LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Debian
User Name
Password
Debian This forum is for the discussion of Debian Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 06-27-2005, 03:28 AM   #1
Tepsunius
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jun 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: 0
Linux on public computer


Hello, we have a public computer at work which you can use for net surfing and people keep changing it's options so we thought about installing a linux on it to prevent people from changing options on their own.
So i installed debian on it, but is it possible to only allow users to use web browser and everything else would require root password? Because you can still change background and other things that you shouldn't.
I also tried to look for a more suitable distro for public computer use but couldn't find any, so it's either debian or win2k/xp.
 
Old 06-27-2005, 05:42 AM   #2
samael26
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Location: France, Provence
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 848

Rep: Reputation: 30
If you use another window manager than KDE or Gome, people won't be able to change the background
but will have a clean interface. Try icewm, for instance, it works just like XP, with a taskbar and a launch
button. In the 'Themes', you even have one option which makes it look like WinXP.
Users can't change much things, only root can.

cheers
 
Old 06-27-2005, 08:08 AM   #3
Tepsunius
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jun 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 2

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Works better than KDE/Gnome, thanks.
 
Old 06-27-2005, 10:20 AM   #4
macondo
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,017

Rep: Reputation: 52
Hmmm, afaik, if you add different users, EACH one will have his/her own options. IOW, the browser will have ONLY the properties each different user chose and none other. Of course, i don't use KDE or Gnome, so i can't opine about it; but i would assume it's the same. I use IceWM and my wife uses Fluxbox, our options in Firefox, Thunderbird, and XFE are different and remain so.

Last edited by macondo; 06-27-2005 at 10:21 AM.
 
Old 06-27-2005, 11:39 AM   #5
zuralin
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Distribution: Debian testing/unstable
Posts: 225

Rep: Reputation: 30
You should look into purchasing a copy of Opera and run it in kiosk mode.
http://www.opera.com/support/mastering/kiosk/
 
Old 06-27-2005, 03:56 PM   #6
rbochan
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2004
Location: Central New York
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 218

Rep: Reputation: 30
You can also set X to fire up that app only... no wm, no widgets, no nothing. You'd just create a .xinitrc file for the user and make it contain:

exec firefox

or whatever app you're using. In the above case, all you'll see on the screen is firefox and its menus. NO titlebar, no borders, no nothing. In some cases you can specifiy the screen size (1024x768, etc) for the app, but that's not always the case.
 
Old 06-27-2005, 04:02 PM   #7
IsaacKuo
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Location: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Distribution: Debian 9 Stretch
Posts: 2,351
Blog Entries: 8

Rep: Reputation: 384Reputation: 384Reputation: 384Reputation: 384
Another option is to use a LiveCD distribution like Knoppix or Mepis. Put this computer on the outside of a firewall so only web browsing is allowed through (i.e. to prevent users from trying to access your internal computer network).

You'd want the computer to have a fast CD-ROM drive, but no hard drive. Users can change settings and such on a temporary basis, but there's no permanent storage so all settings reset to default just by rebooting the computer.
 
Old 06-27-2005, 04:06 PM   #8
Matir
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 8,507

Rep: Reputation: 126Reputation: 126
A script that deletes a user and recreates it after logoff might also be helpful, to prevent bookmarks and browser settings from being messed with.
 
Old 06-27-2005, 04:38 PM   #9
Ipolit
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: Bulgaria
Distribution: Vector Linux, Morphix
Posts: 311

Rep: Reputation: 33
if u set no write permission I think that u could use even gnome or KDE
 
Old 06-27-2005, 05:35 PM   #10
craigevil
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: OZ
Distribution: Debian Sid
Posts: 4,734
Blog Entries: 12

Rep: Reputation: 463Reputation: 463Reputation: 463Reputation: 463Reputation: 463
KDE has a kiosk tool. As does Firefox.

Icewm is my desktop of choice much faster and cleaner than KDE/Gnome. The only way to change things is by editing the text files the settings are based on. You can even get rid of all the menu shortcuts and only leave the webbrowser. Then use Firefox and set it up in kiosk mode so noone can change any of its settings.

The KDE Extragear - Kiosk Admin Tool
http://extragear.kde.org/apps/kiosktool/

FireFox (Firebird/Phoenix) Kiosk Browser
http://tln.lib.mi.us/~amutch/pro/phoenix/kiosk.htm

"KDE Kiosk Mode HOWTO"
http://www.ibiblio.org/pub/Linux/doc...iosk-Mode.html

Last edited by craigevil; 06-27-2005 at 05:38 PM.
 
Old 06-27-2005, 05:52 PM   #11
DaWallace
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: Southern Maine, United States
Distribution: Slackware Ubuntu Debian FreeBSD
Posts: 418

Rep: Reputation: 31
if you make a user As preferences owned by user B and only give user A read permissions. you can effectively prevent that user from changing anything. (it would make sense for user B to be root, since you'd have to use superuser priveleges to set up such a scheme anyway.

I think something along those lines would work.
 
Old 06-27-2005, 09:09 PM   #12
Matir
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 8,507

Rep: Reputation: 126Reputation: 126
Quote:
Originally posted by Ipolit
if u set no write permission I think that u could use even gnome or KDE
Setting no write permissions would be problematic with the creation of temporary files, pipes, and sockets, all of which browsers and X need to work.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
installing linux on a computer and use hard disk on another computer danrweki Linux - Newbie 8 11-16-2005 11:11 PM
Internet is slower on my win computer than on my linux computer eXor Linux - Networking 1 12-03-2004 09:58 AM
Can't copy files from an SCO Unix System V computer to a Linux computer gnppapas Linux - General 2 11-27-2004 02:39 PM
Why would a windows computer smoke a linux computer for download speed ? lostboy Linux - General 4 10-21-2003 06:20 PM
How can i portage Linux from computer with Celeron proc to computer with Pentium 166? gdi Linux - General 4 05-31-2003 02:11 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Debian

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:21 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration