LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking
User Name
Password
Linux - Networking This forum is for any issue related to networks or networking.
Routing, network cards, OSI, etc. Anything is fair game.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 07-01-2020, 09:12 AM   #16
dlanced
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2014
Location: Canada
Distribution: Ubuntu, Kali Linux
Posts: 35

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled

Quote:
Originally Posted by ferrari View Post
Yes, I agree... focus your attention on the second AP device. I assume it is connected via ethernet? (Refer below link)
https://www.tp-link.com/en/support/faq/417/

WDS Bridging is described here
https://www.tp-link.com/us/support/faq/440/
The first thing I noticed on the first page you linked is that my AP's IP should be outside the DHCP range of the main router. So I limited that DHCP to 192.168.1.2 - 192.168.1.200 and gave my AP a static address of 192.168.1.201. So far everything seems to be working, although I'll keep a close eye on things through the rest of the day.
So far I'm optimistic. Thanks!
 
Old 07-01-2020, 10:03 AM   #17
dlanced
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2014
Location: Canada
Distribution: Ubuntu, Kali Linux
Posts: 35

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Well, that didn't go well. All my computers are now happily connected to the routers and the LAN, but they've all lost internet connectivity. All, that is, except my laptop (which I'm using now).
What I can see is that all the other devices have been issued new IPs (192.168.1.101 and up) - except for this one. The ISP router has a proper public IP and it looks perfect. But no other device has actual internet access. Any ideas?
I'm afraid the IP of this laptop could be renewed any time which will kill this access, too.
 
Old 07-01-2020, 10:21 AM   #18
michaelk
Moderator
 
Registered: Aug 2002
Posts: 20,211

Rep: Reputation: 3456Reputation: 3456Reputation: 3456Reputation: 3456Reputation: 3456Reputation: 3456Reputation: 3456Reputation: 3456Reputation: 3456Reputation: 3456Reputation: 3456
I assume the AP is hard wired to the main router?

As noted in the FAQ make sure the cable is plugged into a LAN port of the AP not WAN.

Make sure the AP's LAN address is configured correctly and is outside the DHCP range of the main router.

Make sure AP's DHCP server is disabled.
 
2 members found this post helpful.
Old 07-01-2020, 10:35 AM   #19
dlanced
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2014
Location: Canada
Distribution: Ubuntu, Kali Linux
Posts: 35

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelk View Post
I assume the AP is hard wired to the main router?
It is.

Quote:
As noted in the FAQ make sure the cable is plugged into a LAN port of the AP not WAN.
Yup.

Quote:
Make sure the AP's LAN address is configured correctly and is outside the DHCP range of the main router.
It certainly was (although I've restored the original setting to see if it would give me back my internet access).

Quote:
Make sure AP's DHCP server is disabled.
Oh. Somehow DHCP was enabled on the AP. I have no clue how that happened...but it did happen.
Fixed now and everything looks good.
<Whew>
 
Old 07-01-2020, 02:22 PM   #20
ferrari
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Location: Auckland, NZ
Distribution: openSUSE Leap
Posts: 4,696

Rep: Reputation: 872Reputation: 872Reputation: 872Reputation: 872Reputation: 872Reputation: 872Reputation: 872
Glad that you found the issue. (It was mentioned in the guides as well).
 
Old Yesterday, 09:46 AM   #21
dlanced
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2014
Location: Canada
Distribution: Ubuntu, Kali Linux
Posts: 35

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
I'm afraid I'm now back to where I started! There were a few weeks where all my NAT hosts could happily talk to each other, regardless of which AP they were connected to. But now some just aren't showing up. My Raspberry Pi, for instance, just doesn't appear in nmap results from my main workstation, but is getting its old DHCP IP from the primary router and can at least sometimes be seen from other hosts. And yesterday, I could only access one of my local hosts after having SSH'd in to it from a third host, and then SSH'd from there to my workstation!
So the routers are wired properly, the AP has a static IP (192.168.1.201) outside the DHCP range, and everyone has internet access. I can't think of anything I did to change the network configuration in the meantime, but I'd appreciate if anyone has any more ideas!
Thanks,
 
Old Yesterday, 11:59 AM   #22
michaelk
Moderator
 
Registered: Aug 2002
Posts: 20,211

Rep: Reputation: 3456Reputation: 3456Reputation: 3456Reputation: 3456Reputation: 3456Reputation: 3456Reputation: 3456Reputation: 3456Reputation: 3456Reputation: 3456Reputation: 3456
You have not changed any physical configurations or settings?

Are the missing hosts connected to AP or mixed wired and wireless?
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old Yesterday, 12:15 PM   #23
dlanced
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2014
Location: Canada
Distribution: Ubuntu, Kali Linux
Posts: 35

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelk View Post
You have not changed any physical configurations or settings?
I've been trying to remember, but I can't think of anything. I know I hadn't even logged into either of the routers for weeks. I did just move the ethernet cable from one LAN port to another LAN port on the AP, but it didn't help. That, by the way, was in honor of my very first major networking problem many, many years ago when it turned out that one of the ports on a cheap hub I was using was flaky.

Quote:
Are the missing hosts connected to AP or mixed wired and wireless?
Right now I can't access a host that's connected to the same WiFi AP as my workstation:
Code:
$ ssh 192.168.1.7
ssh: connect to host 192.168.1.7 port 22: No route to host
 
Old Yesterday, 12:49 PM   #24
michaelk
Moderator
 
Registered: Aug 2002
Posts: 20,211

Rep: Reputation: 3456Reputation: 3456Reputation: 3456Reputation: 3456Reputation: 3456Reputation: 3456Reputation: 3456Reputation: 3456Reputation: 3456Reputation: 3456Reputation: 3456
There are several reasons you might see a no route to host message.

If you can ping the computer then you might not be connecting to the correct computer. Check the address in the router.
If the IP matches then ssh might not be running.
If ssh running are you using some port other then 22
If ssh is running then it could be a firewall setting which is probably not it.
 
Old Yesterday, 12:52 PM   #25
dlanced
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2014
Location: Canada
Distribution: Ubuntu, Kali Linux
Posts: 35

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelk View Post
There are several reasons you might see a no route to host message.

If you can ping the computer then you might not be connecting to the correct computer. Check the address in the router.
If the IP matches then ssh might not be running.
If ssh running are you using some port other then 22
If ssh is running then it could be a firewall setting which is probably not it.
Thanks. The IPs are correct and SSH is running at default settings on all machines. Everything is tested. No firewalls.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I want few users which is in aliases can send mail to each other but not other mail users in postfix Chitra Gurung Linux - Server 4 07-07-2016 01:26 PM
I can't really figure out why these two hosts can ping each other Berkut83 Linux - Networking 19 03-17-2006 03:17 PM
how can I get a wired and wireless computer to talk to each other r_squared Linux - Wireless Networking 3 06-26-2005 10:17 AM
Can my computers talk to each other? Amos Ku Linux - Software 3 09-10-2003 08:17 AM
can't see other machines but they can see each other Silly22 Linux - Networking 1 11-20-2002 03:28 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration