LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Latest LQ Deals
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking
User Name
Password
Linux - Networking This forum is for any issue related to networks or networking.
Routing, network cards, OSI, etc. Anything is fair game.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 06-09-2021, 03:46 PM   #1
Zaknu
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jun 2021
Posts: 6

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Question Network times out in elementaryOS.


The network worked fine until yesterday. Now I cannot access any site because the network times out. Not even apt get works so I can't check for networking driver updates. I can connect to my wifi perfectly and it shows that I have a signal but it can't reach any website. I tried so many solutions on the internet and none of them worked. Please help because I am hopelessly lost and I am forced to use windows just because I can't use any internet-dependent app on elementary.
 
Old 06-09-2021, 04:39 PM   #2
michaelk
Moderator
 
Registered: Aug 2002
Posts: 21,507

Rep: Reputation: 4114Reputation: 4114Reputation: 4114Reputation: 4114Reputation: 4114Reputation: 4114Reputation: 4114Reputation: 4114Reputation: 4114Reputation: 4114Reputation: 4114
Is your Windows PC wired or wireless?

Do other wireless devices connect to the internet?

Is your Elementary OS being assigned an IP address from the router?

Can you ping your Windows PC or router from Elementary?
 
Old 06-10-2021, 12:56 AM   #3
Zaknu
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jun 2021
Posts: 6

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
I am on a laptop and I have a wirelesss connection. I am dual booting from my laptop so can you please guide me how to ping windows from elementary? And also I don't know how to see if I have an ip address assigned. Can you guide me on that too? Other wireless devices can connect to the internet. I hope i answered all your questions.
 
Old 06-10-2021, 01:28 AM   #4
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 17,264
Blog Entries: 10

Rep: Reputation: 5172Reputation: 5172Reputation: 5172Reputation: 5172Reputation: 5172Reputation: 5172Reputation: 5172Reputation: 5172Reputation: 5172Reputation: 5172Reputation: 5172
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaknu View Post
The network worked fine until yesterday. Now I cannot access any site because the network times out. Not even apt get works so I can't check for networking driver updates. I can connect to my wifi perfectly and it shows that I have a signal but it can't reach any website. I tried so many solutions on the internet and none of them worked. Please help because I am hopelessly lost and I am forced to use windows just because I can't use any internet-dependent app on elementary.
Please answer all the questions asked in the previous post.

Then, also show us the output from
Code:
apt-get update
ping -c3 8.8.8.8
ping -4 -c3 google.com
ping -6 -c3 google.com
And possibly also
 
Old 06-10-2021, 03:56 AM   #5
Zaknu
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jun 2021
Posts: 6

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
ElementaryOS and windows are on the same laptop.

Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelk View Post
Is your Windows PC wired or wireless?
Wireless.

Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelk View Post
Do other wireless devices connect to the internet?
Yes

Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelk View Post
Is your Elementary OS being assigned an IP address from the router?
Idk how to check this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelk View Post
Can you ping your Windows PC or router from Elementary?
Idk how to check this too.

I attached what I get from the terminal after I run your commands.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot1.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	237.5 KB
ID:	36569   Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot2.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	260.5 KB
ID:	36570   Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot3.png
Views:	4
Size:	17.4 KB
ID:	36571   Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot4.png
Views:	4
Size:	16.3 KB
ID:	36572   Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot5.png
Views:	3
Size:	17.5 KB
ID:	36573  

 
Old 06-10-2021, 07:32 AM   #6
michaelk
Moderator
 
Registered: Aug 2002
Posts: 21,507

Rep: Reputation: 4114Reputation: 4114Reputation: 4114Reputation: 4114Reputation: 4114Reputation: 4114Reputation: 4114Reputation: 4114Reputation: 4114Reputation: 4114Reputation: 4114
Post the output of the command
ip a
 
Old 06-10-2021, 10:17 AM   #7
Zaknu
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jun 2021
Posts: 6

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Here is the output.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot1.1.png
Views:	2
Size:	173.3 KB
ID:	36574   Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot1.2.png
Views:	2
Size:	173.9 KB
ID:	36575  
 
Old 06-10-2021, 10:41 AM   #8
michaelk
Moderator
 
Registered: Aug 2002
Posts: 21,507

Rep: Reputation: 4114Reputation: 4114Reputation: 4114Reputation: 4114Reputation: 4114Reputation: 4114Reputation: 4114Reputation: 4114Reputation: 4114Reputation: 4114Reputation: 4114
It looks like you are using a VPN service?

Are you using a VPN in Windows too?
 
Old 06-10-2021, 10:52 AM   #9
Zaknu
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jun 2021
Posts: 6

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Yes I use ProtonVPN. I enabled the kill switch but it should deactivate fully if I disconnected from the vpn which I did. I'll uninstall it and check if my network returns to normal. Just in case that doesn't work what should I do afterwards. Thanks.
 
Old 06-10-2021, 11:05 AM   #10
Zaknu
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jun 2021
Posts: 6

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
I turned off the killswitch and the internet works like a charm. Thank u so much. You do not understand how thankful I am right now. I wasted so many hours trying to find a solution and i totally forgot about the VPN. Again thank you so much if it wasn't for you I would've had to reinstall elementary.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ElementaryOs Luna released, based on Ubuntu jeremy Linux - News 0 08-12-2013 11:43 AM
LXer: First Look: elementaryOS Jupiter LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 03-13-2012 06:00 PM
LXer: elementaryOS 0.1 Screenshot Tour LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 03-13-2012 04:21 PM
LXer: New ElementaryOS Video (Featuring Plank, Slingshot, Wingpanel, Postler, Dexter, Midori) LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 02-17-2011 04:10 PM
System hangs; Atheros Madwifi-ping times out every 15/16 times james 456 Linux - Networking 0 01-12-2006 06:55 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration