LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Latest LQ Deals
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 01-09-2022, 04:53 AM   #1
nobodino
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2010
Location: in France
Distribution: slackware, slackware from scratch, LFS, slackware [arm], linux Mint,Manjaro...
Posts: 1,086

Rep: Reputation: 573Reputation: 573Reputation: 573Reputation: 573Reputation: 573Reputation: 573
regression with elilo on slackware -current (x86 version)


elilo doesn't build anymore on slackware -current (x86 version):
------------------
NFIG -DCONFIG_LOCALFS -DCONFIG_NETFS -DCONFIG_CHOOSER_SIMPLE -DCONFIG_CHOOSER_TEXTMENU -DCONFIG_ia32 -c system.c -o system.o
virtual memory exhausted: Ne peut allouer de la mémoire
make[1]: *** [../ia32/../Make.rules:34 : system.o] Erreur 1
------------------

Last edited by nobodino; 01-09-2022 at 12:48 PM.
 
Old 01-09-2022, 08:12 PM   #2
willysr
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Location: Jogja, Indonesia
Distribution: Slackware-Current
Posts: 4,419

Rep: Reputation: 1571Reputation: 1571Reputation: 1571Reputation: 1571Reputation: 1571Reputation: 1571Reputation: 1571Reputation: 1571Reputation: 1571Reputation: 1571Reputation: 1571
it seems to be memory exhaustion?
 
Old 01-09-2022, 08:14 PM   #3
marav
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2018
Location: Paris, France
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 1,594

Rep: Reputation: 972Reputation: 972Reputation: 972Reputation: 972Reputation: 972Reputation: 972Reputation: 972Reputation: 972
Same here in a VM
RAM : 4Go
Swap : 2Go

tried with +4Go swapfile, without success
 
Old 01-10-2022, 12:57 AM   #4
nobodino
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2010
Location: in France
Distribution: slackware, slackware from scratch, LFS, slackware [arm], linux Mint,Manjaro...
Posts: 1,086

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 573Reputation: 573Reputation: 573Reputation: 573Reputation: 573Reputation: 573
My system is a pure slackware system with:
RAM: 16 Go
Swap: 8 Go

doesn't exhaust qt5, and when I looked at the memory situation with htop, no saturation.
the line that fails is in Make.rules (34):
--------------
$(CC) $(INCDIR) $(CFLAGS) $(CPPFLAGS) -c $< -o $@
--------------

Last edited by nobodino; 01-10-2022 at 01:27 AM.
 
Old 01-10-2022, 06:23 AM   #5
Didier Spaier
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Nov 2008
Location: Paris, France
Distribution: Slint64-14.2.1 on Lenovo Thinkpad W520
Posts: 10,256

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
As OpenSUSE is the last distribution shipping eLiLo beyond Slackware, have a look at the patches in https://build.opensuse.org/package/s...:Factory/elilo

Anyway this is some kind of "acharnement thérapeuthique" (en Français dans le texte.)
 
Old 01-14-2022, 10:43 AM   #6
nobodino
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2010
Location: in France
Distribution: slackware, slackware from scratch, LFS, slackware [arm], linux Mint,Manjaro...
Posts: 1,086

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 573Reputation: 573Reputation: 573Reputation: 573Reputation: 573Reputation: 573
none has an idea to solve this problem?
 
Old 01-14-2022, 11:49 AM   #7
Windu
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2021
Distribution: Arch Linux, Debian, Slackware
Posts: 122

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by nobodino View Post
none has an idea to solve this problem?
I doubt that anyone uses elilo on 32bit... as UEFI for 32bit computers is a rather rare phenomenon.
 
Old 01-14-2022, 07:58 PM   #8
khronosschoty
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2008
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 519
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 334Reputation: 334Reputation: 334Reputation: 334
Is there even any efi 32 bit systems out in the wild, that can't be boot with traditional lilo?
 
Old 01-18-2022, 03:57 AM   #9
pghvlaans
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2021
Distribution: Slackware64 -current, stuff on qemu
Posts: 202

Rep: Reputation: 128Reputation: 128
Just a thought: the elilo package ships with pre-built binary .efi files from 2018. The only thing that's actually compiled and packaged is eliloalt. Replacing the "make || exit 1" line in the SlackBuild with
Code:
cd tools
make || exit 1
cd ..
just builds eliloalt and leaves the rest alone. Would that compile successfully on a 32-bit machine?
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 01-18-2022, 04:18 AM   #10
nobodino
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2010
Location: in France
Distribution: slackware, slackware from scratch, LFS, slackware [arm], linux Mint,Manjaro...
Posts: 1,086

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 573Reputation: 573Reputation: 573Reputation: 573Reputation: 573Reputation: 573
Thanks pghvlaans, that did the trick.

no more package don't build on x86 slackware with this last patch.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 01-18-2022, 07:05 AM   #11
marav
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2018
Location: Paris, France
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 1,594

Rep: Reputation: 972Reputation: 972Reputation: 972Reputation: 972Reputation: 972Reputation: 972Reputation: 972Reputation: 972
\o/

ps: @nobodino, don't forget to mark it as solved ;-) (or maybe, you prefer to wait for Pat to include it ...)

Last edited by marav; 01-18-2022 at 07:10 AM.
 
Old 01-18-2022, 07:27 AM   #12
nobodino
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2010
Location: in France
Distribution: slackware, slackware from scratch, LFS, slackware [arm], linux Mint,Manjaro...
Posts: 1,086

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 573Reputation: 573Reputation: 573Reputation: 573Reputation: 573Reputation: 573
I marked it closed, only when the build tree takes it into account.

Last edited by nobodino; 01-18-2022 at 10:30 AM.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old Today, 01:58 AM   #13
nobodino
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2010
Location: in France
Distribution: slackware, slackware from scratch, LFS, slackware [arm], linux Mint,Manjaro...
Posts: 1,086

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 573Reputation: 573Reputation: 573Reputation: 573Reputation: 573Reputation: 573
In the SFS build tree I mde this change in the SlackBuild:

Code:
# We will build this from source.
# However, we will package the pre-built EFI binaries, since we would
# like to include both 32-bit and 64-bit x86 EFI loaders in the
# finished package.
# modification to allow the package to be built on slackware version x86
case "$( uname -m )" in
    x86_64) 
		make || exit 1 ;;

    i686)
		cd tools
		make || exit 1
		cd .. ;;
esac
It doesn't change anything for x86_64, and solves the x86 build version.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] [slackware-current regression] SDL2_mixer and SDL_mixer need rebuilding: fluidsynth broken teeemcee Slackware 9 09-08-2021 12:22 PM
[SOLVED] Slackware-current: Bash-completion regression orbea Slackware 2 04-05-2016 04:44 PM
[SOLVED] slackware current on netbook - x86 or x64 version to choose? WiseDraco Slackware 41 09-28-2015 01:23 PM
xorg regression in -current mina86 Slackware 5 03-06-2013 11:48 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration