LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware
User Name
Password
Linux - Hardware This forum is for Hardware issues.
Having trouble installing a piece of hardware? Want to know if that peripheral is compatible with Linux?

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 06-13-2018, 06:50 PM   #1
un1x
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2015
Posts: 609

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Laptops with 128GB of RAM are here...


https://www.theverge.com/circuitbrea...ll-workstation

Quote:
Brace yourself for laptops with 128GB of RAM because they’re coming. Today, Lenovo announced its ThinkPad P52, which, along with that massive amount of memory, also features up to 6TB of storage, up to a 4K, 15.6-inch display, an eighth-gen Intel hexacore processor, and an Nvidia Quadro P3200 graphics card.

The ThinkPad also includes two Thunderbolt three ports, HDMI 2.0, a mini DisplayPort, three USB Type-A ports, a headphone jack, and an Ethernet port. The company hasn’t announced pricing yet, but it’s likely going to try to compete with Dell’s new 128GB-compatible workstation laptops.

The Dell Precision 7530 and Precision 7730 also feature 4K displays and compatibility with a Quadro and AMD Radeon WX graphics cards. They start at $1,199. All these laptops are VR-ready, of course. Both seem to be enabled through Samsung’s newest memory modules that allow laptop makers to increase capacity and speed without consuming all the power. The days of laptops topping out at 16GB of RAM might be nearing an end, at least once these come to standard consumer devices.
 
Old 06-13-2018, 07:10 PM   #2
KBD47
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2011
Posts: 20

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
What would someone do with all that memory? I struggle to find a use on Linux for 8gb of memory
BTW that Lenovo does look awesome.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 06-13-2018, 07:49 PM   #3
Timothy Miller
Moderator
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Arizona, USA
Distribution: Debian, Fedora, Arch, & GalliumOS.
Posts: 2,744

Rep: Reputation: 784Reputation: 784Reputation: 784Reputation: 784Reputation: 784Reputation: 784Reputation: 784
Quote:
Originally Posted by KBD47 View Post
What would someone do with all that memory? I struggle to find a use on Linux for 8gb of memory
BTW that Lenovo does look awesome.

VM's. I've easily used up 32 GB on my old desktop (new one only has 2 slots and I can't afford 16 GB dimms) running VM's.

Also databases.
 
3 members found this post helpful.
Old 06-13-2018, 08:37 PM   #4
BW-userx
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Sep 2013
Location: MID-SOUTH USA
Distribution: Slackware 14.2 / Slackware 14.2 current / Manjaro
Posts: 6,348

Rep: Reputation: 1228Reputation: 1228Reputation: 1228Reputation: 1228Reputation: 1228Reputation: 1228Reputation: 1228Reputation: 1228Reputation: 1228
maxed out laptops, not even maxed out laptops are already costing up to $2000 and up and that is maybe 16GB Ram hate to see what they are going to charge for 128GB Ram and 6TB Hdd alone.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 06-14-2018, 03:29 AM   #5
fatmac
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2011
Location: Upper Hale, Surrey/Hants Border, UK
Distribution: AntiX
Posts: 2,321

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Nah! 2GB ram's good enough for me.......
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 06-14-2018, 06:41 AM   #6
un1x
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2015
Posts: 609

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
^
dude , is Obsd fastest than void ?

how do u do with flash plugin ? it is solved the inconvenient with Broadcom wireless drive ? ?
 
Old 06-14-2018, 10:01 AM   #7
KBD47
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2011
Posts: 20

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timothy Miller View Post
VM's. I've easily used up 32 GB on my old desktop (new one only has 2 slots and I can't afford 16 GB dimms) running VM's.

Also databases.
I can see that. VM's eat up lots of ram. Haven't used that myself in years.
 
Old 06-15-2018, 09:09 AM   #8
brianL
LQ 5k Club
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Oldham, Lancs, England
Distribution: Slackware & Slackware64 14.2
Posts: 7,705
Blog Entries: 58

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Should I start a "Buy brianL a Thinkpad P52 Fund"? Hands up all those willing to contribute to it...awww, come on!
 
Old 06-15-2018, 11:56 AM   #9
un1x
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2015
Posts: 609

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatmac View Post
Nah! 2GB ram's good enough for me
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 06-16-2018, 01:26 PM   #10
un1x
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2015
Posts: 609

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Should I start a "Buy un1x a Thinkpad P52 Fund"? Hands up all those willing to contribute to it...awww, come on!

 
Old 06-16-2018, 09:18 PM   #11
frankbell
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Virginia, USA
Distribution: Slackware, Debian, Mageia, and whatever VMs I happen to be playing with
Posts: 13,576
Blog Entries: 20

Rep: Reputation: 3570Reputation: 3570Reputation: 3570Reputation: 3570Reputation: 3570Reputation: 3570Reputation: 3570Reputation: 3570Reputation: 3570Reputation: 3570Reputation: 3570
The distance between laptops and desktops has been shrinking for years. These days, at least for home users, about the only thing desktops offer that laptops do not is empty drive bays.
 
Old 06-17-2018, 01:32 AM   #12
polpak
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2011
Location: Planet Earth, Australia, NSW
Distribution: GNOME on openSUSE Leap 42.3 (x86_64) & Ubuntu16.04
Posts: 132

Rep: Reputation: 12
Desktops are not bumped off the desk as often as laptops... they can be a lot lower cost, and are easier to work on the parts... !



.

Last edited by polpak; 06-17-2018 at 01:35 AM.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Can't mount 128GB NTFS USB stick sharky Linux - Newbie 12 02-05-2014 08:26 PM
How much swap for 128GB of RAM and 8/16gb techux Linux - General 1 03-28-2013 07:54 PM
Slackware64 + OCZ Petrol 128GB problems mysql_connect Slackware 9 06-07-2012 12:55 AM
Mandrake 10.1 only recognize a 200GB Harddrive as 128GB kt8993 Linux - Hardware 11 02-05-2005 11:15 AM
ReiserFS 128GB limitation??? Fire_Ball16 Linux - General 2 04-06-2004 04:20 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration