LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software
User Name
Password
Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 09-20-2019, 03:11 PM   #46
davide445
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2018
Distribution: KDE Neon
Posts: 73

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 1

Giving my reasoning bring me in this situation, there isn't so much to be confident of.
In fact I was overrating my ability to deal with this.
I doubt will be able to overcome alone this problem, really a pity being my only (and first) working Linux installation, with many activities planned on.
Will try at my best.
 
Old 09-20-2019, 03:14 PM   #47
Timothy Miller
Moderator
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Arizona, USA
Distribution: Debian, KDE Neon, Arch, Void
Posts: 3,157

Rep: Reputation: 978Reputation: 978Reputation: 978Reputation: 978Reputation: 978Reputation: 978Reputation: 978Reputation: 978
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firerat View Post
If I'm expecting trouble , or in it
I just purge Xorg, autoremove
gets everything out of the way

but I noticed rc on Xorg here

To be fair, that's what I did recommend, only KDE instead of full xorg.


Quote:
Originally Posted by davide445 View Post
Giving my reasoning bring me in this situation, there isn't so much to be confident of.
In fact I was overrating my ability to deal with this.
I doubt will be able to overcome alone this problem, really a pity being my only (and first) working Linux installation, with many activities planned on.
Will try at my best.

So, there's actually mutiple ways to fix this at this point. I'm a fan of large, blunt objects, ergo my answers generally aren't pretty, but rather blunt and brutal...


Code:
dpkg -l | grep 'k3b' | awk '{print $2}' | xargs dpkg --remove --force-deps
apt install -f
Basically at this point get rid of whatever is stopping apt install -f from completing cleanly. Once apt install -f reports that all is well on the installed front, then you can install the neon-desktop, reboot, and then reinstall whatever KDE apps you're missing that you want.

Last edited by Timothy Miller; 09-20-2019 at 03:16 PM.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 09-20-2019, 03:26 PM   #48
Firerat
Senior Member
 
Registered: Oct 2008
Distribution: Debian sid
Posts: 2,467

Rep: Reputation: 682Reputation: 682Reputation: 682Reputation: 682Reputation: 682Reputation: 682
always looks odd to me like that

Code:
dpkg -l | awk '/k3b/{print $2}'
and if I like what I see

Code:
sudo aptitude remove $( dpkg -l | awk '/k3b/{print $2}' )
but most of the time it is just plain old apt I use, if that fails I go with aptitude

I usually use something like that to clean residual configs

Code:
sudo apt purge $( dpkg -l | awk '/^rc/{print $2}' )
 
Old 09-20-2019, 03:28 PM   #49
davide445
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2018
Distribution: KDE Neon
Posts: 73

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 1
Ok all the process finished appear without previous errors, rebooted, Info Center state I'm now on Neon 5.16.
But even if state there are updates as soon tried to fetch them Discover crashes:

Quote:
Executable: plasma-discover PID: 6.147 Signal: Segmentation fault (11) Time: 20/09/19 22:25:10
Discover error

The only error in previous process was a missing firmware on Vega20 GPU, that I didn't have.

Last edited by davide445; 09-20-2019 at 03:35 PM.
 
Old 09-20-2019, 03:31 PM   #50
Timothy Miller
Moderator
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Arizona, USA
Distribution: Debian, KDE Neon, Arch, Void
Posts: 3,157

Rep: Reputation: 978Reputation: 978Reputation: 978Reputation: 978Reputation: 978Reputation: 978Reputation: 978Reputation: 978
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firerat View Post
always looks odd to me like that

Code:
dpkg -l | awk '/k3b/{print $2}'
and if I like what I see

Code:
sudo aptitude remove $( dpkg -l | awk '/k3b/{print $2}' )
but most of the time it is just plain old apt I use, if that fails I go with aptitude

I usually use something like that to clean residual configs

Code:
sudo apt purge $( dpkg -l | awk '/^rc/{print $2}' )

I don't really use awk enough to remember how to do the search and print column in 1 command. and it's easier to pipe than constantly be "man awk".


The reason for using dpkg is that in the state he had his machine, it's often simpler (IMO) to use dpkg instead of apt because apt & aptitude will puke too often due to issues, whereas dpkg allows you to sledgehammer through issues with less resistance. I also personally dislike aptitude, so never use it or even have it installed. I don't mind getting a little violent with dpkg.

Quote:
Originally Posted by davide445 View Post
Ok all the process finished appear without previous errors, rebooted, Info Center state I'm now on Neon 5.16.
But even if state there are updates as soon tried to fetch them Discover crashes:





The only error in previous process was a missing firmware on Vega20 GPU, that I didn't have.
So, anything dealing with plasma-discover is totally beyond my wheelhouse. It's literally the first thing I uninstall after installing Neon, or KDE on any OS, for that matter.

Last edited by Timothy Miller; 09-20-2019 at 03:35 PM.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 09-20-2019, 03:39 PM   #51
Firerat
Senior Member
 
Registered: Oct 2008
Distribution: Debian sid
Posts: 2,467

Rep: Reputation: 682Reputation: 682Reputation: 682Reputation: 682Reputation: 682Reputation: 682
yeap
apt < aptitude < dpkg
routine , a bashing , nuke
 
Old 09-20-2019, 03:40 PM   #52
Firerat
Senior Member
 
Registered: Oct 2008
Distribution: Debian sid
Posts: 2,467

Rep: Reputation: 682Reputation: 682Reputation: 682Reputation: 682Reputation: 682Reputation: 682
ah, yeah,,,

I forgot about that

apparently it is a recent bug
 
Old 09-20-2019, 03:40 PM   #53
davide445
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2018
Distribution: KDE Neon
Posts: 73

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 1
Timothy thanks so much for your help, no world enough to.
Firerat tanks for your support also, nice to know there are many people interested to help.
In fact I have maintained all the app already installed, so my system is in previous state just on Neon.
Need only to track this problem, just to know what did you use to manage updates?
Btw need I to disable Kubuntu standard updates?

Attempting to update by CLI

Quote:
sudo apt-get update
Get:1 file:/var/cuda-repo-9-0-local InRelease
Ign:1 file:/var/cuda-repo-9-0-local InRelease
Get:2 file:/var/cuda-repo-9-0-local Release [574 B]
Get:2 file:/var/cuda-repo-9-0-local Release [574 B]
Hit:4 http://it.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu bionic InRelease
Hit:5 http://ppa.launchpad.net/kubuntu-ppa/backports/ubuntu bionic InRelease
Get:6 http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu bionic-security InRelease [88,7 kB]
Ign:7 http://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/deb stable InRelease
Hit:8 http://it.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu bionic-updates InRelease
Hit:9 http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu bionic InRelease
Hit:10 http://it.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu bionic-backports InRelease
Hit:11 http://ppa.launchpad.net/yannubuntu/boot-repair/ubuntu bionic InRelease
Hit:12 http://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/deb stable Release
Ign:13 http://developer.download.nvidia.com...ntu1804/x86_64 InRelease
Hit:14 http://developer.download.nvidia.com...ntu1804/x86_64 Release
Hit:15 https://download.docker.com/linux/ubuntu bionic InRelease
Get:16 http://archive.neon.kde.org/user bionic InRelease [153 kB]
Fetched 242 kB in 1s (206 kB/s)
appstreamcli: symbol lookup error: appstreamcli: undefined symbol: AS_APPSTREAM_METADATA_PATHS
Reading package lists... Done
E: Problem executing scripts APT::Update::Post-Invoke-Success 'if /usr/bin/test -w /var/cache/app-info -a -e /usr/bin/appstreamcli; then appstreamcli refresh-cache > /dev/null; fi'
E: Sub-process returned an error code
There are a lot of repositories, maybe I didn't need all of them.

Last edited by davide445; 09-20-2019 at 03:47 PM.
 
Old 09-20-2019, 03:43 PM   #54
Timothy Miller
Moderator
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Arizona, USA
Distribution: Debian, KDE Neon, Arch, Void
Posts: 3,157

Rep: Reputation: 978Reputation: 978Reputation: 978Reputation: 978Reputation: 978Reputation: 978Reputation: 978Reputation: 978
If you removed the pacakge kubuntu-desktop, then your system won't attempt to get kubuntu updates. And even if you didn't, all the neon packages SHOULD supercede it due to having higher version numbers (although I wouldn't completely trust this and if kubuntu-desktop package still installed purge it).

As for updates, I use a very basic apt update && apt full-upgrade (yes, full-upgrade not truly needed on LTS systems/base debian stable. I still like it, also many of my Debian systems become frankensystems as I use 3rd party repos to get newer versions of KDE on it than Debian offers).
 
Old 09-20-2019, 03:55 PM   #55
davide445
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2018
Distribution: KDE Neon
Posts: 73

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 1
This are the installed "Kubuntu" packages

Quote:
apt list --installed | grep kubuntu

WARNING: apt does not have a stable CLI interface. Use with caution in scripts.

kubuntu-driver-manager/bionic,now 15.10ubuntu4 amd64 [installed]
kubuntu-notification-helper/bionic,now 18.04ubuntu1 amd64 [installed]
kubuntu-wallpapers-bionic/bionic,bionic,now 18.04.0 all [installed]
kubuntu-web-shortcuts/bionic,bionic,now 17.04ubuntu1 all [installed]
libkubuntu1/bionic,now 15.04ubuntu2 amd64 [installed]
plymouth-theme-kubuntu-logo/bionic,bionic,now 1:18.04ubuntu11 all [installed]
plymouth-theme-kubuntu-text/bionic,bionic,now 1:18.04ubuntu11 all [installed]
Should I purge them in you opinion?
 
Old 09-20-2019, 04:07 PM   #56
Timothy Miller
Moderator
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Arizona, USA
Distribution: Debian, KDE Neon, Arch, Void
Posts: 3,157

Rep: Reputation: 978Reputation: 978Reputation: 978Reputation: 978Reputation: 978Reputation: 978Reputation: 978Reputation: 978
None of them are necessary, so you certainly can. I might keep the wallpapers one if you like any of the wallpapers, other than that, no reason to keep any IMO.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 09-25-2019, 02:15 AM   #57
davide445
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2018
Distribution: KDE Neon
Posts: 73

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 1
Ok here again.
Discovered the error in the update was resolved uninstalling

Quote:
kubuntu-driver-manager/bionic,now 15.10ubuntu4 amd64 [installed]
kubuntu-notification-helper/bionic,now 18.04ubuntu1 amd64 [installed]
libkubuntu1/bionic,now 15.04ubuntu2 amd64 [installed]
Now I completed all the updates and both apt and Discover told me I'm up to date.
To leave the correct answer apt wasn't able to perform the update even after deleting these packages, and I needed to use

Quote:
sudo pkcon refresh && pkcon update
After pkcon does completed his work apt and Discover are running fine.

BUT at boot after a beautiful KDE Neon login screen I find myself in Cinnamon, with a file in the desktop telling me "There was an error launching the application".
System Info told me the OS is Neon 18.04 Bionic, so no more KDE Neon.

Any suggestion to discover what error? There isn't any other info in the file.

Last edited by davide445; 09-25-2019 at 08:54 AM.
 
Old 09-25-2019, 03:07 AM   #58
jsbjsb001
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2009
Location: Earth? I would say I hope so but I'm not so sure about that... I could just be a figment of your imagination too.
Distribution: Currently OpenMandriva. Previously openSUSE, PCLinuxOS, CentOS, among others over the years.
Posts: 3,110

Rep: Reputation: 1596Reputation: 1596Reputation: 1596Reputation: 1596Reputation: 1596Reputation: 1596Reputation: 1596Reputation: 1596Reputation: 1596Reputation: 1596Reputation: 1596
Quote:
Originally Posted by davide445 View Post
...
Any suggestion to discover what error? There isn't any other info in the file.
You could try looking at system logs and/or whatever other logs you can find - it really depends on exactly what application it is as to exactly which logs are likely to help. Some applications have their own logs, but if it's a system related app, then the system logs might give a better idea of what went wrong.

If it's just a normal app, then you could try launching it from the command-line/terminal and see if it gives any better error messages. Typically in Linux things are more verbose when run from a command-line/console/terminal window, and some things may not even give any error message via the graphical interface at all.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 09-25-2019, 08:58 AM   #59
davide445
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2018
Distribution: KDE Neon
Posts: 73

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 1
Was easier than expected: I simply needed to choose Plasma as DE at login.
Choosing Plasma (and not Plasma Wayland, that I suppose it's still experimental) all is running fine with no errors at all and Info Center state I'm on KDE Neon 5.16.5.

Cinnamon was the default choice but probably being not in fact installed was giving the error and providing just a basic GNOME DE.

So finished all this I'm a proud KDE Neon user, thanks for all the incredible help of this great community!
 
1 members found this post helpful.
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LXer: Solus Readies KDE Plasma Edition Testing ISO with Latest KDE Plasma 5.14 Desktop LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 10-25-2018 03:03 PM
LXer: KDE Plasma 5.13 Desktop Reaches End of Life, KDE Plasma 5.14 Arrives October 9 LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 09-15-2018 10:30 PM
LXer: KDE Plasma 5.6.4 Desktop Environment Launches with Plasma Discover Improvements LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 05-10-2016 07:15 PM
LXer: Sebastian Kügler: KDE's Plasma Mobile is running on Plasma 5 and Kubuntu LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 07-26-2015 01:48 AM
[SOLVED] Please tell me how to tell KDE to run plasma-desktop instead of plasma-netbook Kenny_Strawn Linux - Software 7 07-19-2010 07:32 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration