LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Ubuntu
User Name
Password
Ubuntu This forum is for the discussion of Ubuntu Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 08-06-2017, 01:31 PM   #1
Fred33435
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2017
Posts: 27

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Desktop right click


When I right click on desktop, the window comes comes down. I click on new folder & window goes off & all icons are not working. Use 17.04.
 
Old 08-06-2017, 03:11 PM   #2
hydrurga
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2008
Location: Pictland
Distribution: Linux Mint 18.2 MATE
Posts: 3,491
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 1196Reputation: 1196Reputation: 1196Reputation: 1196Reputation: 1196Reputation: 1196Reputation: 1196Reputation: 1196Reputation: 1196
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred33435 View Post
When I right click on desktop, the window comes comes down. I click on new folder & window goes off & all icons are not working. Use 17.04.
Which desktop environment are you using, and what do you mean by "not working"?

Could you take one or two screenshots to illustrate what is happening and post them here please?
 
Old 08-07-2017, 06:55 PM   #3
Fred33435
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2017
Posts: 27

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
I can't take a screen shot of the drop down window. When I click on screen shot the drop down window disappears. Took screen shot of desktop, but can't get it show here. In the drop down window -New folder, select all, keep aligned, organized desktop by name, change background and open terminal. When I click on new folder drop down window goes off and nothing happens, except none of the icons on the desktop work, click on them nothing. They work in the file cabinet. When I click "organized desktop by name" all the icons disappear. Don't know what yo mean when asked, Which desktop environment are you using? I have Linux 17.04. Thanks
 
Old 08-07-2017, 07:14 PM   #4
hydrurga
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2008
Location: Pictland
Distribution: Linux Mint 18.2 MATE
Posts: 3,491
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 1196Reputation: 1196Reputation: 1196Reputation: 1196Reputation: 1196Reputation: 1196Reputation: 1196Reputation: 1196Reputation: 1196
Ok, for future reference your desktop environment will most likely be Unity since you're using Ubuntu 17.04.

For info, there should be a key combination available for taking a screenshot which will not affect anything on screen. It will depend on which screenshot program you are using.

From your description, you're not seeing the little modal window that opens up which allows you to enter the new folder name. When that window is displayed, you can't click on any of the desktop icons.

Hitting the Esc key at this point should close that modal window and take you back to the normal desktop.

However, can you please try it again and this time, even though you don't see anything, enter a few characters e.g. aaaa and then hit the Enter key. I would be interested to see whether this goes ahead with the creation of a new folder even though the modal window appears to be invisible to you.

Last edited by hydrurga; 08-07-2017 at 07:16 PM.
 
Old 08-07-2017, 07:47 PM   #5
Fred33435
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2017
Posts: 27

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Right click

Rebooted the system, keep clicking esc key, till the drop down window came on. Went to recovery and now all works in the drop down window Thank you all for you help.
 
Old 08-07-2017, 08:06 PM   #6
hydrurga
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2008
Location: Pictland
Distribution: Linux Mint 18.2 MATE
Posts: 3,491
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 1196Reputation: 1196Reputation: 1196Reputation: 1196Reputation: 1196Reputation: 1196Reputation: 1196Reputation: 1196Reputation: 1196
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred33435 View Post
Rebooted the system, keep clicking esc key, till the drop down window came on. Went to recovery and now all works in the drop down window Thank you all for you help.
Ok. I'm not quite sure how you recovered the situation (you must be a natural!) but great to hear that now all is ok.
 
Old 08-09-2017, 07:22 PM   #7
Fred33435
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2017
Posts: 27

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Far from a natural. I try to research as much as possible. I'm not good I'm tenacious and retired. Get a lot of feed back and it's great. I go to so many that I forget which ones have give advice. I now have another question up for libre not scanning a document into the computer. Next will one will be why I can't load GDEBI. To add open office if I can't get Libre to work. And browsers to load. Yes. Again I rebooted the computer hitting ESC drop down window has recovery and it made the drop down window on the desktop work in right click. Thanks everyone and I works as well as helps someone else having this problem on the desktop. P.S. It took me 6 weeks to get 17.04 in the computer. Changing bios to legacy. F10 wouldn't work sometimes had to use a unbunto 9.10. Which is a CD from them. I couldn't upgrade, had to download 17.04 to a CD. USB wouldn't work either. As you see, been at this since April.

Last edited by Fred33435; 08-09-2017 at 09:34 PM. Reason: Adding
 
Old 08-10-2017, 02:49 AM   #8
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 6,785
Blog Entries: 3

Rep: Reputation: 1629Reputation: 1629Reputation: 1629Reputation: 1629Reputation: 1629Reputation: 1629Reputation: 1629Reputation: 1629Reputation: 1629Reputation: 1629Reputation: 1629
dear fred,
please consider using only ubuntu long-term releases:
https://wiki.ubuntu.com/Releases
as you can see, 17.04, which is NOT a long-term-release (LTS) will go end-of-life (EOL) in half a year -
whereas 16.04.3 LTS (which you really should have installed) will go EOL in 2021.

i also have the vague impression that your hardware is a little dated, and maybe the bloated ubuntu desktop is simply too much for it?
you could confirm by posting the output from this command:
Code:
lspci -k
hydrurga:
does 17.04 still use unity? i'm not so sure.
 
Old 08-10-2017, 04:50 AM   #9
hydrurga
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2008
Location: Pictland
Distribution: Linux Mint 18.2 MATE
Posts: 3,491
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 1196Reputation: 1196Reputation: 1196Reputation: 1196Reputation: 1196Reputation: 1196Reputation: 1196Reputation: 1196Reputation: 1196
Quote:
Originally Posted by ondoho View Post
hydrurga:
does 17.04 still use unity? i'm not so sure.
Gnome was originally slated for 18.04 but has now taken over as the default desktop in the 17.10 daily builds.

http://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2017/04/u...ktop-not-unity

http://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2017/06/u...y-builds-gnome
 
Old 08-10-2017, 04:24 PM   #10
Fred33435
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2017
Posts: 27

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
I have tried to use 14.04, mint and kali. Could not get any to install. I believe windows has done something to the bios. At times could not get to bios using F10. Just installed wine, does not work. I been working on this since April

lspci -k

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Skylake Host Bridge/DRAM Registers (rev 07)
Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Skylake Host Bridge/DRAM Registers
Kernel driver in use: skl_uncore
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation HD Graphics 530 (rev 06)
DeviceName: Onboard IGD
Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company HD Graphics 530
Kernel driver in use: i915
Kernel modules: i915
00:08.0 System peripheral: Intel Corporation Skylake Gaussian Mixture Model
Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Skylake Gaussian Mixture Model
00:14.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-H USB 3.0 xHCI Controller (rev 31)
Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Sunrise Point-H USB 3.0 xHCI Controller
Kernel driver in use: xhci_hcd
00:15.0 Signal processing controller: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-H Serial IO I2C Controller #0 (rev 31)
Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Sunrise Point-H Serial IO I2C Controller
Kernel driver in use: intel-lpss
Kernel modules: intel_lpss_pci
00:15.1 Signal processing controller: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-H Serial IO I2C Controller #1 (rev 31)
Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Sunrise Point-H Serial IO I2C Controller
Kernel driver in use: intel-lpss
Kernel modules: intel_lpss_pci
00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-H CSME HECI #1 (rev 31)
Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Sunrise Point-H CSME HECI
Kernel driver in use: mei_me
Kernel modules: mei_me
00:17.0 SATA controller: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-H SATA controller [AHCI mode] (rev 31)
Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Sunrise Point-H SATA controller [AHCI mode]
Kernel driver in use: ahci
Kernel modules: ahci
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-H PCI Express Root Port #5 (rev f1)
Kernel driver in use: pcieport
Kernel modules: shpchp
00:1d.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-H PCI Express Root Port #15 (rev f1)
Kernel driver in use: pcieport
Kernel modules: shpchp
00:1e.0 Signal processing controller: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-H Serial IO UART #0 (rev 31)
Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Sunrise Point-H Serial IO UART
Kernel driver in use: intel-lpss
Kernel modules: intel_lpss_pci
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-H LPC Controller (rev 31)
Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Sunrise Point-H LPC Controller
00:1f.2 Memory controller: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-H PMC (rev 31)
Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Sunrise Point-H PMC
00:1f.3 Audio device: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-H HD Audio (rev 31)
Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Sunrise Point-H HD Audio
Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
Kernel modules: snd_hda_intel
00:1f.4 SMBus: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-H SMBus (rev 31)
Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Sunrise Point-H SMBus
Kernel modules: i2c_i801
01:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 10)
Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
Kernel driver in use: r8169
Kernel modules: r8169
02:00.0 Network controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8723BE PCIe Wireless Network Adapter
Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company RTL8723BE PCIe Wireless Network Adapter
Kernel driver in use: rtl8723be
Kernel modules: rtl8723be

Last edited by Fred33435; 08-10-2017 at 04:33 PM. Reason: Adding
 
Old 08-12-2017, 02:00 AM   #11
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 6,785
Blog Entries: 3

Rep: Reputation: 1629Reputation: 1629Reputation: 1629Reputation: 1629Reputation: 1629Reputation: 1629Reputation: 1629Reputation: 1629Reputation: 1629Reputation: 1629Reputation: 1629
no, your hardware is not too old.

the gpu in question was launched in August 2015, afaics.

linux needs a while to catch up with hardware, safe to say that 1 year after launch the kernel should have caught up with it.
That's what you have to base your distro choice on (somewhat contrary to my previous advice).

if that doesn't help, sorry.
you have only one gpu in there, intel is still well supported under linux (you might need some non-free firmware though) -

why is this marked SOLVED?
 
Old 08-14-2017, 08:48 AM   #12
Fred33435
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2017
Posts: 27

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by ondoho View Post
dear fred,
please consider using only ubuntu long-term releases:
https://wiki.ubuntu.com/Releases
as you can see, 17.04, which is NOT a long-term-release (LTS) will go end-of-life (EOL) in half a year -
whereas 16.04.3 LTS (which you really should have installed) will go EOL in 2021.

i also have the vague impression that your hardware is a little dated, and maybe the bloated ubuntu desktop is simply too much for it?
you could confirm by posting the output from this command:
Code:
lspci -k
hydrurga:
does 17.04 still use unity? i'm not so sure.

fred@fred-260-p026:~$ ls -l /dev/bus/usb/001/006
ls: cannot access '/dev/bus/usb/001/006': No such file or directory
fred@fred-260-p026:~$ lspci -k
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Skylake Host Bridge/DRAM Registers (rev 07)
Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Skylake Host Bridge/DRAM Registers
Kernel driver in use: skl_uncore
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation HD Graphics 530 (rev 06)
DeviceName: Onboard IGD
Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company HD Graphics 530
Kernel driver in use: i915
Kernel modules: i915
00:08.0 System peripheral: Intel Corporation Skylake Gaussian Mixture Model
Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Skylake Gaussian Mixture Model
00:14.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-H USB 3.0 xHCI Controller (rev 31)
Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Sunrise Point-H USB 3.0 xHCI Controller
Kernel driver in use: xhci_hcd
00:15.0 Signal processing controller: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-H Serial IO I2C Controller #0 (rev 31)
Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Sunrise Point-H Serial IO I2C Controller
Kernel driver in use: intel-lpss
Kernel modules: intel_lpss_pci
00:15.1 Signal processing controller: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-H Serial IO I2C Controller #1 (rev 31)
Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Sunrise Point-H Serial IO I2C Controller
Kernel driver in use: intel-lpss
Kernel modules: intel_lpss_pci
00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-H CSME HECI #1 (rev 31)
Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Sunrise Point-H CSME HECI
 
Old 08-14-2017, 08:51 AM   #13
Fred33435
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2017
Posts: 27

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Rebooted system hitting the ESC key gave me a drop down window with a recovery option. Click on recovery and the right click works in desktop. Thanks everyone
 
Old 08-16-2017, 02:09 AM   #14
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 6,785
Blog Entries: 3

Rep: Reputation: 1629Reputation: 1629Reputation: 1629Reputation: 1629Reputation: 1629Reputation: 1629Reputation: 1629Reputation: 1629Reputation: 1629Reputation: 1629Reputation: 1629
Intel Corporation HD Graphics 530

- ok, i have a feeling of dejavu now.

are you one of those people that post the same question on multiple forums?
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer detecting right-click as left-click, left-click as left-click and middle with 2 fingers pressed as right-click Festerdam Linux - Newbie 5 06-19-2017 06:41 PM
How to configure desktop context menu (right-click on desktop) JeffBuckles SUSE / openSUSE 6 03-23-2017 04:56 AM
Edit Desktop Menu (right-click on desktop) checkmate3001 Debian 1 08-26-2008 10:35 AM
left click on kubuntu desktop (on laptop) brings up middle click menu =S darksmiley Ubuntu 2 06-14-2008 06:37 PM
KDE Gnome Desktop Menu Edits (right click on desktop) jdier Linux - Software 11 08-03-2006 06:05 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Ubuntu

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration