LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking
User Name
Password
Linux - Networking This forum is for any issue related to networks or networking.
Routing, network cards, OSI, etc. Anything is fair game.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 07-17-2019, 12:25 AM   #1
lander9
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2019
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Duplicated SSID - Wifi


Before establishing a Wifi Connection(computer Wifi Card to my Wifi modem) I list the available wifi access points, and have this Output:
~$ nmcli device wifi list


SSID MODE CHAN RATE SIGNAL BARS SECURITY
*wifi modem Infra 1 54Mbit/s 74 ▂▄▆_ WPA2


Then I start the Connection:
~$ nmcli c up wifi connection 1
Connection successfully activated (D-Bus active path: /org/freedesktop/NetworkManager/ActiveConnection/6

The Connection is activated, but if I retype ~$ nmcli dev wifi, to list the Wifi access Points near my location then I see that the modem access point is duplicated:
~$ nmcli device wifi list

SSID MODE CHAN RATE SIGNAL BARS SECURITY
*wifi modem Infra 1 54Mbit/s 69 ▂▄▆ WPA2
*wifi modem Infra 1 54Mbit/s 60 ▂▄▆ WPA2


I have only one Wifi Card on my computer(wlp3s0)
~$ nmcli device
DEVICE TYPE STATE CONNECTION
wlp3s0 wifi connected Wifi connection 1
enp7s0 ethernet unavailable --
lo loopback unmanaged --

My wifi router has maybe two Wifi Cards?

Last edited by lander9; 07-17-2019 at 06:10 PM.
 
Old 07-17-2019, 02:11 AM   #2
leemenix
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2019
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 12

Rep: Reputation: 2
at least you see it, should be happy , people mostly report issue with wifi installation and not able to reach it from console

yes this could be situation and for detail inspection will need more details, like modem/router manufacturer and version, your wifi card manufacturer, linux version, nmcli version ...

output of
Code:
nmcli -p device show
would be useful as well

however if you check internet you will find something similar described as a bug with different side effects.

From my personal experience cause could be that your router have same SSID for both bands,so 2.4GHz has the same weighting as 5GHz, but also if you experimenting with some wifi "hacking" tools that could produce such effect as aircrack-ng (forks), fern ...

you can also use this awk for limiting only one output per ssid

Code:
nmcli dev wifi | awk -F'  +' '{ if (!seen[$2]++) print}'

Last edited by leemenix; 07-17-2019 at 03:30 PM.
 
Old 07-17-2019, 03:46 PM   #3
jefro
Moderator
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Posts: 19,091

Rep: Reputation: 2902Reputation: 2902Reputation: 2902Reputation: 2902Reputation: 2902Reputation: 2902Reputation: 2902Reputation: 2902Reputation: 2902Reputation: 2902Reputation: 2902
Any other devices in home or nearby that could mirror that signal like a dd-wrt router or wifi extender? I'd normally think two frequencies bands having same name.
 
Old 07-17-2019, 06:54 PM   #4
lander9
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2019
Posts: 4

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
@leemenix, thx for answer.

Nmcli version:
$ nmcli -v
nmcli tool, version 1.2.4

Linux version:
$ uname -mrs
Linux 4.8.0-22-generic i686

Computer connection devices:
$ nmcli device show

GENERAL.DEVICE: wlp3s0
GENERAL.TYPE: wifi
GENERAL.MTU: 1500
GENERAL.STATE: 100 (connected)
GENERAL.CONNECTION: Wifi connection 1
GENERAL.CON-PATH: /org/freedesktop/NetworkManager/ActiveConnection/12

GENERAL.DEVICE: enp7s0
GENERAL.TYPE: ethernet
GENERAL.MTU: 1500
GENERAL.STATE: 20 (unavailable)
GENERAL.CONNECTION: --
GENERAL.CON-PATH: --
WIRED-PROPERTIES.CARRIER: off

GENERAL.DEVICE: lo
GENERAL.TYPE: loopback
GENERAL.MTU: 65536
GENERAL.STATE: 10 (unmanaged)
GENERAL.CONNECTION: --
GENERAL.CON-PATH: --
IP4.ADDRESS[1]: 127.0.0.1/8
IP4.GATEWAY:
IP6.ADDRESS[1]: ::1/128
IP6.GATEWAY:

Maybe the router has a dual band, how can I check this on the wifi-router? I am not using aircrack-ng, neither other.
(I know my wifi computer card can be swiched to monitor, it is not operating in this mode, Mode:Managed, Frequency:2.467 GHz )

Last edited by lander9; 07-17-2019 at 07:43 PM.
 
Old 07-17-2019, 07:12 PM   #5
lander9
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2019
Posts: 4

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
@jefro thx for answer,
I do not have any other devices at home.
My wifi-router has a wifi extender option but it is turned off, and it doesn't have a dd-wrt firmware.
Near my house there is a Linksys router, this firmware is commonly used in this routers.

But the duplicated access point output is a problem of Linux-Nmcli-Network Manager
because when I move elsewhere, far from my house and reset my router and my connection parameters the problem still remains.

The wifi router can be connected to 3g(UMTS) , 4g(LTE) or GSM.
The Wifi router protocol is 802.11 b/g/n
802.11 b operates in the 2.4 GHz band - interior scope 35 m, exterior scope 140 m.
802.11 g operates in the 2.4 GHz band - interior scope 38 m, exterior scope 140 m.
802.11 n operates on both 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz bands - interior scope 70 m (2,4 GHz)
12-35 m (5 GHz), exterior scope (2,4 GHz, 5 GHz) 250 m.

Last edited by lander9; 07-18-2019 at 12:34 AM.
 
Old 07-18-2019, 05:01 PM   #6
leemenix
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2019
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 12

Rep: Reputation: 2
hi @lander9, seams like a bug, you should be proud

try on my Slackware, same situation here. will dig more after vacation, or maybe during vacation (please don't let my wife know)

but for your further investigation here is some close related findings, so far:

https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1393997
https://bugzilla.redhat.com/attachme...03&action=edit
https://cgit.freedesktop.org/Network...9f1755b8ddfa30
https://gitlab.freedesktop.org/Netwo...NetworkManager
 
Old 07-20-2019, 09:03 AM   #7
lander9
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2019
Posts: 4

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
hello@leemenix,
I have no problem with my two wives: one for the night, another for the day.
Have a good vacation.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WIFI SSID Wireless Storage tpreitzel Linux - Hardware 1 03-27-2012 10:02 AM
problem with multiple AP's with same ssid(WiFi question) cynicalpsycho Linux - Newbie 3 05-14-2009 05:51 PM
Not detecting SSID with my wifi card Mardrus Linux - Newbie 1 05-10-2008 02:27 AM
Wifi-Radar or Knetworkmanager not listing SSID lindylex Linux - Wireless Networking 2 01-09-2008 07:15 PM
capture SSID of wifi network powah Linux - Software 7 09-01-2005 07:14 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration