LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Fedora
User Name
Password
Fedora This forum is for the discussion of the Fedora Project.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 03-13-2017, 09:52 AM   #1
6th_sense
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2006
Posts: 58

Rep: Reputation: 2
Unhappy dual monitor not working under KDE


Hi guys,

I'm not sure that this is a problem that is common - but my searches haven't found anything similar.

I can't seem to connect an external monitor to my fedora in fc24 anymore. I used to be able to connect my TV and projectors to my laptop, and since upgrading to fc24 (from fedora 21), I lost the ability to connect an external screen - essentially I see a lot of cross hatched blue stripes on the external device, or my screen freezes up.

One of my friends suggested switching to Gnome and trying to see if that works.

Here is some information I drudged up:

Code:
$ lspci -nn |grep VGA
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Intel Corporation Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller [8086:0046] (rev 18)
 
Old 03-14-2017, 08:30 PM   #2
frankbell
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Virginia, USA
Distribution: Slackware, Debian, Mageia, and whatever VMs I happen to be playing with
Posts: 12,482
Blog Entries: 16

Rep: Reputation: 3206Reputation: 3206Reputation: 3206Reputation: 3206Reputation: 3206Reputation: 3206Reputation: 3206Reputation: 3206Reputation: 3206Reputation: 3206Reputation: 3206
Have you tested or reseated the cables?

If nothing software has changed, it might be hardware. In any event, it's worth ruling hardware out before spending hours mucking with software.

I am sorry to say, that, if it's software, I'm not competent to help.
 
Old 03-20-2017, 12:36 AM   #3
6th_sense
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2006
Posts: 58

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 2
Hi Frankbell,

Thank you for responding.... I don't know if it is a hardware problem - it could be - I hadn't considered the idea that that might be the issue.

Actually, I did manage to get a video to play to an external projector - however, I had to fiddle to get the primary monitor to be outside of the laptop screen. This then put my desktop on the external monitor and in the meanwhile, my laptop screen was showing the gobbledeygook that the projector had been showing.

So, I'm not sure if it qualifies things as a software problem or not.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual Monitor Not Working? Kupenmen Linux - Hardware 2 07-26-2015 05:32 AM
[SOLVED] KDE dual monitor unable to make a switch to a single monitor brick2 Linux - Desktop 3 07-04-2014 09:28 AM
Dual monitor issues with KDE 3 and KDE 4 on openSUSE 11 & 12 aal SUSE / openSUSE 2 09-23-2012 06:16 PM
Dual monitor almost working BoBByCooL Ubuntu 2 08-07-2007 09:24 AM
dual monitor question/kde pdlnhrd Linux - Newbie 4 04-07-2004 06:41 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Fedora

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration