LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 07-28-2021, 06:43 AM   #826
USUARIONUEVO
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2015
Posts: 1,713

Rep: Reputation: 558Reputation: 558Reputation: 558Reputation: 558Reputation: 558Reputation: 558

Quote:
Originally Posted by pchristy View Post
Whilst this may fix the specific issue in Slackware, I feel it is still important to patch solid as well. The developer has acknowledged that there is a bug in solid:

Link: https://invent.kde.org/frameworks/so...bfdb79e7d3d1b6
(Scroll to bottom)

There may be other - as yet undiscovered - situations which trigger this crash, so hopefully the patch for solid will also be incorporated into Slackware soon.

In other words, the rc.S patch fixes the specific, the solid patch fixes the generic.

--
Pete
I know the issue very well , im the 1st on report here and point to solid , but we know solid 5.85 arrives fixed and slackware make a better directory organization , then WE HAVE DOUBLE FIX.

Because now we have solid-5.84 thats the version we need fix , and for now its at least usable.

The solid FIX you claim , arrives on 5.85 , wait.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 07-28-2021, 07:24 AM   #827
pchristy
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2012
Location: South Devon, UK
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 747

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Yes indeed, you were the first to point to solid, and it enabled those of us affected to "downgrade" to the earlier version and keep running!

Sorry if your efforts seemed to get over-looked in the ensuing rush to find the fix!



--
Pete
 
Old 07-28-2021, 12:30 PM   #828
bassmadrigal
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: West Jordan, UT, USA
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 8,384

Rep: Reputation: 5992Reputation: 5992Reputation: 5992Reputation: 5992Reputation: 5992Reputation: 5992Reputation: 5992Reputation: 5992Reputation: 5992Reputation: 5992Reputation: 5992
Quote:
Originally Posted by pchristy View Post
Whilst this may fix the specific issue in Slackware, I feel it is still important to patch solid as well. The developer has acknowledged that there is a bug in solid:

Link: https://invent.kde.org/frameworks/so...bfdb79e7d3d1b6
(Scroll to bottom)

There may be other - as yet undiscovered - situations which trigger this crash, so hopefully the patch for solid will also be incorporated into Slackware soon.

In other words, the rc.S patch fixes the specific, the solid patch fixes the generic.
Plasma 5.85 is expected to be released on 14 AUG. So if Pat doesn't decide to add the Solid patch, the updated version should make it to Slackware in around 2.5-3 weeks if Pat sticks to upgrading it within a few days of release.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 07-28-2021, 03:19 PM   #829
Skaendo
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2014
Location: West Texas, USA
Distribution: Slackware64-14.2
Posts: 1,404

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
I've got a stupid question about KDE "Plasma 5".

If you have to update the entire stack (frameworks or plasma, etc), why split kdelibs into separate packages? It just doesn't make sense to me that if the entire thing needs to be updated why have 10000 packages to update instead of just one?

All of them get version bumped at the same time so it's not like there is more actual work going on to any lib that doesn't get any code changes so it turns out to be more actual work and more files to deal with.
 
Old 07-28-2021, 03:31 PM   #830
LuckyCyborg
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,536

Rep: Reputation: 1241Reputation: 1241Reputation: 1241Reputation: 1241Reputation: 1241Reputation: 1241Reputation: 1241Reputation: 1241Reputation: 1241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skaendo View Post
I've got a stupid question about KDE "Plasma 5".

If you have to update the entire stack (frameworks or plasma, etc), why split kdelibs into separate packages? It just doesn't make sense to me that if the entire thing needs to be updated why have 10000 packages to update instead of just one?

All of them get version bumped at the same time so it's not like there is more actual work going on to any lib that doesn't get any code changes so it turns out to be more actual work and more files to deal with.
Probably because all major distributions excluding Slackware uses dependencies resolution and usually they do not install everything like us.

They install just what they need for a particular feature.
 
2 members found this post helpful.
Old 07-28-2021, 03:33 PM   #831
Skaendo
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2014
Location: West Texas, USA
Distribution: Slackware64-14.2
Posts: 1,404

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by LuckyCyborg View Post
Probably because all major distributions excluding Slackware uses dependencies resolution and usually they do not install everything like us.

They install just what they need for a particular feature.
I suppose that makes sense.

However, I don't install KDE but I do install KPatience and it went from installing 3 packages (kpat, kdelibs and libkdegames) to 30 packages. Where is the difference? I don't think that you can install too many programs/applications from KDE without needing at least most of what was in kdelibs.

Last edited by Skaendo; 07-28-2021 at 03:36 PM.
 
Old 07-28-2021, 04:48 PM   #832
bassmadrigal
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: West Jordan, UT, USA
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 8,384

Rep: Reputation: 5992Reputation: 5992Reputation: 5992Reputation: 5992Reputation: 5992Reputation: 5992Reputation: 5992Reputation: 5992Reputation: 5992Reputation: 5992Reputation: 5992
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skaendo View Post
I suppose that makes sense.

However, I don't install KDE but I do install KPatience and it went from installing 3 packages (kpat, kdelibs and libkdegames) to 30 packages. Where is the difference? I don't think that you can install too many programs/applications from KDE without needing at least most of what was in kdelibs.
KDE devs decided to split it up to allow non-KDE software to use specific components of what would've been in kdelibs without needing to introduce a dependency on the whole thing.

When you try and install KDE software without installing all of Plasma5, it will bring in a lot of packages as you've seen, but if someone only wants to use khtml (I don't know why they would, but, it's my example), the required list could potentially be a lot smaller.

My guess is that KDE devs figured the requirement of including kdelibs was high enough that many people wouldn't develop using their libraries unless they knew it was basically a KDE app. This gives outside devs more flexibility to allow them to use some functionality of KDE without bringing in the whole kitchen sink.
 
2 members found this post helpful.
Old 07-28-2021, 05:02 PM   #833
richarson
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2020
Location: Argentina
Distribution: Slackware64-current
Posts: 54

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skaendo View Post
I suppose that makes sense.

However, I don't install KDE but I do install KPatience and it went from installing 3 packages (kpat, kdelibs and libkdegames) to 30 packages. Where is the difference? I don't think that you can install too many programs/applications from KDE without needing at least most of what was in kdelibs.
I don't believe that you need all of the 30 packages just to satisfy kpat's dependencies.

For example, a Kubuntu 20.04 shows these dependencies for kpat:

Code:
Depends: kdegames-card-data-kf5 (>= 4:4.10), kio, libc6 (>= 2.29), libfreecell-solver0, libkf5completion5 (>= 4.97.0), libkf5configcore5 (>= 4.98.0), libkf5configgui5 (>= 4.97.0), libkf5configwidgets5 (>= 4.98.0), libkf5coreaddons5 (>= 5.2.0), libkf5crash5 (>= 5.15.0), libkf5dbusaddons5 (>= 4.97.0), libkf5guiaddons5 (>= 4.96.0), libkf5i18n5 (>= 4.97.0), libkf5kdegames7 (>= 4:19.12.3~), libkf5kiocore5 (>= 5.10.0), libkf5newstuff5 (>= 4.95.0), libkf5widgetsaddons5 (>= 4.96.0), libkf5xmlgui-bin, libkf5xmlgui5 (>= 4.98.0), libqt5core5a (>= 5.12.2), libqt5gui5 (>= 5.9.0~) | libqt5gui5-gles (>= 5.9.0~), libqt5svg5 (>= 5.9.0~), libqt5widgets5 (>= 5.9.0~), libqt5xml5 (>= 5.9.0~), libstdc++6 (>= 4.1.1)
Maybe some of those depencencies also have dependencies.

But then again, if you care about dependencies maybe Slackware is not the right distro for you


Wait, I just remembered that I have installed a tool called sbbdep (https://slackbuilds.org/repository/1...?search=sbbdep), I'm not sure how accurate it is but it reports:

Code:
$ sbbdep $(which kpat)
sync cache /home/richis/sbbdep.cache
cache up to date

check /usr/bin/kpat, 64bit binary
 .. from package kpat-21.04.3-x86_64-1

aaa_glibc-solibs = 2.33-x86_64-2 | glibc = 2.33-x86_64-2
aaa_libraries = 15.0-x86_64-7 | gcc = 10.3.0-x86_64-2
aaa_libraries = 15.0-x86_64-7 | gcc-g++ = 10.3.0-x86_64-2
freecell-solver = 6.2.0-x86_64-3
kauth = 5.84.0-x86_64-1
kcodecs = 5.84.0-x86_64-1
kcompletion = 5.84.0-x86_64-1
kconfig = 5.84.0-x86_64-1
kconfigwidgets = 5.84.0-x86_64-1
kcoreaddons = 5.84.0-x86_64-1
kcrash = 5.84.0-x86_64-1
kdbusaddons = 5.84.0-x86_64-1
kguiaddons = 5.84.0-x86_64-1
ki18n = 5.84.0-x86_64-1
kio = 5.84.0-x86_64-1
kpat = 21.04.3-x86_64-1
kservice = 5.84.0-x86_64-1
kwidgetsaddons = 5.84.0-x86_64-1
kxmlgui = 5.84.0-x86_64-1
libkdegames = 21.04.3-x86_64-1
qt5 = 5.15.2-x86_64-10

Maybe you can trim you package list for kpat after all

Cheers,
 
Old 07-28-2021, 05:05 PM   #834
richarson
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2020
Location: Argentina
Distribution: Slackware64-current
Posts: 54

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by bassmadrigal View Post
KDE devs decided to split it up to allow non-KDE software to use specific components of what would've been in kdelibs without needing to introduce a dependency on the whole thing.

When you try and install KDE software without installing all of Plasma5, it will bring in a lot of packages as you've seen, but if someone only wants to use khtml (I don't know why they would, but, it's my example), the required list could potentially be a lot smaller.

My guess is that KDE devs figured the requirement of including kdelibs was high enough that many people wouldn't develop using their libraries unless they knew it was basically a KDE app. This gives outside devs more flexibility to allow them to use some functionality of KDE without bringing in the whole kitchen sink.
Yes, IIRC the size of kdelibs and co. was the number one complain for not using them in external projects, which derived in the current split and tiers of KF5, but to make the lives of distro packagers a bit easier they still release them as a whole.
 
Old 07-28-2021, 05:08 PM   #835
Skaendo
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2014
Location: West Texas, USA
Distribution: Slackware64-14.2
Posts: 1,404

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by richarson View Post
I don't believe that you need all of the 30 packages just to satisfy kpat's dependencies.

For example, a Kubuntu 20.04 shows these dependencies for kpat:
I literally installed kpat then had to run it from terminal just to figure out what it was asking for.
Quote:
attica karchive kauth kcodecs kcompletion kconfig kconfigwidgets kcoreaddons kcrash kdbusaddons kdeclarative kglobalaccel kguiaddons ki18n kiconthemes kio kitemviews kjobwidgets knewstuff kpackage kpat kservice ktextwidgets kwidgetsaddons kwindowsystem kxmlgui libkdegames solid sonnet syndication
I'm not really complaining or anything, I can figure it out as I did. I'm just trying to figure out why they split kdelibs. I don't know too many projects that use KDE libraries. I know that LXQt does, but with the new and improved Qt license who would want to develop on KDE/Qt. Don't get me wrong, GTK is a mess as well now with CSD so the whole system looks like a cobbled together mess.

Last edited by Skaendo; 07-28-2021 at 05:10 PM.
 
Old 07-28-2021, 06:09 PM   #836
bassmadrigal
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: West Jordan, UT, USA
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 8,384

Rep: Reputation: 5992Reputation: 5992Reputation: 5992Reputation: 5992Reputation: 5992Reputation: 5992Reputation: 5992Reputation: 5992Reputation: 5992Reputation: 5992Reputation: 5992
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skaendo View Post
I don't know too many projects that use KDE libraries.
This is probably a big reason they decided to split it. People weren't using KDE libraries because the footprint was too big when they had to require all of kdelibs.

It is likely their hope that more people will start using KDE libraries now that they're much smaller and may not pull in nearly as many dependencies.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 07-31-2021, 03:20 PM   #837
cwizardone
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Distribution: Slackware64-current with "True Multilib."
Posts: 6,698

Original Poster
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 4087Reputation: 4087Reputation: 4087Reputation: 4087Reputation: 4087Reputation: 4087Reputation: 4087Reputation: 4087Reputation: 4087Reputation: 4087Reputation: 4087
The last week's new features, bug fixes and performance improvements,
Quote:
We made a big improvement to Plasma’s high DPI support on X11 this week!......
https://pointieststick.com/2021/07/3...-hidpi-on-x11/
 
Old 07-31-2021, 04:07 PM   #838
enorbet
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Location: Virginia
Distribution: Slackware = Main OpSys
Posts: 3,718

Rep: Reputation: 3544Reputation: 3544Reputation: 3544Reputation: 3544Reputation: 3544Reputation: 3544Reputation: 3544Reputation: 3544Reputation: 3544Reputation: 3544Reputation: 3544
Thanks for the link, cwizardone. It was really good to see the noted improvement in the weather widget configuration... much better.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] slackware 14.2 x86_64 plasma 5 installation. when I run "xwmconfig", "xinitrc.plasma" is not listed as an option? rockinroyle Slackware 9 07-31-2016 03:42 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration