LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Laptop and Netbook
User Name
Password
Linux - Laptop and Netbook Having a problem installing or configuring Linux on your laptop? Need help running Linux on your netbook? This forum is for you. This forum is for any topics relating to Linux and either traditional laptops or netbooks (such as the Asus EEE PC, Everex CloudBook or MSI Wind).

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 09-12-2019, 11:24 AM   #1
ashokabs
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2019
Posts: 5

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Problem of hdcp on ubuntu


I was trying to see a TV program from my TV provider who has this facility to see all the channels online. On the windows 10 partition I have no problem and it works like a charm. On the Linux partition it gives an HDCP error. I am using Ubuntu 18.04 on an HP 360X convertible laptop. Need to get HDCP working on my browser for viewing TV.
 
Old 09-14-2019, 09:11 AM   #2
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 12,490
Blog Entries: 9

Rep: Reputation: 3380Reputation: 3380Reputation: 3380Reputation: 3380Reputation: 3380Reputation: 3380Reputation: 3380Reputation: 3380Reputation: 3380Reputation: 3380Reputation: 3380
hdcp on ubuntu.
Also look at the first two links in my signature.
And please don't get offended; try to see beyond the style of writing to the content.
 
Old 09-14-2019, 08:40 PM   #3
jamison20000e
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Location: ...uncanny valley... infinity\1975; (randomly born:) Milwaukee, WI, US( + travel,) Earth( I wish,) END BORDER$!◣◢┌∩┐ Fe26-E,e...
Distribution: any GPL that works well on my cheapest; has been KDE or CLI but open... http://goo.gl/NqgqJx &c ;-)
Posts: 3,852
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312
Question

Seems like we could use more information. I got this searching a tiny part of your post (ie "Need to get HDCP working on my browser for viewing TV":) https://support.roku.com/article/208...purple-screen-

...likely not related?

Last edited by jamison20000e; 09-14-2019 at 08:55 PM. Reason: Semantics
 
Old 09-14-2019, 08:53 PM   #4
jamison20000e
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Location: ...uncanny valley... infinity\1975; (randomly born:) Milwaukee, WI, US( + travel,) Earth( I wish,) END BORDER$!◣◢┌∩┐ Fe26-E,e...
Distribution: any GPL that works well on my cheapest; has been KDE or CLI but open... http://goo.gl/NqgqJx &c ;-)
Posts: 3,852
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312
Quote:
Need to get HDCP working on my browser for viewing TV
Changing "my browser" to Ubuntu: https://www.howtogeek.com/208917/htg...how-to-fix-it/

...I am only selecting the first result from searching that exact sentence, maybe there's more help there?
 
Old 09-15-2019, 12:01 AM   #5
ashokabs
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2019
Posts: 5

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
MORE INFO

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamison20000e View Post
Seems like we could use more information. I got this searching a tiny part of your post (ie "Need to get HDCP working on my browser for viewing TV":) https://support.roku.com/article/208...purple-screen-

...likely not related?
I have a dual booting laptop HP 360X convertible running on I3 with windows 10. I use it to login to my DTH provider website where I can stream the TV programs. When in Chrome in Windows 10 there is no problem in streaming the content. However, when I boot into Ubuntu 18.04 I find that using either Chrome or Firefox when I try to do the same streaming I get the HDCP error. Please note that I am not using any TV or interconnection between TV and laptop using HDMI or any other cable. I am trying to stream for viewing on my laptop display. I have checked that DRM is active on Firefox.

I will try and see if any log can help. Will attach what I can locate as useful.
 
Old 09-15-2019, 01:55 AM   #6
jamison20000e
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Location: ...uncanny valley... infinity\1975; (randomly born:) Milwaukee, WI, US( + travel,) Earth( I wish,) END BORDER$!◣◢┌∩┐ Fe26-E,e...
Distribution: any GPL that works well on my cheapest; has been KDE or CLI but open... http://goo.gl/NqgqJx &c ;-)
Posts: 3,852
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312
Perhaps installing Chrome from their website rather than Ubuntu's repo or chiming in on the Ubuntu forms?

Hopefully someone else comes around with a better idea?

Sorry.
 
Old 09-15-2019, 08:32 AM   #7
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 12,490
Blog Entries: 9

Rep: Reputation: 3380Reputation: 3380Reputation: 3380Reputation: 3380Reputation: 3380Reputation: 3380Reputation: 3380Reputation: 3380Reputation: 3380Reputation: 3380Reputation: 3380
Have you looked at the search result I provided?
Or at the similar threads right at the bottom of this page?
These will also give you a better understanding of the sort of information required to solve things.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 09-15-2019, 09:53 AM   #8
jamison20000e
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Location: ...uncanny valley... infinity\1975; (randomly born:) Milwaukee, WI, US( + travel,) Earth( I wish,) END BORDER$!◣◢┌∩┐ Fe26-E,e...
Distribution: any GPL that works well on my cheapest; has been KDE or CLI but open... http://goo.gl/NqgqJx &c ;-)
Posts: 3,852
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312
I'm also curious if you tried installing Chrome from their website rather than Ubuntu's?

It's not always recommended using other than your distros package manager but if you trust Google LOL... but hey you're on Ubuntu anyhow. Not quite free as in Freedom.

I had to do this back in the day when I used Hulu and Netflix, Debian's Google wouldn't work but from the Google Website it did.

Last edited by jamison20000e; 09-15-2019 at 09:55 AM. Reason: Semantics
 
Old 09-15-2019, 10:16 AM   #9
ashokabs
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2019
Posts: 5

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamison20000e View Post
I'm also curious if you tried installing Chrome from their website rather than Ubuntu's?

It's not always recommended using other than your distros package manager but if you trust Google LOL... but hey you're on Ubuntu anyhow. Not quite free as in Freedom.

I had to do this back in the day when I used Hulu and Netflix, Debian's Google wouldn't work but from the Google Website it did.
I downloaded Chrome and installed it from the Chrome website. So this doesn't work. Thanks for the suggestion.
 
Old 09-15-2019, 12:35 PM   #10
jamison20000e
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Location: ...uncanny valley... infinity\1975; (randomly born:) Milwaukee, WI, US( + travel,) Earth( I wish,) END BORDER$!◣◢┌∩┐ Fe26-E,e...
Distribution: any GPL that works well on my cheapest; has been KDE or CLI but open... http://goo.gl/NqgqJx &c ;-)
Posts: 3,852
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312Reputation: 1312
Too bad that didn't work, I'm out of suggestions Maybe
ondoho's links; good luck with it.
 
Old 09-24-2019, 06:11 AM   #11
aragorn2101
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2012
Location: Mauritius
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 552

Rep: Reputation: 270Reputation: 270Reputation: 270
Hi and welcome to LQ,

By HDCP, do you mean DHCP?

If yes, then you probably simply need to set up a wired connection where the IP address will be acquired using dhcp. I think Ubuntu does configure the DHCP automatically for you.
 
Old 10-14-2019, 02:41 PM   #12
tofino_surfer
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2007
Posts: 358

Rep: Reputation: 102Reputation: 102
Quote:
By HDCP, do you mean DHCP?

If yes, then you probably simply need to set up a wired connection where the IP address will be acquired using dhcp. I think Ubuntu does configure the DHCP automatically for you.
No they very much don't mean that.

HDCP = High-bandwidth Digital Content Protection

This is a form of copy protection for video content that exists with HDMI and other cables.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/High-b...ent_Protection

This has nothing to do with networking at all. Perhaps do a quick search before posting next time as well as actually reading the posts in this thread. The OP was talking about watching videos with Ubuntu.

Quote:
I was trying to see a TV program from my TV provider who has this facility to see all the channels online.
Need to get HDCP working on my browser for viewing TV.
No one was mentioning networking in any thread. You didn't even read the first post.

Last edited by tofino_surfer; 10-14-2019 at 04:48 PM.
 
Old 10-14-2019, 10:26 PM   #13
grevex
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Feb 2019
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Please delete

Last edited by grevex; 10-14-2019 at 10:29 PM. Reason: wrong post
 
Old 10-15-2019, 04:37 AM   #14
aragorn2101
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2012
Location: Mauritius
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 552

Rep: Reputation: 270Reputation: 270Reputation: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by tofino_surfer View Post
No one was mentioning networking in any thread. You didn't even read the first post.
Sorry ashokabs and tofino_surfer. My mistake.
Thanks for the wiki link tofino_surfer. I didn't know HDCP was a thing, really.

All the best.
Cheers.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with HDCP compliance in Ubuntu 18.04 and Mint 19 MrBlond Linux - General 4 08-04-2018 12:46 PM
WTF does HDCP mean for me? StargateSteve Linux - Hardware 4 12-11-2007 07:44 AM
HDCP monitors in Linux Sargek Linux - Hardware 4 08-10-2007 11:47 AM
HDCP implementation in linux Garda General 2 09-19-2005 05:07 AM
hdcp in linux vs windows salahuddin_66 Linux - Networking 2 03-30-2005 10:43 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Laptop and Netbook

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration