561
Blog Entries: 20

Rep: Reputation: 2636Reputation: 2636Reputation: 2636Reputation: 2636Reputation: 2636Reputation: 2636Reputation: 2636Reputation: 2636Reputation: 2636Reputation: 2636Reputation: 2636
All I can think of. Did you install grub/bootloader to mbr or just / <root> of the drive and does bios see and recognize in a menu a number and maybe name of that drive. Then boot from it?

Got a model number and review link for this said 11 inch Acer netbook?

Also wondering if you installed this MSDOS drive in a just a drive plug, or bootable iede/sata plug?


I had a Acer ZG5 netbook. It's quirk it would not boot off the SD card slot, a Acer bios limitation on that model.
You had to boot off the usb ports instead.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 09-14-2018, 06:33 PM   #3
AwesomeMachine
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Location: USA and Italy
Distribution: Debian testing/sid; OpenSuSE; Fedora; Mint
Posts: 5,380

Rep: Reputation: 979Reputation: 979Reputation: 979Reputation: 979Reputation: 979Reputation: 979Reputation: 979Reputation: 979
You have to install grub to the MBR. Just boot with the install disk, choose advanced, choose rescue, reinstall the boot loader to /dev/sda. Also, when you make a change to the system BIOS, you must save the change for it to take effect.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 09-14-2018, 06:37 PM   #4
Chels
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2018
Location: Australia Newcastle
Distribution: Ubuntu future
Posts: 24

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Hi thanks,

the model number is aspire V 11 Touch - V3-112P-C2QQ

I reinstalled the operating system to the hard drive and it formats the hard drive in the Acer tho it still didn’t work, it will boot from the USB and install Linux. The bios in the Acer seems to be limited and won’t let me change settings. I tried it on legacy and UEFI both gave the same problems.

It just doesn’t seem to work it’s like Acer have given a bios version that’s tiny and I can’t even fix it.

Chels
 
Old 09-15-2018, 01:20 AM   #5
mrmazda
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2016
Location: USA
Distribution: openSUSE, Debian, Knoppix, Mageia, Fedora, others
Posts: 594

Rep: Reputation: 166Reputation: 166
Given that you initially set the disk up on a Mac, it may need to be wiped and a new installation from scratch performed before a bootloader that the laptop BIOS can understand can be configured. Try running bootinfoscript and upload it so we can take a look at what you have.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 09-15-2018, 02:19 AM   #6
Chels
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2018
Location: Australia Newcastle
Distribution: Ubuntu future
Posts: 24

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
Given that you initially set the disk up on a Mac, it may need to be wiped and a new installation from scratch performed before a bootloader that the laptop BIOS can understand can be configured. Try running bootinfoscript and upload it so we can take a look at what you have.
Hi,thanks for helping out. I did format the drive with the apple as it is my only computer I have that was working When I installed Linux to the drive I did however reformat the drive while installing the software.

I just went to the link and put the command in the terminal (im still new to terminal Imnot sure of the commands yet) here is what I got when I enter the info

chelsea@chelsea-PC:~$ sudo ./bootinfoscript
[sudo] password for chelsea:
sudo: ./bootinfoscript: command not found
chelsea@chelsea-PC:~$ sudo ./bootinfoscript <outputfile>
bash: syntax error near unexpected token `newline'
chelsea@chelsea-PC:~$

I like the way linux works tho currently loving the software and the Deepin operating system is very nice simple and looks great.

thanks
 
Old 09-15-2018, 02:40 AM   #7
mrmazda
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2016
Location: USA
Distribution: openSUSE, Debian, Knoppix, Mageia, Fedora, others
Posts: 594

Rep: Reputation: 166Reputation: 166
Did you download the script from the URL provided before trying to run it?
 
Old 09-15-2018, 03:13 AM   #8
Chels
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2018
Location: Australia Newcastle
Distribution: Ubuntu future
Posts: 24

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
Did you download the script from the URL provided before trying to run it?
Hi, Im a little confused to how to run this on the system, first day with the terminal. I went to the web page and download some files but wasn't sure what I should do with them

thanks again chels
 
Old 09-15-2018, 04:04 AM   #9
mrmazda
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2016
Location: USA
Distribution: openSUSE, Debian, Knoppix, Mageia, Fedora, others
Posts: 594

Rep: Reputation: 166Reputation: 166
I download the .zip from that URL, extract the bootinfoscript script file from the .zip into the current directory, then as root, do
Code:
./bootinfoscript bio.txt
without getting any error messages.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 09-15-2018, 04:41 AM   #10
Chels
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2018
Location: Australia Newcastle
Distribution: Ubuntu future
Posts: 24

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
I download the .zip from that URL, extract the bootinfoscript script file from the .zip into the current directory, then as root, do
Code:
./bootinfoscript bio.txt
without getting any error messages.
hi thanks again,

I did it again and it did something

chelsea@chelsea-PC:~/Downloads/bootinfoscript-master$ sudo ./bootinfoscript
[sudo] password for chelsea:

Boot Info Script 0.77 [10 June 2018]

Identifying MBRs...
Computing Partition Table of /dev/sda...
Searching sda1 for information...
Searching sda2 for information...

Finished. The results are in the file "RESULTS.txt"
located in "/home/chelsea/Downloads/bootinfoscript-master/".


thanks again chels
 
Old 09-15-2018, 05:21 AM   #11
syg00
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Location: Australia
Distribution: Lots ...
Posts: 16,971

Rep: Reputation: 2564Reputation: 2564Reputation: 2564Reputation: 2564Reputation: 2564Reputation: 2564Reputation: 2564Reputation: 2564Reputation: 2564Reputation: 2564Reputation: 2564
Did you bother to read the messages produced ?.
 
Old 09-15-2018, 05:43 AM   #12
Chels
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2018
Location: Australia Newcastle
Distribution: Ubuntu future
Posts: 24

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by syg00 View Post
Did you bother to read the messages produced ?.
Hi,yep but I don't understand the terminal yet this is basically my first time with Linux. I'm trying to learn how all this stuff, I basically came from windows with some DOS knowledge and then Mac OS for the last three years.

Hopefully I can learn Linux cause I really want to learn
 
Old 09-15-2018, 07:19 AM   #13
yancek
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Apr 2008
Distribution: PCLinux, Slackware
Posts: 8,021

Rep: Reputation: 1571Reputation: 1571Reputation: 1571Reputation: 1571Reputation: 1571Reputation: 1571Reputation: 1571Reputation: 1571Reputation: 1571Reputation: 1571Reputation: 1571
You need to post the output of the RESULTS.txt file here so that members can see it and hopefully give you some instructions on what to do to resolve the problem.

If you have a newer Acer which originally came with windows 8 or 10, you will need to set a "trust" option in the BIOS before you can install/boot another OS. Check your user manual if you have one or try looking for the manual for your specific Acer online.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slackware 14.2 UEFI install on acer laptop with secure boot enabled. Kris Brown Linux - Laptop and Netbook 1 07-22-2016 07:19 AM
[SOLVED] Wife's laptop won't boot. Error superblock probe failed. em21701 Slackware 9 09-08-2013 07:20 PM
New Acer notebook with linpus linux won't boot!!! sportingcristal Linux - Software 10 02-24-2009 11:25 AM
Mandrake 10: burned install CD1 as 'bootable', but won't boot.....ideas? vinylone Mandriva 6 08-10-2004 06:26 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration