LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Desktop
User Name
Password
Linux - Desktop This forum is for the discussion of all Linux Software used in a desktop context.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 02-22-2021, 05:46 AM   #1
hazel
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Mar 2016
Location: Harrow, UK
Distribution: LFS, AntiX, Slackware
Posts: 5,179
Blog Entries: 14

Rep: Reputation: 2995Reputation: 2995Reputation: 2995Reputation: 2995Reputation: 2995Reputation: 2995Reputation: 2995Reputation: 2995Reputation: 2995Reputation: 2995Reputation: 2995
Something weird just happened to my fluxbox display. Any explanations?


I've used fluxbox for years and this is the first time I've seen anything like this. It started with a blocky distortion in the digital clock which I have on the right side of my panel.Then the captions on the taskbar became distorted. Each time I changed them by switching windows it got worse. So I exited fluxbox. By this time the fluxbox menu was affected too but I didn't see anything odd inside any of the windows. When I typed startx again, everything came up normal.

Hopefully it won't happen again but I'd be interested to know the mechanism. If it's an X thing, why did it only affect the window manager and not any of the other programs?

PS: now that I come to think about it, I once saw something rather similar after an AntiX dist-upgrade. I had Conky on my desktop and it started blocking out like that. Anticapitalista provided something that fixed it but I've forgotton what it was.

Last edited by hazel; 02-22-2021 at 05:50 AM. Reason: Added PS
 
Old 02-22-2021, 11:13 AM   #2
rokytnji
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Location: Waaaaay out West Texas
Distribution: AntiX 19
Posts: 6,287
Blog Entries: 21

Rep: Reputation: 3142Reputation: 3142Reputation: 3142Reputation: 3142Reputation: 3142Reputation: 3142Reputation: 3142Reputation: 3142Reputation: 3142Reputation: 3142Reputation: 3142
Yeah. I kinda remember the 2 conky instance on startup thread.

Just wondering myself if antique video chip is getting long in tooth.

Code:
  inxi -G
what are you running? Company driver? Vesa ?
Dist-upgrade done recently? Maybe causing this with a different upgraded Xorg?
 
Old 02-22-2021, 11:16 AM   #3
hazel
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Mar 2016
Location: Harrow, UK
Distribution: LFS, AntiX, Slackware
Posts: 5,179

Original Poster
Blog Entries: 14

Rep: Reputation: 2995Reputation: 2995Reputation: 2995Reputation: 2995Reputation: 2995Reputation: 2995Reputation: 2995Reputation: 2995Reputation: 2995Reputation: 2995Reputation: 2995
This is Slackware, remember! Rock solid, not many upgrades. I don't have inxi installed but the graphics are intel, cpu with built-in video.
 
Old 02-22-2021, 04:15 PM   #4
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 16,858
Blog Entries: 10

Rep: Reputation: 5012Reputation: 5012Reputation: 5012Reputation: 5012Reputation: 5012Reputation: 5012Reputation: 5012Reputation: 5012Reputation: 5012Reputation: 5012Reputation: 5012
Quote:
Originally Posted by hazel View Post
I don't have inxi installed
Is lspci installed?
Code:
lspci -k
could shed some light.
 
Old 02-23-2021, 04:58 AM   #5
hazel
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Mar 2016
Location: Harrow, UK
Distribution: LFS, AntiX, Slackware
Posts: 5,179

Original Poster
Blog Entries: 14

Rep: Reputation: 2995Reputation: 2995Reputation: 2995Reputation: 2995Reputation: 2995Reputation: 2995Reputation: 2995Reputation: 2995Reputation: 2995Reputation: 2995Reputation: 2995
Code:
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Atom Processor Z36xxx/Z37xxx Series SoC Transaction Register (rev 0e)
        Subsystem: Lenovo Atom Processor Z36xxx/Z37xxx Series SoC Transaction Register
        Kernel driver in use: iosf_mbi_pci
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Atom Processor Z36xxx/Z37xxx Series Graphics & Display (rev 0e)
        Subsystem: Lenovo Atom Processor Z36xxx/Z37xxx Series Graphics & Display
        Kernel driver in use: i915
        Kernel modules: i915
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Atom Processor E3800 Series PCI Express Root Port 1 (rev 0e)
        Kernel driver in use: pcieport00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation Atom Processor Z36xxx/Z37xxx Series Power Control Unit (rev 0e)
        Subsystem: Lenovo Atom Processor Z36xxx/Z37xxx Series Power Control Unit
        Kernel driver in use: lpc_ich
        Kernel modules: lpc_ich
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation Atom Processor E3800 Series SMBus Controller (rev 0e)
        Subsystem: Lenovo Atom Processor E3800 Series SMBus Controller
        Kernel driver in use: i801_smbus
        Kernel modules: i2c_i801
I've edited that a bit so it's graphics and buses only. I assume the disk and network controllers aren't relevant here.

Last edited by hazel; 02-23-2021 at 05:07 AM.
 
Old 02-23-2021, 09:26 PM   #6
frankbell
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Virginia, USA
Distribution: Slackware, Ubuntu MATE, Mageia, and whatever VMs I happen to be playing with
Posts: 17,066
Blog Entries: 27

Rep: Reputation: 5230Reputation: 5230Reputation: 5230Reputation: 5230Reputation: 5230Reputation: 5230Reputation: 5230Reputation: 5230Reputation: 5230Reputation: 5230Reputation: 5230
Have you looked in the log files? I'd start with the Xorg logs.

Frankly, I wouldn't be optimistic, but it's worth a shot.
 
Old 02-24-2021, 05:58 AM   #7
hazel
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Mar 2016
Location: Harrow, UK
Distribution: LFS, AntiX, Slackware
Posts: 5,179

Original Poster
Blog Entries: 14

Rep: Reputation: 2995Reputation: 2995Reputation: 2995Reputation: 2995Reputation: 2995Reputation: 2995Reputation: 2995Reputation: 2995Reputation: 2995Reputation: 2995Reputation: 2995
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankbell View Post
Have you looked in the log files? I'd start with the Xorg logs.
Now that would have been a thought! But it's much too late now because the Xorg log isn't cumulative and I've had more than two boots since then.

It hasn't happened again but if it ever does, I'll remember to check the Xorg log.
 
Old 02-24-2021, 04:13 PM   #8
jefro
Moderator
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Posts: 20,540

Rep: Reputation: 3299Reputation: 3299Reputation: 3299Reputation: 3299Reputation: 3299Reputation: 3299Reputation: 3299Reputation: 3299Reputation: 3299Reputation: 3299Reputation: 3299
Video failing is my guess but could be almost anything.
 
Old 02-24-2021, 04:18 PM   #9
Emerson
LQ Sage
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana
Distribution: Gentoo ~arch
Posts: 6,679

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Video memory is a region in main memory in case of Intel integrated video, can be replaced if needed.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Something depends on something else but something else is to be installed javascriptninja Linux - Newbie 3 02-05-2012 05:22 PM
Something happened, and now my dual-monitors display the exact same thing baldurpet Linux - Desktop 2 02-26-2009 06:23 PM
Explanations for Networking and users permissions in Red Hat 9 marinovedder Linux - Networking 1 01-08-2004 07:44 PM
Possible explanations for error code 43 with efax jpfox Linux - Software 0 10-29-2003 10:13 AM
Sourceforge ranking explanations. liguorir Linux - Software 0 07-21-2003 10:32 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Desktop

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:36 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration