LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Debian
User Name
Password
Debian This forum is for the discussion of Debian Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 11-08-2017, 09:24 PM   #1
lucmove
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Location: Brazil
Distribution: Debian Stretch
Posts: 968

Rep: Reputation: 81
Debian install images that work without Internet?


Where can I get Debian install images that work without an Internet connection?

I've been getting mine here:

https://cdimage.debian.org/debian-cd.../amd64/iso-cd/

For reasons that are not relevant right now, I've had to install Debian 9 some ten times or so, from three images obtained on three different days a few weeks apart, and the installation ALWAYS fails if I don't let it download packages from the online repository during installation, which takes a damn long time.

Where can I get CD images that work standalone, without any Internet?
 
Old 11-09-2017, 12:55 AM   #2
descendant_command
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,716

Rep: Reputation: 554Reputation: 554Reputation: 554Reputation: 554Reputation: 554Reputation: 554
So you're just installing with the xfce desktop only?

Fails how?
 
Old 11-09-2017, 01:23 AM   #3
lucmove
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Location: Brazil
Distribution: Debian Stretch
Posts: 968

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 81
The thing says that the installation of packages failed. It suggests trying again, but trying again fails instantly.

From memory, it gives me the option to install "Debian desktop," "XFCE" and "system tools." I eventually tried it without the system tools and it finally installed. I hadn't tried that yet.
 
Old 11-09-2017, 01:27 AM   #4
descendant_command
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,716

Rep: Reputation: 554Reputation: 554Reputation: 554Reputation: 554Reputation: 554Reputation: 554
Yeah, CD's aren't as big as they used to be - the DVD's are probaby what you need for a full offline install.
 
Old 11-09-2017, 11:21 AM   #5
John VV
LQ Muse
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Location: A2 area Mi.
Posts: 17,465

Rep: Reputation: 2606Reputation: 2606Reputation: 2606Reputation: 2606Reputation: 2606Reputation: 2606Reputation: 2606Reputation: 2606Reputation: 2606Reputation: 2606Reputation: 2606
use the first of 3 dvd's

https://cdimage.debian.org/debian-cd...amd64/iso-dvd/

https://cdimage.debian.org/debian-cd...md64-DVD-1.iso
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 01-22-2020, 06:56 PM   #6
ab1jx
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Feb 2017
Posts: 17

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
The easy way, and I've done this, is to bring your hard drive (or SD card) to a connected similar machine and install onto it, then bring it home and plug it in. Install Synaptic while you're at it because you can select things in it you want to install (and it gets all the dependencies right) then export that list to a script that uses wget to fetch the files. Copy that to a USB device, bring it to the internet, run it, bring the files home and Synaptic will load them, works very well. See the File menu in it.

The full set of install disks is sort of pointless because it's stuff you'll never use before it's obsolete. Just get the install CD,which should also work on USB media. With 128 GB and up SDs disks are becoming antique.

If you have an x86 machine you can't install on a arm machine, but other than that the 2 machines don't need to be that similar. It's not like Windows where they go out of their way to trip you up.

Last edited by ab1jx; 01-22-2020 at 07:00 PM.
 
Old 01-23-2020, 03:15 AM   #7
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 13,432
Blog Entries: 9

Rep: Reputation: 3670Reputation: 3670Reputation: 3670Reputation: 3670Reputation: 3670Reputation: 3670Reputation: 3670Reputation: 3670Reputation: 3670Reputation: 3670Reputation: 3670
I have succesfully installed Debian without an internet connection - many times.
the XFCE iso should be fine, but others are available. Bit hard to find, debian.org is a labyrinth.
 
Old 01-23-2020, 06:32 PM   #8
ab1jx
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Feb 2017
Posts: 17

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Yeah, actually Rasbian and most of the ARM images I've used: Rock64, Odroid N2, Pinebook Pro, Raspberry Pi 64 bit Debian are like that too. It's not so much an interactive install as just dumping one big binary image onto the media, then the partition resizes to fill the available space after the first boot. I think I've read that you could just dd something like a livecd image (ISO) onto a hard drive and boot it. Then maximize the partition with something like Gparted. I know you can DD an ISO file to a USB stick (or SD card in a reader) and boot from it, I did it once by accident.

Not much internet here, dialup for years and lately a cell phone. Playing with EasyTether because first AT&T then T-Mobile blocked me with the wifi hotspot. Off-peak hours aren't too bad lately, but I've probably reinstalled both the Android and Linux sides 10 times. Real internet (fiber) is at least a year away, been hearing about it for 10 years.
 
Old 01-24-2020, 12:38 PM   #9
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 13,432
Blog Entries: 9

Rep: Reputation: 3670Reputation: 3670Reputation: 3670Reputation: 3670Reputation: 3670Reputation: 3670Reputation: 3670Reputation: 3670Reputation: 3670Reputation: 3670Reputation: 3670
Quote:
Originally Posted by ab1jx View Post
I think I've read that you could just dd something like a livecd image (ISO) onto a hard drive and boot it.
Sure that would work.
But that's not the same as installing it. You would have a Debian Live Medium, on your hard drive.
 
Old 01-24-2020, 05:54 PM   #10
ab1jx
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Feb 2017
Posts: 17

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Yes, but it's bootstrapped and runs. Then you start the sneakernet process of getting aptitude or synaptic in place and doing updates and adding more stuff. Aptitude doesn't seem to let you tag a bunch of files and output a download script like Synaptic.

There's almost no such thing as a static Debian, it always wants to update. apt-get update on dialup used to take me 20-30 minutes, I didn't do it often. You fix old bugs and add new ones.

OpenBSD comes out with 2 versions a year, much simpler. About 60% of the programs are unchanged from version to version, it's worth keeping your old distfiles around. There are patches for security problems, but those are patches to the source so they're tiny. It's an advantage of building everything yourself from source because you just patch and recompile.
 
Old 01-25-2020, 09:45 AM   #11
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 13,432
Blog Entries: 9

Rep: Reputation: 3670Reputation: 3670Reputation: 3670Reputation: 3670Reputation: 3670Reputation: 3670Reputation: 3670Reputation: 3670Reputation: 3670Reputation: 3670Reputation: 3670
Quote:
Originally Posted by ab1jx View Post
Yes, but it's bootstrapped and runs. Then you start the sneakernet process of getting aptitude or synaptic in place and doing updates and adding more stuff.
None of this makes any sense to me.

Quote:
There's almost no such thing as a static Debian, it always wants to update.
This is wrong.
The user wants to update, not Debian.
It is actually one of Debian's goals to make a stable system that Just Works. Partial upgrades (meaning: you only upgrade what you want) are supported (even explicitely IIRC).

Don't get me wrong, I understand your desire to have a system that works without an internet connection. It's perfectly possible and Debian is an ideal candidate for that.
 
Old 01-25-2020, 09:30 PM   #12
ab1jx
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Feb 2017
Posts: 17

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
I haven't really installed with no internet in mind, at least since about 2005. My first time I downloaded and burned the full set of DVD images and took them home. Then I got caught up in doing apt-get update, which isn't really required. As somebody once put it, you don't ever have to update. Something I installed lately, a couple things I think, did updates and maybe upgrades as part of the install. Not installing a deb, this was something from outside the debs.

I mean the installation is bootstrapped so it will run without the install media. Maybe it's a different kernel version, and everybody has their own favorite sets of programs. So usually you do an apt-get update to populate the list of debs. You can download individual debs you want, try to install and go back with a list of dependencies, get those files and find out what the dependencies of those are, I think I've seen it take 4 or 5 tries. I think the updates and upgrades will take a livecd version to being the same as an installer-installed version. I think I've seen a livecd that offers to install. If you were going somewhere with no internet at all, a full set of DVDs should about cover what you need. When I had a full set I copied them all to my hard drive rather than constantly changing disks, set the directories up in my sources.list I think.

But in the ARM world for whatever reason everything's done from images you write to an SD card, there aren't any installers. Then again, maybe there just aren't installers yet, only images by people like Ayufan and Armbian. My Pinebook Pro has a Bullseye Debian that was installed by Debootstrap. A few things aren't quite right yet, it's only been a week or so. Drivers are a major issue, especially Mali drivers. ARM expects everybody to jump to using Wayland so they stopped writing x11 drivers.
 
Old 01-26-2020, 04:04 AM   #13
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 13,432
Blog Entries: 9

Rep: Reputation: 3670Reputation: 3670Reputation: 3670Reputation: 3670Reputation: 3670Reputation: 3670Reputation: 3670Reputation: 3670Reputation: 3670Reputation: 3670Reputation: 3670
^ all that is just a rant with no palpable value, faulty half-knowledge, and going increasingly OT.
And you're not even OP, I think I missed that earlier.

I'm out.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
aren't there install cd images for Debian Testing (Squeeze)? Cage47 Debian 8 11-09-2009 01:45 AM
triple images on envision h190l in debian netinstall or ubuntu install/live-cd rolypolycat Linux - Newbie 0 01-29-2009 12:51 AM
Span debian CD images into DVD images Christopher2222 General 3 09-01-2008 12:25 PM
Install Debian from images on hard drive? rconan Debian 3 01-10-2006 12:54 PM
Getting Internet to work in Debian kram Debian 2 01-23-2005 09:30 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Debian

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration