LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software
User Name
Password
Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 06-13-2018, 02:22 PM   #1
Codar
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Dec 2015
Posts: 15

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Firefox & Thunderbird keeps crashing


I just installed Linux Cinnamon 18.3 and Firefox and Thunderbird works for a while and then crashes.... so I downloaded Opera just to try that was the same

This is on a Acer Aspire X1920 that originally had Win 7 on and had been updated to Win 10 64bit, mobo is a G41T-AD. V.1.0, if of any help, thanks Dave.
 
Old 06-13-2018, 02:41 PM   #2
hydrurga
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Nov 2008
Location: Pictland
Distribution: Linux Mint 19 MATE
Posts: 5,253
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707
Could you run Firefox from the command line and then, when it crashes, check the terminal window to see if any error or warning messages have been output?
 
Old 06-13-2018, 03:25 PM   #3
Codar
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Dec 2015
Posts: 15

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Yep, I'll give that a try.... Thunderbird and Opera does it as well, I think this would discard a 'Mozilla' issue, I could be wrong. Dave
 
Old 06-13-2018, 03:44 PM   #4
Codar
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Dec 2015
Posts: 15

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Opened Firefox from command and it opened a few minutes and then crashed..... crashed immediately when trying 2nd and third time. Here's the error-:

Exception handler: Generating dump cloned 2590
Send continue signal to child.
Exception handler: Wait for continue signal.

Does that make any sense? Thanks for the reply by the way.

Dave
 
Old 06-13-2018, 06:13 PM   #5
Codar
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Dec 2015
Posts: 15

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Got a bigger log this time -:

Aspire-X1920 ~ $ firefox
ExceptionHandler::GenerateDump cloned child 2384
ExceptionHandler::SendContinueSignalToChild sent continue signal to child
ExceptionHandler::WaitForContinueSignal waiting for continue signal...
Aspire-X1920 ~ $ firefox

###!!! [Parent][DispatchAsyncMessage] Error: PClientSourceOp::Msg___delete__ Route error: message sent to unknown actor ID


(/usr/lib/firefox/firefox:3252): dconf-WARNING **: Unable to open /var/lib/flatpak/exports/share/dconf/profile/user: Permission denied
ExceptionHandler::GenerateDump cloned child 3359
ExceptionHandler::SendContinueSignalToChild sent continue signal to child
ExceptionHandler::WaitForContinueSignal waiting for continue signal...
Sandbox: Unexpected EOF, op 0 flags 0302 path /dev/shm/org.chromium.eVqJRf
Aspire-X1920 ~ $


Dave
 
Old 06-13-2018, 07:22 PM   #6
hydrurga
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Nov 2008
Location: Pictland
Distribution: Linux Mint 19 MATE
Posts: 5,253
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707
Can you please paste the output from the following commands:

Code:
firefox --version

uname -r
 
Old 06-14-2018, 03:24 AM   #7
Codar
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Dec 2015
Posts: 15

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Version 60.0.2
4.10.0-38 generic is what I get.

Very much appreciated, thanks. Dave

Edit:
Also crashes in safe mode.
 
Old 06-14-2018, 05:32 AM   #8
hydrurga
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Nov 2008
Location: Pictland
Distribution: Linux Mint 19 MATE
Posts: 5,253
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707
Thanks, Codar. Sorry to not have been of much help. This is an unusual problem and a web search hasn't thrown up anything.

You say that this is a new installation of Mint 18.3. Did that installation go well? Do you know how to do an offline e2fsck check of your filesystem and a SMART check of your hard disk?
 
Old 06-14-2018, 05:58 AM   #9
Codar
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Dec 2015
Posts: 15

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
I did fit a new hard drive because the heads which had Win 10 on was damaged, the disc itself was OK. No problems with the installation, all else works fine, it did ask for a cpu file which I applied, can't remember which one though.

Since Opera crashes too I'm wondering if it's a graphics issue, kinda rules Mozilla out doesn't it? As for e2fsk I haven't a clue.

Dave
 
Old 06-14-2018, 06:09 AM   #10
Codar
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Dec 2015
Posts: 15

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Just had a look at the hard drive property's, I get-:

Toshiba DT1ACA050
Type: Unknown
Size: Unknown

Location. Computer.///

Volume, access and modified are unknown..... can this be right?

Dave
 
Old 06-14-2018, 07:16 AM   #11
hydrurga
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Nov 2008
Location: Pictland
Distribution: Linux Mint 19 MATE
Posts: 5,253
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707
Ok, let's start with the SMART tests.

Install the gsmartcontrol package from the repos.

Once that it is done, run the GSmartControl program and check what it says for "Basic health check". Then, through Device->Perform tests, perform both the Short and Extended Self Tests. Thanks.
 
Old 06-14-2018, 07:17 AM   #12
hydrurga
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Nov 2008
Location: Pictland
Distribution: Linux Mint 19 MATE
Posts: 5,253
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707Reputation: 1707
Quote:
Originally Posted by Codar View Post
Just had a look at the hard drive property's, I get-:

Toshiba DT1ACA050
Type: Unknown
Size: Unknown

Location. Computer.///

Volume, access and modified are unknown..... can this be right?

Dave
It doesn't sound right, no.
 
Old 06-14-2018, 08:59 AM   #13
Codar
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Dec 2015
Posts: 15

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
The drive doesn't look right to me either.

I'll try a re-install when I get the time, I've made a note of using Gsmart, thanks for your time and patience to date.

Dave
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] suddenly firefox and thunderbird are crashing jazzo Linux - Newbie 5 05-27-2018 05:17 PM
[SOLVED] Thunderbird 17.0.3 & Firefox 19.0 Issue Mobile1 Slackware 9 02-21-2013 05:17 PM
Automatic Update problem & Flash Crashing FireFox 3 y2raza Linux - Newbie 2 10-18-2008 12:04 AM
Thunderbird & Firefox succeed where Kmail & Konqueror fail! Why? micocoulier Linux - Newbie 2 09-05-2007 09:27 AM
Firefox & Thunderbird ERROR , help Metal-Lord Slackware 1 07-07-2004 08:57 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration