LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Complete CCNA, CCNP & Red Hat Certification Training Bundle
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware
User Name
Password
Linux - Hardware This forum is for Hardware issues.
Having trouble installing a piece of hardware? Want to know if that peripheral is compatible with Linux?

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 08-11-2018, 10:44 PM   #1
AwesomeMachine
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Location: USA and Italy
Distribution: Debian testing/sid; OpenSuSE; Fedora; Mint
Posts: 5,482

Rep: Reputation: 997Reputation: 997Reputation: 997Reputation: 997Reputation: 997Reputation: 997Reputation: 997Reputation: 997
USB 3.0 port works unless a hub is plugged into it.


I have a laptop USB 3.0 port that works with a USB <> SATA enclosure, but if I plug a USB 3.0 hub into the port and plug the USB <> SATA enclosure into the hub, I get nothing.



I tried two USB 3.0 hubs from different manufacturers; both with the same result. I can't figure it out. Both hubs are externally powered. The lappy is an Asus K53SD.



Any ideas?
 
Old 08-11-2018, 11:29 PM   #2
TheEzekielProject
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2016
Distribution: Devuan+lxde
Posts: 639

Rep: Reputation: 189Reputation: 189
Do other devices work in the USB hub? Does the hub show up in lsusb?
 
Old 08-13-2018, 02:01 PM   #3
jefro
Moderator
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Posts: 18,552

Rep: Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778
Good idea to test any device on hub, look for any /var or dmesg or lsusb.

A port has a few items. One is power, one is usb spec and other is device chip. I guess it's possible that for some reason the usb power is shutting down. Possible that it falls back to an unsupported speed/chipset.

An oddity of the port? Crack, loose,...

Distro may not support the hub fully.

The sata to usb may have an oddity about it or the hubs can't really power it fully or at the correct time.
 
Old 08-13-2018, 02:08 PM   #4
dugan
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: Canada
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 8,494

Rep: Reputation: 3522Reputation: 3522Reputation: 3522Reputation: 3522Reputation: 3522Reputation: 3522Reputation: 3522Reputation: 3522Reputation: 3522Reputation: 3522Reputation: 3522
Try running the hub without the external power supply.

My personal experience has been that powered hubs work better with Windows, and unpowered hub work better with Linux.
 
Old 08-16-2018, 01:29 PM   #5
AwesomeMachine
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Location: USA and Italy
Distribution: Debian testing/sid; OpenSuSE; Fedora; Mint
Posts: 5,482

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 997Reputation: 997Reputation: 997Reputation: 997Reputation: 997Reputation: 997Reputation: 997Reputation: 997
The port shows up in lsusb if the SSD is plugged in. But if the hub is plugged in, not even the port shows up, much less the hub. I'll try it without the power adapter. I've never heard of a USB hub needing special drivers. And 2 different hubs failed.

Interestingly, there is a light on the USB 3 USB<>SATA enclosure. In the beginning not even the port worked. When I plugged in the drive, it took a few seconds for that light to light up. I added 'iommu=soft' (which I think turns off hardware iommu) to the boot parameters, rebooted, and the port worked.

The light comes on instantaneously when the port is working. I'm now experiencing the same delay with the light when plugging the SSD into the hub, if that gives any clue. I'm just wondering, the device tells the USB controller how much power it needs. Could that be messed up somehow?
 
Old 08-16-2018, 02:08 PM   #6
jefro
Moderator
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Posts: 18,552

Rep: Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778
The device won't tell how much it needs I'd think. It would just consume power at some rate. The port monitors it.

Well, I think the handshake is part of that to include power.

Last edited by jefro; 08-16-2018 at 06:07 PM.
 
Old 08-16-2018, 03:07 PM   #7
Shadow_7
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Distribution: debian
Posts: 3,612
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 782Reputation: 782Reputation: 782Reputation: 782Reputation: 782Reputation: 782Reputation: 782
I've had similar quirks. Using a usb extension cable (converts it to 2.0) between the laptop and hub seemed to help.
 
Old 08-17-2018, 12:03 AM   #8
AwesomeMachine
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Location: USA and Italy
Distribution: Debian testing/sid; OpenSuSE; Fedora; Mint
Posts: 5,482

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 997Reputation: 997Reputation: 997Reputation: 997Reputation: 997Reputation: 997Reputation: 997Reputation: 997
Without external AC adapter, the hub does nothing. When I plug the ssd into it it won't even light up.

I'm thinking that perhaps since the port cannot deliver spec'ed current for 7 ports (900mA x 7), maybe it just refuses to permit the hub. I tried it on a USB 2 port; nothing. I tried it on a different computer with a USB 3 port; nothing.

I tried it with a USB mouse; nothing. I measured the voltage at the pins: 5V. The hub manual says it works with any USB-enabled OS, without special software or drivers. I informed the manufacturer of my testing, and they agreed to send me another unit.

The other hub that didn't work was refunded. Why is everything more difficult than it should be? I can't try another cable, because I think it's proprietary. I've never seen another one like it.
 
Old 08-18-2018, 03:32 PM   #9
Shadow_7
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Distribution: debian
Posts: 3,612
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 782Reputation: 782Reputation: 782Reputation: 782Reputation: 782Reputation: 782Reputation: 782
Not sure if it's usb 1 or 2, but specs were something like 5V, 500mA. Where a lot of laptops rarely deliver more than 300mA (all about that battery life). Not that I've tested anything to verify, but a powered hub solves a lot of woes. USB3 ups the speed and power. At least it didn't work at all, if it did, it would have likely corrupted any drives you used over it.
 
Old 08-20-2018, 02:36 PM   #10
jefro
Moderator
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Posts: 18,552

Rep: Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778
With a powered hub you shouldn't care what the hub is doing. The external power is supposed to supply the power to the attached devices.
 
Old 08-20-2018, 03:05 PM   #11
BW-userx
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Sep 2013
Location: MID-SOUTH USA
Distribution: Slackware 14.2 / Slackware 14.2 current / Manjaro / Parrot
Posts: 7,143

Rep: Reputation: 1433Reputation: 1433Reputation: 1433Reputation: 1433Reputation: 1433Reputation: 1433Reputation: 1433Reputation: 1433Reputation: 1433Reputation: 1433
power supply, look for a connector to your hub to plug it into a wall socket. or try a different usb port one that puts more juice to the output of it. (maybe)
 
Old 08-28-2018, 01:43 AM   #12
AwesomeMachine
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Location: USA and Italy
Distribution: Debian testing/sid; OpenSuSE; Fedora; Mint
Posts: 5,482

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 997Reputation: 997Reputation: 997Reputation: 997Reputation: 997Reputation: 997Reputation: 997Reputation: 997
OK, the official verdict is that I had 2 bad usb 3 hubs. I got a working one and it works fine. Why do things have to be this difficult?
 
Old 08-28-2018, 01:56 PM   #13
jefro
Moderator
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Posts: 18,552

Rep: Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778
Thanks for the update and solution.

We had a system at work flake out and we tossed 10 boards into it. One bad normal, two bad starts to get odd. 10 is almost unheard of.

You forgot all the good things. You just had one problem.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard drive not detected when plugged into usb 3.0 port but ok on a usb 2.0 port on CentOS 6.4 centguy Linux - General 11 07-13-2017 09:22 PM
USB2514 HUB: Only Port 4 Works for Passive Devices Jesper_K Linux - Embedded & Single-board computer 0 03-03-2015 11:45 AM
I got a USB hub, plugged it and my devices are not recognized Enkidux Linux - Newbie 8 04-09-2008 04:06 PM
Laptop believes USB hub is plugged in General Linux - Hardware 2 05-14-2007 11:54 PM
Problems with USB hub of monitor/mouse plugged to it dreamtheater Linux - Hardware 1 01-10-2005 03:33 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration