LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Debian
User Name
Password
Debian This forum is for the discussion of Debian Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 08-26-2021, 12:36 PM   #1
spyfromtf2
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2021
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
problem for installing debian on a thinkpad x260 (no bootables medias appairs in the bios)


hello
i recently buy a x260 laptop for work and wanted to install debian on it , i used the graphical installer (cuz i'm lazy ) , and all was fine but during the reboot i couldnt boot on any "media"
listed in my boot order .
can somebody help me ?

i used a debian iso (version 11.0 stable or buster , i dont remenber) with all the non free firmware for compatibility with the network card the iso was monted on my usb key with rufus on win 10 ( my other linux pc broke age so i was forced to use windows for that ) i tried first with the / home separated and after with all in one partition
i dont really know if grub was correctly setup or if my bios is up to date (but win 10 booted fine )

somes pictures of my bios settings and version (yes they are stored on discord i'm sorry )(i also apologie for my grammar , english is not my native language )

https://media.discordapp.net/attachm...427&height=676

https://media.discordapp.net/attachm...427&height=676

https://media.discordapp.net/attachm...12/unknown.png
 
Old 08-26-2021, 02:04 PM   #2
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 17,957
Blog Entries: 12

Rep: Reputation: 5433Reputation: 5433Reputation: 5433Reputation: 5433Reputation: 5433Reputation: 5433Reputation: 5433Reputation: 5433Reputation: 5433Reputation: 5433Reputation: 5433
Quote:
Originally Posted by spyfromtf2 View Post
all was fine but during the reboot i couldnt boot on any "media"
listed in my boot order .
So you're saying that the USB stick (or whatever you used) appeared in the Boot menu, but when selected it wouldn't boot anything?
That most likely means you didn't properly write the bootable image. it could also mean that the image is corrupt (less likely though).
Anyhow, check the checksums, and follow Debian's own recommendations for writing images to USB.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 08-26-2021, 02:46 PM   #3
spyfromtf2
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2021
Posts: 4

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
i was able to boot from the usb key and install debian on the ssd , and after the install i was able to boot from the usb but the system couldent boot on the ssd(i verfied the install on the ssd with the live version included with the iso , btw grub files seems normal but i didnt really dig).

i also installed fedora from an old iso (who worked and was perfecly detected ) for provisory solution and mounting the iso in command line , thanks for the checksum idea btw , i will try this .

Last edited by spyfromtf2; 08-26-2021 at 02:47 PM.
 
Old 08-26-2021, 03:42 PM   #4
colorpurple21859
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: florida panhandle
Distribution: slackware64-current, fedora,Xubuntu, others
Posts: 5,693

Rep: Reputation: 1113Reputation: 1113Reputation: 1113Reputation: 1113Reputation: 1113Reputation: 1113Reputation: 1113Reputation: 1113Reputation: 1113
Quote:
but win 10 booted fine
disable csm support before attempting to install debian. Changing boot mode to something other than quick in bios may also help

Last edited by colorpurple21859; 08-26-2021 at 03:44 PM.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 08-26-2021, 05:02 PM   #5
spyfromtf2
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2021
Posts: 4

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
thanks , i already disabled cms but didnt think to change the fast boot
 
Old 08-26-2021, 11:48 PM   #6
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 17,957
Blog Entries: 12

Rep: Reputation: 5433Reputation: 5433Reputation: 5433Reputation: 5433Reputation: 5433Reputation: 5433Reputation: 5433Reputation: 5433Reputation: 5433Reputation: 5433Reputation: 5433
Quote:
Originally Posted by spyfromtf2 View Post
thanks , i already disabled cms but didnt think to change the fast boot
Is it SOLVED now? If yes, please mark it so (see my signature).
 
Old 08-27-2021, 07:45 AM   #7
spyfromtf2
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2021
Posts: 4

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
i solved it this morning the iso mounting seems to be responsible , thanks for your help , i will close the thread
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems booting Debian 9.5 on ThinkPad X260 andli Linux - Laptop and Netbook 5 10-24-2018 04:00 AM
Mobile Broadband cannot connect Ubuntu 16.04 with EM7455 Qualcomm Snapdragon X7 LTE-A Lenovo Thinkpad X260 notebook lobart78@yahoo.com Linux - Networking 1 05-26-2017 02:32 PM
Dual Layer ISO onto 2 Single Layer Medias iammike SUSE / openSUSE 3 05-11-2005 05:15 PM
BIOS Problem on IBM Thinkpad 600e Zykaz Linux - Laptop and Netbook 0 08-07-2004 01:12 PM
Download streaming medias... koyi Linux - Software 1 09-22-2003 11:36 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Debian

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration