LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Enterprise Linux Forums > Linux - Enterprise
User Name
Password
Linux - Enterprise This forum is for all items relating to using Linux in the Enterprise.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 03-08-2018, 07:11 AM   #1
suraqahpak
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2018
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
linux sles 12 file transfer to windows slow using winscp


hi all,

using sles 12 on power
when i transfer files from windows to suse its quick using winscp
sftp protocol

but when i transfer the same file from suse to linux it takes very long..its very very slow

Regards
suraqah
 
Old 03-08-2018, 07:48 AM   #2
MensaWater
LQ Guru
 
Registered: May 2005
Location: Atlanta Georgia USA
Distribution: Redhat (RHEL), CentOS, Fedora, CoreOS, Debian, FreeBSD, HP-UX, Solaris, SCO
Posts: 7,451
Blog Entries: 15

Rep: Reputation: 1443Reputation: 1443Reputation: 1443Reputation: 1443Reputation: 1443Reputation: 1443Reputation: 1443Reputation: 1443Reputation: 1443Reputation: 1443
Quote:
Originally Posted by suraqahpak View Post
when i transfer the same file from suse to linux it takes very long..its very very slow suraqah
That is confusing. SUSE is a Linux distribution (distro). What OTHER "linux" are you transferring the file to?

As to differences in transfer rates many things can be involved.
Are all 3 systems on the same subnet?
Do all 3 systems have the same speed NIC?
Is there a virus scanner on the target "linux"?
When you do the transfer from "suse" to "linux" how exactly are you doing it? i.e. What command or utility are you using and what flags are you passing?
 
Old 03-08-2018, 08:17 AM   #3
suraqahpak
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2018
Posts: 7

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
sorry it was my mistake

again

sles 12 on power 8
and windows 2012
only 2 machines

when transfering files to sles 12 from windows 2012 its quick

when transfering from sles to windows 2012 its v. slow

using sftp thru utiliy winscp

networkd speed on windows 1gigbit ethernet
sles is on power vio shared 4gigbit
 
Old 03-08-2018, 08:40 AM   #4
MensaWater
LQ Guru
 
Registered: May 2005
Location: Atlanta Georgia USA
Distribution: Redhat (RHEL), CentOS, Fedora, CoreOS, Debian, FreeBSD, HP-UX, Solaris, SCO
Posts: 7,451
Blog Entries: 15

Rep: Reputation: 1443Reputation: 1443Reputation: 1443Reputation: 1443Reputation: 1443Reputation: 1443Reputation: 1443Reputation: 1443Reputation: 1443Reputation: 1443
Is the Windows machine running an anti-virus software? Does the transfer run any faster if you temporarily disable that?

Are there many files in the directory on the Windows machine that you're trying to transfer into? It may be the filesystem itself is slowing you down. What if you try transferring to a different folder?

Are you by any chance transferring the file into a shared folder mounted on the Windows machine from a separate Windows server or NAS? The double network hit of transferring in might be slowing you down as might the anti-virus and filesystems settings of the separate Windows server.

I'm not familiar with the vio 4GB you mention. It could simply be that the network on the Linux system is receiving more quickly than the one on the Windows system.
 
Old 03-08-2018, 08:51 AM   #5
suraqahpak
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2018
Posts: 7

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
i even checked from other windows machine.. its the same.

no antivirus

its not shared folder.
 
Old 03-08-2018, 09:49 AM   #6
MensaWater
LQ Guru
 
Registered: May 2005
Location: Atlanta Georgia USA
Distribution: Redhat (RHEL), CentOS, Fedora, CoreOS, Debian, FreeBSD, HP-UX, Solaris, SCO
Posts: 7,451
Blog Entries: 15

Rep: Reputation: 1443Reputation: 1443Reputation: 1443Reputation: 1443Reputation: 1443Reputation: 1443Reputation: 1443Reputation: 1443Reputation: 1443Reputation: 1443
And the answers to my other questions/suggestions are?
 
Old 03-08-2018, 01:19 PM   #7
suraqahpak
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2018
Posts: 7

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
I'm not familiar with the vio 4GB you mention. It could simply be that the network on the Linux system is receiving more quickly than the one on the Windows system.
__________________

could b..

but is there any procedure to check it out
 
Old 03-09-2018, 08:38 AM   #8
TB0ne
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Distribution: SuSE, RedHat, Slack,CentOS
Posts: 20,404

Rep: Reputation: 4959Reputation: 4959Reputation: 4959Reputation: 4959Reputation: 4959Reputation: 4959Reputation: 4959Reputation: 4959Reputation: 4959Reputation: 4959Reputation: 4959
Quote:
Originally Posted by suraqahpak View Post
I'm not familiar with the vio 4GB you mention. It could simply be that the network on the Linux system is receiving more quickly than the one on the Windows system.
__________________
could b..but is there any procedure to check it out
Read the LQ Rules about text-speak, and about not using it; please spell out your words.

Testing network speed can be done with the iperf command. Install it if you don't have it.

You say this is a VIO interface on PowerPC...that's IBM hardware, and you're using SLES 12. You are paying for support from both IBM and SuSE; have you contacted either of them? Have you read the documentation on the VIO system, and how to configure the interfaces properly?
https://www.ibm.com/developerworks/c...ge/VIOS+Detail
https://www.ibm.com/developerworks/c...tual+IO+Server

You still don't answer the other questions about your system, or say whether this is a new installation or old, and if this problem is new or not. Could be that there has been an OS update that has modified some network driver/value and is causing problems. Have there been? Anything updated on the IBM Side?
 
Old 03-09-2018, 12:40 PM   #9
suraqahpak
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2018
Posts: 7

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
yes i have read now LQ rules and will be carefull from next time.. thanks for letting me know about it.

yes i have read vios documentation.

this environment is new environment and all servers are newly implemented and configured.

i have implemented such systems quite a number of times but its a strange issue that i m facing..

to come to main point.

SLES 12.1
using ethtool i have seen that network adapter is full duplex. with auto negotiation on.. MTU 1500
windows 2012
auto negotiation is on --> on the network adapter.. jumbo packet is disabled which means MTU is not set. transfer buffer is 256.. receiving buffer is 512..

Generally windows drives are NTFS partition but i have created a FAT32 drive and tried copying a file from SLES to windows that is also very slow.

Things in my mind to be checked are following
check switch ports if they are set for auto.
check switch ports tx and rx if both are configured as full duplex
secondly jumbo packet can be tried to be enabled and set to 9044bytes then on sles i will set MTU to same 9044bytes

finally i can disable auto negotiate and set same speed on both servers. and then try..

The above is my plan..

if there is anything in specific you want to know. pls let me know..

Thanks
 
Old 03-09-2018, 12:56 PM   #10
TB0ne
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Distribution: SuSE, RedHat, Slack,CentOS
Posts: 20,404

Rep: Reputation: 4959Reputation: 4959Reputation: 4959Reputation: 4959Reputation: 4959Reputation: 4959Reputation: 4959Reputation: 4959Reputation: 4959Reputation: 4959Reputation: 4959
Quote:
Originally Posted by suraqahpak View Post
yes i have read vios documentation. this environment is new environment and all servers are newly implemented and configured. i have implemented such systems quite a number of times but its a strange issue that i m facing..
So it's a new environment...and you've done this before? If you've done this before, then you must ALREADY KNOW how to troubleshoot/diagnose issues with networking already, don't you?
Quote:
to come to main point.

SLES 12.1 using ethtool i have seen that network adapter is full duplex. with auto negotiation on.. MTU 1500
windows 2012 auto negotiation is on --> on the network adapter.. jumbo packet is disabled which means MTU is not set. transfer buffer is 256.. receiving buffer is 512..

Generally windows drives are NTFS partition but i have created a FAT32 drive and tried copying a file from SLES to windows that is also very slow.
None of this points to a disk issue, but a networking issue. Again, you're using SLES with IBM hardware...you are PAYING FOR SUPPORT from both parties. You should call them and ask for assistance, but I'd start with IBM.
Quote:
Things in my mind to be checked are following
check switch ports if they are set for auto.
check switch ports tx and rx if both are configured as full duplex
secondly jumbo packet can be tried to be enabled and set to 9044bytes then on sles i will set MTU to same 9044bytes
finally i can disable auto negotiate and set same speed on both servers. and then try.. The above is my plan..
Great, but doing all of this should have been your FIRST thing, since all of this is troubleshooting.
Quote:
yes i have read now LQ rules and will be carefull from next time.. thanks for letting me know about it.
if there is anything in specific you want to know. pls let me know..
Seriously???? We tell you about not using text-speak, and you end with "pls"????
 
Old 03-09-2018, 01:16 PM   #11
suraqahpak
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2018
Posts: 7

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by TB0ne View Post
So it's a new environment...and you've done this before? If you've done this before, then you must ALREADY KNOW how to troubleshoot/diagnose issues with networking already, don't you?


None of this points to a disk issue, but a networking issue. Again, you're using SLES with IBM hardware...you are PAYING FOR SUPPORT from both parties. You should call them and ask for assistance, but I'd start with IBM.

Great, but doing all of this should have been your FIRST thing, since all of this is troubleshooting.
Quote:
Seriously???? We tell you about not using text-speak, and you end with "pls"????
please let me know other text-speak mistakes..
the problem resolves or not.. at least my text-speak will improve..

Already in touch with IBM.. anything else you have to recommend me other than text-speak..
 
Old 03-09-2018, 01:25 PM   #12
TB0ne
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Distribution: SuSE, RedHat, Slack,CentOS
Posts: 20,404

Rep: Reputation: 4959Reputation: 4959Reputation: 4959Reputation: 4959Reputation: 4959Reputation: 4959Reputation: 4959Reputation: 4959Reputation: 4959Reputation: 4959Reputation: 4959
Quote:
Originally Posted by suraqahpak View Post
please let me know other text-speak mistakes.. the problem resolves or not.. at least my text-speak will improve..
Good to know.
Quote:
Already in touch with IBM.. anything else you have to recommend me other than text-speak..
You were asked numerous questions above, which you still haven't answered, and were given suggestions as to how to troubleshoot your network problem, and were even given a utility name to run. You seem to ignore all of those things, and instead want to be borderline insulting with your "anything else you have to recommend me other than text-speak." comment.

You didn't answer most of the questions from post #2, and seem to contradict yourself by saying that this is a new installation..that you have done before. Unless ALL of the hardware/software is identical, there could be a LOT of different reasons things could be happening. You also indicate that you haven't performed basic network troubleshooting as of yet. Until you actually have some data to work with, everything is just speculation.
 
Old 03-09-2018, 01:45 PM   #13
suraqahpak
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2018
Posts: 7

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by TB0ne View Post
Good to know.

You were asked numerous questions above, which you still haven't answered, and were given suggestions as to how to troubleshoot your network problem, and were even given a utility name to run. You seem to ignore all of those things, and instead want to be borderline insulting with your "anything else you have to recommend me other than text-speak." comment.

You didn't answer most of the questions from post #2, and seem to contradict yourself by saying that this is a new installation..that you have done before. Unless ALL of the hardware/software is identical, there could be a LOT of different reasons things could be happening. You also indicate that you haven't performed basic network troubleshooting as of yet. Until you actually have some data to work with, everything is just speculation.
post # 2 was answered in Post # 3.

I am not contradicting my statement.. read it carefully. it will tell you that i have implemented similar systems at different sites. not this system

iperf will give me bandwith measurements.. which i have already said it is slow.. in specific from sles to windows... so i didnt feel like spending my time on iperf.



I have insulting way.. and you have a appreciation style where you dont look at the whole text.. and just found pls and started taunting on it..
anyways TB0ne thanks a lot..

with all due respect.. pls leave me alone
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 03-09-2018, 01:58 PM   #14
TB0ne
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Distribution: SuSE, RedHat, Slack,CentOS
Posts: 20,404

Rep: Reputation: 4959Reputation: 4959Reputation: 4959Reputation: 4959Reputation: 4959Reputation: 4959Reputation: 4959Reputation: 4959Reputation: 4959Reputation: 4959Reputation: 4959
Quote:
Originally Posted by suraqahpak View Post
post # 2 was answered in Post # 3.
Really?? You were asked in post #2
  • Are all 3 systems on the same subnet?
  • Do all 3 systems have the same speed NIC?
  • Is there a virus scanner on the target "linux"?
  • When you do the transfer from "suse" to "linux" how exactly are you doing it? i.e. What command or utility are you using and what flags are you passing?
You have not answered ANY of these, with the exception of saying you're using winscp...but you don't tell us what flags/options you're using. You say nothing about the subnets, NIC's, or any Linux virus scanners.
Quote:
I am not contradicting my statement.. read it carefully. it will tell you that i have implemented similar systems at different sites. not this system
I did, and it was not clear. Now it is. So this is a new installation, and **NOT** the same, but SIMILAR. Again, different hardware/software=different results.
Quote:
iperf will give me bandwith measurements.. which i have already said it is slow.. in specific from sles to windows... so i didnt feel like spending my time on iperf.
Seriously??? "Slow" can be because of poor upload or download times...and unless you ACTUALLY RUN TESTS, you won't know which you have to look at. You're admitting you got a suggestion, didn't use it because you already knew it was slow....so you didn't think diagnostics/troubleshooting were worth looking at??? How do you think you're going to solve the issue?? Iperf is a pretty comprehensive tool, so if you didn't want to spend your time on it...what HAVE you actually done then?? What tests have you run, and what were the results??

Again, unless you actually DO some testing and gather data, what do you think anyone will be able to tell you?
Quote:
I have insulting way.. and you have a appreciation style where you dont look at the whole text.. and just found pls and started taunting on it. anyways TB0ne thanks a lot..with all due respect.. pls leave me alone
Grow up, please. You were asked "Please" in my first post to read the LQ Rules and not do it...and you continued to do it, and still are. The LQ Rules are there for a reason, and doing something in a public forum where it is not only against the rules, but something other members are asking you not to do, is just plain rude.

Good luck getting help from anyone; I'm done with you.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transfer files with SFTP and PAGEANT : winscp.com ? pscp.exe ? other ? cyrker Linux - Newbie 2 11-23-2017 07:15 AM
Slow single file transfer, fast multiple transfer Manzano Linux - Networking 6 08-06-2013 11:39 AM
transfer file from linux to windows aggrishabh Linux - Newbie 5 01-18-2011 01:02 PM
Need reccommendation for a LARGE file transfer in SLES 10 SP 1 bsteiner Linux - Server 3 10-31-2009 02:02 PM
Slow transfer from linux to windows Funx_88 Linux - Networking 3 10-20-2005 11:09 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Enterprise Linux Forums > Linux - Enterprise

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration