LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Linux Deepin
User Name
Password
Linux Deepin This forum is for the discussion of Linux Deepin.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 12-11-2017, 02:05 AM   #1
pien108
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2017
Posts: 22

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
firefox update from store does not work


Running firefox 52.0 want to update to 57. In the store it shows firefox 57. with the option open (not install, I must have installed it already???). Anyway when I click open it simply opens 52.
What am I overlooking?
 
Old 12-12-2017, 02:47 PM   #2
business_kid
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Ireland
Distribution: Slackware & Android
Posts: 8,781

Rep: Reputation: 903Reputation: 903Reputation: 903Reputation: 903Reputation: 903Reputation: 903Reputation: 903Reputation: 903
Location. Check the desktop icon.

By default, firefox installs in /opt. Your distro probably installs in /usr, or /usr/lib64 or some such. You have put firefox-57.0 in /opt, but are still running the one in /usr/somewhere.
 
Old 12-14-2017, 02:42 PM   #3
pien108
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2017
Posts: 22

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
I find firefox 52 in /usr/lib
firefox 57 i cannot locate
 
Old 12-14-2017, 03:05 PM   #4
business_kid
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Ireland
Distribution: Slackware & Android
Posts: 8,781

Rep: Reputation: 903Reputation: 903Reputation: 903Reputation: 903Reputation: 903Reputation: 903Reputation: 903Reputation: 903
Did you install it?
If you have locate, run 'sudo updatedb' and then 'locate firefox'
If you have slocate it's 'sudo slocate -u' and then 'slocate firefox'
 
Old 12-15-2017, 02:00 PM   #5
pien108
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2017
Posts: 22

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Yes I installed it by clicking the icon in deepinstore.

Trying to locate it now with both commands you gave above. Both return ´command not found´
 
Old 12-15-2017, 03:39 PM   #6
business_kid
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Ireland
Distribution: Slackware & Android
Posts: 8,781

Rep: Reputation: 903Reputation: 903Reputation: 903Reputation: 903Reputation: 903Reputation: 903Reputation: 903Reputation: 903
Hmmph! What's your distro? These are pretty basic commands.
I presume firefox-52.0 was installed by your disdtro, and firefox-57.0 was a download from Mozilla.com. Is that correct?

Try these then
Code:
which firefox
cd /opt
find -name 'firefox*'
cd /usr
find -name 'firefox*'
The finds may take a few seconds but don't worry.
 
Old 12-16-2017, 02:02 AM   #7
pien108
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2017
Posts: 22

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
I run deepin 15.2
This is what Deepin File Manager returns

/usr/share/firefox
/usr/lib/firefox
/lastore/metadata/firefox
/etc/firefox
/tmp/firefox_joline
/lastore/metadata/firefox-dbg
/lastore/metadata/firefox-dde
/lastore/metadata/firefox-dev
/lastore/metadata/firefox-zh
/usr/share/doc/firefox
/usr/share/doc/firefox-dde
/usr/share/bug/firefox
/usr/lib/firefox/firefox
/usr/bin/firefox
/usr/share/applications/firefox.desktop
/usr/lib/firefox/firefox-bin
/etc/firefox/firefox.js
/usr/share/pixmaps/firefox.png
/usr/lib/mime/packages/firefox
 
Old 12-16-2017, 03:52 AM   #8
business_kid
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Ireland
Distribution: Slackware & Android
Posts: 8,781

Rep: Reputation: 903Reputation: 903Reputation: 903Reputation: 903Reputation: 903Reputation: 903Reputation: 903Reputation: 903
It looks like you haven't actually installed 57.0 at all.
 
Old 12-16-2017, 11:21 AM   #9
pien108
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2017
Posts: 22

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
I agree. That is what it looks like. yet the firefox 5.7 icon in the shop does not give me the install option, only the ´open´ option which means -as far as I know- that it has been installed or at least the installer believes it has been installed.

For now, the only option I can think of is uninstall firefox 5.2 and do a fresh 5.7 installation. But I do not fancy loosing all my preferences... Still hoping for another solution. So far all the applications that are available in the deepin store have been easy to install with one click. No problems there before...
 
Old 12-16-2017, 02:23 PM   #10
business_kid
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Ireland
Distribution: Slackware & Android
Posts: 8,781

Rep: Reputation: 903Reputation: 903Reputation: 903Reputation: 903Reputation: 903Reputation: 903Reputation: 903Reputation: 903
Convince yourself. In a terminal
Code:
bash-4.3$ firefox --version
Mozilla Firefox 57.0
 
Old 12-16-2017, 02:36 PM   #11
pien108
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2017
Posts: 22

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Mozilla Firefox 52.0.2
I alread knew it was opening version 5.2 instead of 5.7
Aparantly the install of 5.7 from the store does not work.
The question really is, how to install 5.7 as an update so I do not loose by settings if it does not install from the store...
 
Old 12-17-2017, 04:31 AM   #12
business_kid
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Ireland
Distribution: Slackware & Android
Posts: 8,781

Rep: Reputation: 903Reputation: 903Reputation: 903Reputation: 903Reputation: 903Reputation: 903Reputation: 903Reputation: 903
Wait for an update. As one who has it, it's not that much faster better, and your a** weon't shine in the dark just because you've got it.

It is faster; It's not clunkier/slower. But you need a stop watch to be sure. It was getting slower than chrome despite chrome's busy spyware.
 
Old 12-17-2017, 05:21 AM   #13
pien108
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2017
Posts: 22

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Atually the only reson I want it is because video downloader is not running on the 5.2 version.

I am using another one now, but not so happy with it...

Anyway I will wait a bit....
 
Old 12-17-2017, 05:42 AM   #14
sidzen
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2014
Location: Inland PNW
Distribution: Salix Puppy Siduction
Posts: 149

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Had trouble with older laptop doing similar things when trying to upgrade to Quantum FF.
Started with FF-42
Had to upgrade GTK to a gtk+3
Decided to go with Firefox-56.0.2

<cd (to directory desired)> then
56.0.2 is my preference, anyway.

Best wishes!
 
Old 12-22-2017, 06:05 PM   #15
Yubuti
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2015
Location: Delaware
Distribution: Deepin, Antergos, Debian 9, Solus
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Have you installed Synaptic? If not, you might want to install it from the store and then use it to upgrade Firefox.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Cannot access Firefox - apt-get update does not work pizzipie Ubuntu 40 04-08-2017 02:16 AM
where does the firefox-bookmark store at? Mathsniper Linux - Newbie 4 08-03-2013 09:28 PM
Aspire one (Linux) browser button wont work after firefox 8 update Vance MacLeod Linux - Laptop and Netbook 8 11-23-2011 06:32 AM
Where does lynx or firefox store cookies? stormrider_may Linux - Software 3 01-23-2006 07:00 PM
Where does the firefox's Bookmark store? Mathsniper Linux - General 3 09-14-2005 11:52 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Linux Deepin

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration