LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking
User Name
Password
Linux - Networking This forum is for any issue related to networks or networking.
Routing, network cards, OSI, etc. Anything is fair game.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 07-21-2021, 10:03 PM   #1
fogbat
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2013
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Unhappy Possible "="/"==" bug in rc.inet1?


I am running Slackware64-current and trying adjust my rc.inet1.conf to include a bridge for containers, but have yet to be successful.

Trying to understand the operation of rc.inet1, I set DEBUG_ETH_UP="yes" in inet1.conf, but, could not find debugging output in any message log.

Reading rc.inet1, I find the debug_log() function tests DEBUG_ETH_UP with a statement phrase:

if [ "$DEBUG_ETH_UP" = "yes" ]; then ...

When I change the test phrase to:

if [ "$DEBUG_ETH_UP" == "yes" ]; then ...

the debugging output is successfully found in /var/log/messages.

I see in man bash that both = and == should compare the strings "$DEBUG_ETH_UP" and "yes" for equality, with a single = being preferred for POSIX environment.

The last change log entry for rc.inet1 was Oct 13 2019, so I'm thinking this should be an old and fixed issue.

Could someone please help me understand what is happening?
 
Old 07-22-2021, 08:13 AM   #2
smallpond
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2011
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Distribution: Fedora 33
Posts: 3,608

Rep: Reputation: 1031Reputation: 1031Reputation: 1031Reputation: 1031Reputation: 1031Reputation: 1031Reputation: 1031Reputation: 1031
I suspect you are attributing to the change what was done by some other order of operations or network restart. The two really are equivalent.
 
Old 07-23-2021, 01:33 PM   #3
fogbat
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2013
Posts: 2

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Thank you for your response. I made a small bash script and confirmed that = and == are equivalent. At this point I am not able to recreate the original problem. Please consider this thread closed.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] 64-current vanilla, possible bug in inet1 script/programs ? Linux.tar.gz Slackware 8 05-21-2021 08:08 AM
duplicate/backup init files - i.e. rc.inet1 and rc.inet1.orig krakanut Slackware 3 08-07-2020 02:45 PM
Modifications to rc.inet1, rc.inet1.conf and rc.wireless hba Slackware 1 12-07-2014 03:57 AM
[SOLVED] Having internet with USE_DHCP="" in rc.inet1.conf possible? stf92 Slackware 48 02-23-2013 04:35 PM
rc.inet1 and rc.inet1.conf edafe Slackware 0 02-16-2005 09:51 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration