LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Debian
User Name
Password
Debian This forum is for the discussion of Debian Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 04-15-2018, 04:08 AM   #1
rerokesaga
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2018
Posts: 6

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Cannot login after kernel upgrade


Hi. I just upgraded from Stretch to Buster. And now when I use kernel 4.15(used in Buster) at login screen when I type login and password it goes to desktop for 1second and then I get kicked back to login screen.
When I use old kernel, that one from Stretch I can login.
DE: XFCE
lightdm.service - Light Display Manager Loaded: loaded (/lib/systemd/system/lightdm.service; indirect; vendor preset:
 
Old 04-15-2018, 04:23 AM   #2
Keruskerfuerst
Senior Member
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Location: Horgau
Distribution: Opensuse 15.0, Kubuntu 18.04, Win 10
Posts: 2,109

Rep: Reputation: 151Reputation: 151
If you update to an unstable version, then misfuntion does occur.
 
Old 04-15-2018, 05:13 AM   #3
rerokesaga
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2018
Posts: 6

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keruskerfuerst View Post
If you update to an unstable version, then misfuntion does occur.
Is there a way to fix it ?
 
Old 04-17-2018, 03:37 AM   #4
Lysander666
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2017
Location: London
Distribution: Slackware 14.2 + Xfce
Posts: 530
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 404Reputation: 404Reputation: 404Reputation: 404Reputation: 404
Moving from Stable to Testing is not an upgrade.

- Testing includes fewer bug fixes than stable and less timely security updates. It changes frequently and though it will break less often than unstable, the chances of complete breakage are still notably more than stable. It is for this reason that moving to testing is not an 'upgrade'.

- The clue to 'testing' is in its name. Its raison d'Ítre is to find fixes for the next stable release.

- Testing will not function as well as stable and is not recommend as a primary system, daily driver or for anyone where productivity is key.

- Testing is the future Debian stable, the future version 10. It is not version 10 yet. Stable is currently 9.4.

- Testing is not a rolling release distribution as some consider it to be, it is a development version.

Please see the below for more information. I strongly recommend you read this post:

http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?p=531279#p531279

and

https://www.debian.org/releases/testing/

Testing still breaks, but just not "as badly" [to quote the Wiki] as unstable

As already stated, breakage does occur in Testing which can sometimes disable your access to the entire system.

Unless you are willing to file bug reports and are using Testing on a secondary/tertiary machine I would move back to Stable.

Last edited by Lysander666; 04-17-2018 at 12:59 PM.
 
Old 04-17-2018, 12:57 PM   #5
m_yates
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Location: Upstate
Distribution: Debian, Mint, Mythbuntu
Posts: 1,241

Rep: Reputation: 77
It would be helpful to know what your video chip set is. You may want to make sure that you have firmware installed:

https://packages.debian.org/buster/f...-linux-nonfree

I am using the 4.15.0-2-amd64 version of the kernel on a laptop with AMD graphics and the lightdm desktop manager, and I do not see the problem you describe. My laptop is running Debian stable with the exception of the linux-image and nonfree firmware taken from sid.
 
Old 04-19-2018, 11:25 PM   #6
AwesomeMachine
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Location: USA and Italy
Distribution: Debian testing/sid; OpenSuSE; Fedora; Mint
Posts: 5,327

Rep: Reputation: 965Reputation: 965Reputation: 965Reputation: 965Reputation: 965Reputation: 965Reputation: 965Reputation: 965
Have a look at /var/log/Xorg.0.log and dmesg.
 
Old 05-05-2018, 09:09 AM   #7
rerokesaga
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2018
Posts: 6

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Logs
 
Old 05-05-2018, 01:30 PM   #8
pan64
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Mar 2012
Location: Hungary
Distribution: debian/ubuntu/suse ...
Posts: 11,141

Rep: Reputation: 3329Reputation: 3329Reputation: 3329Reputation: 3329Reputation: 3329Reputation: 3329Reputation: 3329Reputation: 3329Reputation: 3329Reputation: 3329Reputation: 3329
there are errors in that log, so your X could not be started.
like: (EE) Failed to load module "nv" (module does not exist, 0)
 
Old 05-06-2018, 05:13 AM   #9
rerokesaga
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2018
Posts: 6

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by pan64 View Post
there are errors in that log, so your X could not be started.
like: (EE) Failed to load module "nv" (module does not exist, 0)
That's what I found when I google. So that is what I need to do
Quote:
What counts is what kernel was running when the nvidia module was built, since it was built using the header files for that kernel, and it was installed where that kernel can find it to load. If you're running a different kernel now than you were when you built the nvidia module, you'll have to rebuild the nvidia module and reinstall it.
I use nouveau, I uninstall and install it back and reconfigure, but still I have same problem, can you help me please
 
Old 05-10-2018, 09:39 AM   #10
m_yates
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Location: Upstate
Distribution: Debian, Mint, Mythbuntu
Posts: 1,241

Rep: Reputation: 77
I do not think it is a problem with X, because lightdm is running with the correct display. You might want to take a look at this:

https://www.computersnyou.com/4947

Or you could just try purging and re-installing lightdm to see if that corrects the problem:

Code:
apt-get purge lightdm && sudo apt-get install lightdm
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pulseaudio/Pavucontrol/Sound die after Upgrade/Kernel Upgrade mzsade Linux - Software 0 09-03-2015 02:44 PM
LXer: Linux Kernel 3.19 Has Reached To End With Last Release Kernel 3.19.8, Install/Upgrade Kernel 3 LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 05-15-2015 12:03 AM
How to upgrade kernel in rhel6/centos6 with internet. manually download and upgrade. Gil@LQ Linux - Kernel 3 03-12-2012 05:07 PM
RHEL wouldn't login at console after kernel upgrade bigstinger Linux - General 4 09-13-2006 07:45 AM
"Login Incorrect" after 2.4.22 --> 2.6.1 kernel upgrade changcheh Slackware 12 10-11-2005 07:15 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Debian

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration