LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Enterprise Linux Forums > Linux - Enterprise
User Name
Password
Linux - Enterprise This forum is for all items relating to using Linux in the Enterprise.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 06-01-2007, 07:54 AM   #1
un1xman
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2007
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: 0
Graphical top tool


I use top a lot when analyzing systems across my enterprise. This tool allows me to quickly assess what is running and the load on each CPU in our multi-CPU systems.

Is anyone aware of any tools available that would provide top results in a graphical format for the casual user? What I am looking for is some kind of graph of CPU utilization along with network utilization, memory utilization, disk utilization and such things. This tool would be configurable. If anyone is familiar with AIX something like topas would work fine.
 
Old 06-01-2007, 08:38 AM   #2
Nathanael
Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Distribution: debian, gentoo, os x (darwin), ubuntu
Posts: 940

Rep: Reputation: 33
had a look at gkrelm?
 
Old 06-01-2007, 08:43 AM   #3
MensaWater
LQ Guru
 
Registered: May 2005
Location: Atlanta Georgia USA
Distribution: Redhat (RHEL), CentOS, Fedora, CoreOS, Debian, FreeBSD, HP-UX, Solaris, SCO
Posts: 7,386
Blog Entries: 15

Rep: Reputation: 1404Reputation: 1404Reputation: 1404Reputation: 1404Reputation: 1404Reputation: 1404Reputation: 1404Reputation: 1404Reputation: 1404Reputation: 1404
If you Google it you'll see hits for "xtop" (ignore the ones about a conference). I haven't used it.

Are you looking for something that is "current" information or will show you "historic" information as well? If the former you might be better off getting "xsar".

Also HP makes GlancePlus for HP-UX and other OSes and apparently has a version for Linux (this has a fee). Have you checked to see if IBM has a "topas" for Linux?

Haven't used any of the above (except GlancePlus on HP-UX and Solaris) but recalled hearing about xtop some time back.
 
Old 01-09-2018, 04:02 AM   #4
ghp
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2013
Location: Sint-Denijs, BelgiŽ
Distribution: Devuan
Posts: 14

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
nmon
 
Old 01-11-2018, 02:37 AM   #5
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 8,139
Blog Entries: 5

Rep: Reputation: 1950Reputation: 1950Reputation: 1950Reputation: 1950Reputation: 1950Reputation: 1950Reputation: 1950Reputation: 1950Reputation: 1950Reputation: 1950Reputation: 1950
there can be only one answer to this question:

conky
 
Old 01-11-2018, 02:58 AM   #6
ferrari
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Location: Auckland, NZ
Distribution: openSUSE Leap
Posts: 2,917

Rep: Reputation: 491Reputation: 491Reputation: 491Reputation: 491Reputation: 491
Quote:
there can be only one answer to this question:

conky
+1 from me for that suggestion

https://www.linux.com/learn/how-inst...onfigure-conky
https://www.lifewire.com/beginners-g...-conky-4043352
 
Old 01-11-2018, 03:14 AM   #7
syg00
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Location: Australia
Distribution: Lots ...
Posts: 16,577

Rep: Reputation: 2426Reputation: 2426Reputation: 2426Reputation: 2426Reputation: 2426Reputation: 2426Reputation: 2426Reputation: 2426Reputation: 2426Reputation: 2426Reputation: 2426
Over 10 years dormant, and woken up for this ?.
 
Old 01-11-2018, 11:48 AM   #8
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 8,139
Blog Entries: 5

Rep: Reputation: 1950Reputation: 1950Reputation: 1950Reputation: 1950Reputation: 1950Reputation: 1950Reputation: 1950Reputation: 1950Reputation: 1950Reputation: 1950Reputation: 1950
^ oh my, i hadn't realised.
 
Old 01-11-2018, 03:48 PM   #9
ferrari
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Location: Auckland, NZ
Distribution: openSUSE Leap
Posts: 2,917

Rep: Reputation: 491Reputation: 491Reputation: 491Reputation: 491Reputation: 491
....and I followed in behind you (good suggestion though)
 
Old 01-22-2018, 04:18 PM   #10
JockVSJock
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Location: SATX
Distribution: RHEL/CentOS
Posts: 1,277
Blog Entries: 4

Rep: Reputation: 148Reputation: 148
htop

http://hisham.hm/htop/
 
Old 01-25-2018, 10:17 PM   #11
caseyl
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jan 2018
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 14

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by JockVSJock View Post
I have used htop and I find it to be a step above top in the graphical department. However if the package is not already installed on a system, I do not install htop, especially if it is a clients server. Not because I believe it will "break" anything, just because top is suitable.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where can I adjust the font size of top tool-bar satimis Slackware 5 02-16-2007 10:12 AM
Graphical Network Profile Tool? macgyver007 Linux - Networking 1 01-03-2007 03:11 PM
i can't find the desk top switching tool crazyjedi Linux - Newbie 6 04-08-2006 06:40 AM
Graphical Mount Tool miller786 Red Hat 1 01-12-2006 03:01 PM
Graphical tool for CD/DVD burning kushalkoolwal Debian 9 11-11-2005 12:36 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Enterprise Linux Forums > Linux - Enterprise

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration