LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Linux Power User Bundle
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware > Slackware - ARM
User Name
Password
Slackware - ARM This forum is for the discussion of Slackware ARM.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 09-21-2017, 02:38 PM   #1
SCerovec
Senior Member
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Location: Cp6uja
Distribution: Slackware on x86 and arm
Posts: 1,168
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 166Reputation: 166
Question Not (yet) enabled kernel modules in -current


We actually don't have a rolling (pinned?) thread where we could note drMozes of present modules not enabled to compile on -current or even an updated release kernel.

How come, You ask ?

Being cheap as I am, I couldn't keep off from buying the cheapest mac802 b/g/n USB dongle there is - couldn't I?

No I couldn't - "what the hack, I will build it if not shipped, that darn module!" :^]

Guess what? Bleeding edge and bleeding nose again X_^

Long story short:

Kindly please drMozes, could You please enable the following module(s) for the next kernel release [snip(edit)] :
rtl8xxxu.ko

since I happen to own an Realtek 8192EU based wifi dongle?
(I checked they are not enabled ( drivers > wireless > Realtek > ...) in the currently shipped kernel)

Last edited by SCerovec; 09-22-2017 at 03:06 AM. Reason: checked they (rtl8xxxu.ko) seem to compile clean on Bpi (make -j2 modules)
 
Old 09-22-2017, 07:24 AM   #2
drmozes
Slackware Contributor
 
Registered: Apr 2008
Location: Surrey, England
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 607

Rep: Reputation: 430Reputation: 430Reputation: 430Reputation: 430Reputation: 430
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCerovec View Post
Long story short:
that's what I like :-)
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCerovec View Post
drMozes, could You please enable the following module(s) for the next kernel release [snip(edit)] :
Done.
 
3 members found this post helpful.
Old 09-23-2017, 08:07 AM   #3
SCerovec
Senior Member
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Location: Cp6uja
Distribution: Slackware on x86 and arm
Posts: 1,168
Blog Entries: 2

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 166Reputation: 166
Kindest thanks for the swift response sir!
^_^

Just checking:
Is there a particular reason not to enable /input devices support/touchscreens/<many modules here>, besides compile time?

Maybe they are obsolete devices?

I even found some I was intending to tryout (SPI touchscreens for one), those certainly are hard to detect if not loaded as module?

thoughts anyone: to enable or not (too specific case of use - must be coded hard - not as module etc)?
 
Old 09-24-2017, 01:12 PM   #4
drmozes
Slackware Contributor
 
Registered: Apr 2008
Location: Surrey, England
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 607

Rep: Reputation: 430Reputation: 430Reputation: 430Reputation: 430Reputation: 430
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCerovec View Post
Is there a particular reason not to enable /input devices support/touchscreens/<many modules here>, besides compile time?
I add what I know is needed by the devices officially supported, plus anything else that looks useful or people ask for.
I have to try and make sure that the installer doesn't get too big either, otherwise it won't boot and I have to spend more time figuring out how to remove stuff.

If there's anything in particular, let me know!
 
Old 09-27-2017, 04:14 AM   #5
SCerovec
Senior Member
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Location: Cp6uja
Distribution: Slackware on x86 and arm
Posts: 1,168
Blog Entries: 2

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 166Reputation: 166
Kindest thanks,

making any needed module (overnight ) isn't a chore as it used to be, would there a need suddenly arise.

Otherwise I (or anyone else, most probably ) will report any product that could benefit from any missing inclusion.
 
Old 11-13-2017, 02:23 PM   #6
SCerovec
Senior Member
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Location: Cp6uja
Distribution: Slackware on x86 and arm
Posts: 1,168
Blog Entries: 2

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 166Reputation: 166
Post

TL;DR:
after the latest update on -current I'm missing:
ath9x fammily including: ath9k_htc
on my x86 laptop, # lsmod shows:
Code:
ath9k_htc              51526  0
ath9k_common           24156  1 ath9k_htc
ath9k_hw              425616  2 ath9k_common,ath9k_htc
ath                    18006  3 ath9k_common,ath9k_htc,ath9k_hw
plus some (all?) rtl* drivers on staging ^_^?
 
Old 11-13-2017, 05:41 PM   #7
drmozes
Slackware Contributor
 
Registered: Apr 2008
Location: Surrey, England
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 607

Rep: Reputation: 430Reputation: 430Reputation: 430Reputation: 430Reputation: 430
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCerovec View Post
TL;DR:
after the latest update on -current I'm missing:
ath9x fammily including: ath9k_htc
on my x86 laptop, # lsmod shows:
Code:
ath9k_htc              51526  0
ath9k_common           24156  1 ath9k_htc
ath9k_hw              425616  2 ath9k_common,ath9k_htc
ath                    18006  3 ath9k_common,ath9k_htc,ath9k_hw
plus some (all?) rtl* drivers on staging ^_^?
They aren't missing since the latest update - they were never there.
 
Old 11-14-2017, 03:54 AM   #8
SCerovec
Senior Member
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Location: Cp6uja
Distribution: Slackware on x86 and arm
Posts: 1,168
Blog Entries: 2

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 166Reputation: 166
Thumbs up


!Caught!
When I wrote missing, I meant compared to 14.2 vs current, and in a kind of personal way. Not quite clear from my post, eh?

Can it be the two configs went out of sync?

One way, or the other, i type this on xvkbd on a banana pi, I plan to publish yet.
Of course thru the Atheros 9270 USB dongle, brought to life with said

ath9k_htc

module.

implying:
1 it builds clean
2 it supports latest USB dongles
3 there will be reports regarding my latest dwellings ^_^

Last edited by SCerovec; 11-14-2017 at 03:59 AM. Reason: better explain
 
Old 11-14-2017, 05:13 AM   #9
drmozes
Slackware Contributor
 
Registered: Apr 2008
Location: Surrey, England
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 607

Rep: Reputation: 430Reputation: 430Reputation: 430Reputation: 430Reputation: 430
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCerovec View Post

!Caught!
When I wrote missing, I meant compared to 14.2 vs current, and in a kind of personal way. Not quite clear from my post, eh?
Code:
root@stokely:~/armedslack/slackwarearm-14.2/patches/source/kernel/kernel-pkgs/configs# grep ATH config-armv7
CONFIG_IP_ROUTE_MULTIPATH=y
# CONFIG_BT_ATH3K is not set
CONFIG_MD_MULTIPATH=m
CONFIG_DM_MULTIPATH=m
CONFIG_DM_MULTIPATH_QL=m
CONFIG_DM_MULTIPATH_ST=m
# CONFIG_NET_VENDOR_ATHEROS is not set
# CONFIG_ATH_CARDS is not set
# CONFIG_DEBUG_WW_MUTEX_SLOWPATH is not set
# CONFIG_SECURITY_PATH is not set
No atheros in there either.
There are lots of RTL modules though.

Which specific ones do you want?
 
Old 11-14-2017, 10:42 AM   #10
SCerovec
Senior Member
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Location: Cp6uja
Distribution: Slackware on x86 and arm
Posts: 1,168
Blog Entries: 2

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 166Reputation: 166
We might there be up to something?
http://bear.alienbase.nl/mirrors/sla...ric-4.4.14.x64
Code:
[snip]
CONFIG_WLAN=y
CONFIG_PCMCIA_RAYCS=m
CONFIG_LIBERTAS_THINFIRM=m
# CONFIG_LIBERTAS_THINFIRM_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_LIBERTAS_THINFIRM_USB=m
CONFIG_AIRO=m
CONFIG_ATMEL=m
CONFIG_PCI_ATMEL=m
CONFIG_PCMCIA_ATMEL=m
CONFIG_AT76C50X_USB=m
CONFIG_AIRO_CS=m
CONFIG_PCMCIA_WL3501=m
CONFIG_PRISM54=m
CONFIG_USB_ZD1201=m
CONFIG_USB_NET_RNDIS_WLAN=m
CONFIG_ADM8211=m
CONFIG_RTL8180=m
CONFIG_RTL8187=m
CONFIG_RTL8187_LEDS=y
# CONFIG_MAC80211_HWSIM is not set
CONFIG_MWL8K=m
CONFIG_ATH_COMMON=m
CONFIG_ATH_CARDS=m
# CONFIG_ATH_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_ATH5K=m
# CONFIG_ATH5K_DEBUG is not set
# CONFIG_ATH5K_TRACER is not set
CONFIG_ATH5K_PCI=y
CONFIG_ATH9K_HW=m
CONFIG_ATH9K_COMMON=m
CONFIG_ATH9K_BTCOEX_SUPPORT=y
CONFIG_ATH9K=m
CONFIG_ATH9K_PCI=y
# CONFIG_ATH9K_AHB is not set
# CONFIG_ATH9K_DEBUGFS is not set
# CONFIG_ATH9K_DYNACK is not set
CONFIG_ATH9K_WOW=y
CONFIG_ATH9K_RFKILL=y
CONFIG_ATH9K_CHANNEL_CONTEXT=y
CONFIG_ATH9K_PCOEM=y
CONFIG_ATH9K_HTC=m
# CONFIG_ATH9K_HTC_DEBUGFS is not set
[snip]
the Realtek of interest is:
Code:
[snip]
CONFIG_STAGING=y
# CONFIG_SLICOSS is not set
# CONFIG_PRISM2_USB is not set
# CONFIG_COMEDI is not set
# CONFIG_PANEL is not set
[snip]
CONFIG_RTLLIB=m
CONFIG_RTLLIB_CRYPTO_CCMP=m
CONFIG_RTLLIB_CRYPTO_TKIP=m
CONFIG_RTLLIB_CRYPTO_WEP=m
CONFIG_RTL8192E=m
CONFIG_R8712U=m
CONFIG_R8188EU=m
CONFIG_R8723AU=m
[snip]
CONFIG_8723AU_BT_COEXIST=y
[snip]
When i referred to 14.2 i was thinking on x86-14.2, and the arm-14.2 seems to differ quite a bit in module for module from it?

I'm trying to imply:
1. I was not specific enough (now I see)
2. Alienbase is certainly exact copy of Slackware's source?
3. Is there (if any) a reason not to have each USB module/driver from x86 enabled in arm too?
 
Old 11-14-2017, 05:20 PM   #11
drmozes
Slackware Contributor
 
Registered: Apr 2008
Location: Surrey, England
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 607

Rep: Reputation: 430Reputation: 430Reputation: 430Reputation: 430Reputation: 430
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCerovec View Post

Code:
CONFIG_PCMCIA_RAYCS=m

2. Alienbase is certainly exact copy of Slackware's source?
I don't know. I don't use it.

Quote:
3. Is there (if any) a reason not to have each USB module/driver from x86 enabled in arm too?

Yes because it has support for hardware that doesn't exist on ARM - such as PCMCIA - plus hardware that I cannot imagine anybody would ever conceivably use on ARM - and even if they wanted to, they can just go into the /usr/src/linux and add it to the config, then make modules_install
The ARM kernel has never been feature parity with x86. In an ideal world, the base set of modules ought to be, but unless something breaks, there's nothing to fix.

The ARM kernel provided is there to support the supported devices so that they work out of the box for basics such as networking, video (if possible), disc support and so on. If there's any real need for a new module, I'll add it - but I'm not going to add lists of modules just because someone has one on a shelf or plugged into another machine :-)

Last edited by drmozes; 11-14-2017 at 05:24 PM.
 
Old 11-15-2017, 12:51 PM   #12
SCerovec
Senior Member
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Location: Cp6uja
Distribution: Slackware on x86 and arm
Posts: 1,168
Blog Entries: 2

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 166Reputation: 166
Sounds quite reasonable to me.

So, another surprise to Linux - the Arm and x86 are quite different beasts to tame?

Kind thanks sir, for the swift responses.

I still wonder how long until the rtl8xxx divers hits the mainline (even in staging), and the ever awaited /dev/fb0 on Orange PI?

For those following this thread - savvy buyers should stick to Atheros WiFi dongles - if anything - they just work.
 
  


Reply

Tags
-current, kernel, modules


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
kernel: modules enabled? newbie9500 Linux - Software 4 11-05-2005 09:48 PM
cannot find map file. No module symbols loaded - kernel modules not enabled. jjorloff1 Linux - Software 3 01-06-2005 12:02 PM
kernel: No module symbols loaded - kernel modules not enabled. Qucho Debian 9 05-26-2004 03:50 AM
2.6.5 Problems:No module symbols loaded - kernel modules not enabled robbow52 Debian 11 05-11-2004 05:02 AM
kernel 2.6.0 debian "No module symbols loaded - kernel modules not enabled." toovato Linux - General 2 01-07-2004 08:56 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware > Slackware - ARM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration