LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking
User Name
Password
Linux - Networking This forum is for any issue related to networks or networking.
Routing, network cards, OSI, etc. Anything is fair game.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 09-16-2020, 07:14 AM   #1
berndbausch
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Nov 2013
Location: Tokyo
Distribution: A few
Posts: 5,324

Rep: Reputation: 1602Reputation: 1602Reputation: 1602Reputation: 1602Reputation: 1602Reputation: 1602Reputation: 1602Reputation: 1602Reputation: 1602Reputation: 1602Reputation: 1602
nmcli: Can't set device to "managed"


I have just installed Debian Buster on a workstation and have the time of my life configuring the network. The installation comes with NetworkManager by default. I want to run VMs on it and need a bridge that includes the NIC named eno1. For now, I would be happy to just connect eno1 to my network.

However, nmcli refuses to manage the interface.

Code:
$ nmcli device
DEVICE  TYPE       STATE      CONNECTION
eno1    ethernet   unmanaged  --
lo      loopback   unmanaged  --
$ sudo nmcli dev set eno1 managed yes
$ nmcli device
DEVICE  TYPE       STATE      CONNECTION
eno1    ethernet   unmanaged  --
lo      loopback   unmanaged  --
In /var/log/syslog, the following is printed:
Code:
NetworkManager[600]: <info> [1600257554.8363] audit: op="device-managed" arg="managed" pid=1662 uid=0 result="success"
Rebooting doesn't help.

Any suggestions where to look for more information and how to fix this?
 
Old 09-16-2020, 09:23 AM   #2
michaelk
Moderator
 
Registered: Aug 2002
Posts: 20,406

Rep: Reputation: 3551Reputation: 3551Reputation: 3551Reputation: 3551Reputation: 3551Reputation: 3551Reputation: 3551Reputation: 3551Reputation: 3551Reputation: 3551Reputation: 3551
Are you running a desktop? If so did you check the applet to see if it is enabled etc?

I'm running Buster in a VM but the network was automatically configured and didn't have to change anything.

Did you manually make any changes to some configuration file?

https://wiki.debian.org/NetworkManager
 
Old 09-16-2020, 09:42 AM   #3
berndbausch
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Nov 2013
Location: Tokyo
Distribution: A few
Posts: 5,324

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 1602Reputation: 1602Reputation: 1602Reputation: 1602Reputation: 1602Reputation: 1602Reputation: 1602Reputation: 1602Reputation: 1602Reputation: 1602Reputation: 1602
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelk View Post
Are you running a desktop? If so did you check the applet to see if it is enabled etc?
It's a desktop on a PC (not a VM), and the applet says "unmanaged".

Quote:
Did you manually make any changes to some configuration file?

https://wiki.debian.org/NetworkManager
Probably. I can't check this right now, but I will probably report a big facepalm in a few hours.
 
Old 09-17-2020, 03:19 AM   #4
berndbausch
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Nov 2013
Location: Tokyo
Distribution: A few
Posts: 5,324

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 1602Reputation: 1602Reputation: 1602Reputation: 1602Reputation: 1602Reputation: 1602Reputation: 1602Reputation: 1602Reputation: 1602Reputation: 1602Reputation: 1602
As promised, here is my facepalm. Indeed, eno1 was in an interfaces.d file. I should have known this. Thanks for directing me to the solution.
 
Old 09-17-2020, 04:33 AM   #5
michaelk
Moderator
 
Registered: Aug 2002
Posts: 20,406

Rep: Reputation: 3551Reputation: 3551Reputation: 3551Reputation: 3551Reputation: 3551Reputation: 3551Reputation: 3551Reputation: 3551Reputation: 3551Reputation: 3551Reputation: 3551
Just a SWAG...
 
  


Reply

Tags
networkmanager


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Vmnet adapters are shown as "device not managed". There are two adapters vmnet1 and vmnet8 which are all not managed. kats99 Linux - Networking 4 11-01-2019 01:42 AM
nmcli device eth1 "unavailable" DerMinze Linux - Networking 7 10-08-2015 05:55 PM
Can't set up ethernet on eth1 using nmcli DerMinze Linux - Networking 3 10-06-2015 05:22 PM
"nmcli con" failed "Can't obtain connections: settings service is not running." parcox Slackware 2 08-14-2012 04:26 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration