LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software > Linux - Kernel
User Name
Password
Linux - Kernel This forum is for all discussion relating to the Linux kernel.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 08-14-2017, 08:31 AM   #1
Peter Laurie
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2017
Posts: 9

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Unable to add a new cape


I'm using new Debian, version 9. I'm trying to add a cape called EBB-PRU-ADC4-00A0.. The file EBB- PRU-ADC4-00A0.dtbo has been copied to /lib/firmware.

I'm doing:

: echo EBB-PRU-ADC4 > /sys/devices/platform/bone_capemgr/slots

the BBB then hangs so I can't look at the output of dmesg.

Any suggestions?
 
Old 08-14-2017, 09:07 PM   #2
Ztcoracat
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Dec 2011
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 7,733
Blog Entries: 10

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
I haven't much experience with adding a cape but these links might help.

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/...e-black-debian

https://mazdermind.wordpress.com/201...ie-kernel-4-4/

http://elinux.org/Capemgr

Try running dmesg after the last reboot it should work for you.
 
Old 08-15-2017, 04:59 AM   #3
Peter Laurie
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2017
Posts: 9

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Can't load cape overlay

Thanks Ztcoracat for your message. I followed it to the letter. Working through beagleboard/bb.org-overlays/readme.md:
everything worked up to
sudo ./update_kernel.sh --lts-4-_4 --bone-channel where I got: 'command not found'

However I also followed your final advice to add to /boot.uEnv.txt:

dtb=am335x-boneblack-emmc-overlay.dtb

I had earlier tried to add my overlay: EBB-PRU-ADC4 with the 'echo > .../slots' method. Dmesg knew about it, but said:

43.969871] Error: Driver 'ecap' is already registered, aborting...
[ 44.055746] omap_rng 48310000.rng: OMAP Random Number Generator ver. 20
[ 44.875342] omap-sham 53100000.sham: hw accel on OMAP rev 4.3
[ 44.961272] omap-aes 53500000.aes: OMAP AES hw accel rev: 3.2

All Dutch to me, but I'm sure somebody understands it.
Peter
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 08-15-2017, 03:24 PM   #4
Ztcoracat
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Dec 2011
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 7,733
Blog Entries: 10

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
You're Welcome.

The member in this thread has about the exact (with the exception of one word) same error as you. Maybe it will help?

http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...orting-923450/

This:
Code:
43.969871] Error: Driver 'ecap' is already registered, aborting...
From what I found online is related to a kernel module.
The more I think about that first error it sounds like a particular module is already installed an that's why it's aborting.

Did you recently install a module?

If you are on a server I won't be much help.

***The rest of that output is Dutch to me too.
Let's see if other members chime in to offer you help. If not I'll try to research and attempt to wrap my head around it.

-::-Never a dull moment with Linux.-::-

Last edited by Ztcoracat; 08-15-2017 at 04:49 PM.
 
Old 08-15-2017, 04:57 PM   #5
Ztcoracat
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Dec 2011
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 7,733
Blog Entries: 10

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
What kernel are you running?
 
Old 08-16-2017, 04:42 AM   #6
Peter Laurie
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2017
Posts: 9

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Loading a new cape

Version:

Debian Image 2017-07-14

uname -r: 4.4.82-bone-rt-r19

I've added my cape a couple of times - the BBB hangs each time, but the slots are now:

0: ------ -1
1: ------ -1
2: ------ -1
3: ---l-- -1
4: --O--- -1
5: --O--- -1
6: --O--- -1
7: --O--- -1

So, it's almost working
Peter
 
Old 08-16-2017, 05:16 AM   #7
Peter Laurie
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2017
Posts: 9

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
unable to load a new cape

I tried to update the bb-cape-overlays debian package with:

sudo apt- update
sudo apt install bb-cape-overlays

and was told everything on my BBB was up to date.

But when I try to install the new caps, slots just gets an empty number
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 08-16-2017, 05:51 PM   #8
Ztcoracat
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Dec 2011
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 7,733
Blog Entries: 10

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Laurie View Post
I tried to update the bb-cape-overlays debian package with:

sudo apt- update
sudo apt install bb-cape-overlays

and was told everything on my BBB was up to date.

But when I try to install the new caps, slots just gets an empty number
Try the dpkg command and see if that works?

Code:
sudo dpkg --install bb-cape-overlays
I looked through the changelog for kernel 4.4.82 and there were a lot of fixes and patches but I didn't see anything related to what you have going on.

Do you think slots getting an empty number is a kernel issue?

https://github.com/beagleboard/bb.org-overlays

Others are having issues with overlays too.
One solution is to disable the cape_universal overlay. (whatever that means, maybe you know)

https://github.com/beagleboard/bb.or...lays/issues/24
https://github.com/beagleboard/bb.or...lays/issues/38


You know more than I do at this point.
 
Old 08-18-2017, 10:41 AM   #9
Peter Laurie
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2017
Posts: 9

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
can't load overlay

Thanks for the suggestion:

One solution is to disable the cape_universal overlay. (whatever that means, maybe you know)

Not sure what it does, but having it on is a certain way of stopping the BBB booting. However, having it off doesn't solve the problem.

I've tried various combinations of:

dtb=am335x-boneblack-overlay.dtb // supposed to disable HDMI and make eMMC possible

enable_uboot_overlays = 1
dtb-overlays=/lib/firmware/<my overlay>.dtbo

uboot_overlay_addr4=/lib/firmware/EBB-PRU-ADC4-00A0.dtbo

(EBB.. is my overlay). this is dmesg:
14.539982] bone_capemgr bone_capemgr: part_number 'EBB-PRU-ADC4-00A0', version 'N/A'
[ 14.540019] bone_capemgr bone_capemgr: slot #4: override
[ 14.562447] bone_capemgr bone_capemgr: Using override eeprom data at slot 4
[ 14.563966] bone_capemgr bone_capemgr: slot #4: 'Override Board Name,00A0,Override Manuf,EBB-PRU-ADC4-00A'
[ 15.490623] Bluetooth: Core ver 2.21
[ 15.492821] NET: Registered protocol family 31
[ 15.492842] Bluetooth: HCI device and connection manager initialized
[ 15.492870] Bluetooth: HCI socket layer initialized
[ 15.492889] Bluetooth: L2CAP socket layer initialized
[ 15.492937] Bluetooth: SCO socket layer initialized
[ 15.581345] nf_conntrack version 0.5.0 (7918 buckets, 31672 max)
[ 16.015146] net eth0: initializing cpsw version 1.12 (0)
[ 16.017550] net eth0: phy found : id is : 0x7c0f1
[ 16.054840] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth0: link is not ready
[ 16.140127] omap-aes 53500000.aes: OMAP AES hw accel rev: 3.2
[ 16.336618] omap-sham 53100000.sham: hw accel on OMAP rev 4.3
[ 16.336655] omap-sham 53100000.sham: initialization failed.
[ 16.539323] omap-sham: probe of 53100000.sham failed with error -22
 
Old 08-18-2017, 08:59 PM   #10
Ztcoracat
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Dec 2011
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 7,733
Blog Entries: 10

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
You're Welcome.

I hate to say it but I think the only thing they might help is to look up all of the output that dmesg kicked out and see what each line leads to.

When I have more time I'll look up some of the output and let you know what I find. That is if I find anything useful.

Maybe chatting live with someone at beagleboard.org will help?

Live Chat is in the drop down menu under 'Collaborate' on the page.

https://beagleboard.org/
 
Old 08-19-2017, 02:54 PM   #11
Ztcoracat
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Dec 2011
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 7,733
Blog Entries: 10

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
The first and second line of the dmesg log is greek to me-

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/...40348#34340348

https://groups.google.com/forum/#!to...rd/gW708giNBAQ

The fourth entry I really didn't understand at all. Sorry-
https://www.google.com/search?client...k1.J2eAZxHUB1E

The last 4 entries are related to a driver and booting that fails.

I think you need a member that is really good with the determination of those dmesg log entries and exactly what they mean. Looking up those errors lead to so many hits on Google that it's overwhelming.

Sorry I'm not a dmesg log Guru:-

I hope you are able to get things working. I'm afraid I'm out of ideas.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Greetings from CAPE TOWN zs1cm LinuxQuestions.org Member Intro 1 08-17-2010 03:55 PM
Howzit from Cape Town bigseb LinuxQuestions.org Member Intro 1 04-04-2010 09:41 PM
Unable to add group dhawanmayur Linux - Newbie 2 11-20-2009 07:19 AM
Greetings from the Cape Fear RcBill LinuxQuestions.org Member Intro 1 12-17-2008 08:26 PM
unable to add programs from add/remove programs dav7500 Linux - Software 2 02-26-2004 07:25 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software > Linux - Kernel

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration