LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 04-03-2021, 09:09 AM   #1
stf92
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2007
Location: Buenos Aires.
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 4,442

Rep: Reputation: 76
Lilo's black and white menu.


Hi: I have just written the MBR in a new machine of mine using lilo. The lilo menu is a red rectangle with two entries: one for each one of two OSes. Now I remember once I had the lilo menu in black and white but I don't remember how I did it. Could you tell me how do I get the black and white menu?
 
Old 04-03-2021, 09:16 AM   #2
Emerson
LQ Sage
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana
Distribution: Gentoo ~arch
Posts: 7,231

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
I just replaced my last Lilo with SysLinux and the man page is gone, but I'm sure 'man lilo.conf' has it.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 04-03-2021, 09:54 AM   #3
Didier Spaier
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Nov 2008
Location: Paris, France
Distribution: Slint64-14.2.1.2 on Lenovo Thinkpad W520
Posts: 9,864

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emerson View Post
I'm sure 'man lilo.conf' has it.
Yes.
 
Old 04-10-2021, 09:36 AM   #4
stf92
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2007
Location: Buenos Aires.
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 4,442

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 76
It is not just that the screen is black and white. There is no rectangle and the two entries appear on the upper right corner of the screen.
 
Old 04-10-2021, 10:09 AM   #5
chrisretusn
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Location: Philippines
Distribution: Slackware64-current
Posts: 1,856

Rep: Reputation: 773Reputation: 773Reputation: 773Reputation: 773Reputation: 773Reputation: 773Reputation: 773
Hopefully this will help. From a slackware64-current clean installation. This is what I use in all of my installations only difference is a different Boot BMP Image.
Code:
# Boot BMP Image.
# Bitmap in BMP format: 640x480x8
  bitmap = /boot/slack.bmp
# Menu colors (foreground, background, shadow, highlighted
# foreground, highlighted background, highlighted shadow):
  bmp-colors = 255,0,255,0,255,0
# Location of the option table: location x, location y, number of
# columns, lines per column (max 15), "spill" (this is how many
# entries must be in the first column before the next begins to
# be used. We don't specify it here, as there's just one column.
  bmp-table = 60,6,1,16
# Timer location x, timer location y, foreground color,
# background color, shadow color.
  bmp-timer = 65,27,0,255
 
Old 04-10-2021, 12:18 PM   #6
stf92
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2007
Location: Buenos Aires.
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 4,442

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 76
Now I remember. When you are installing slackware there comes the moment when it asks if you want to install lilo. There are three options: simple, expert and skip. You choose simple and the installer writes the boot loader in the MBR and writes no lilo.conf, which is unfortunate because in that way you can't see how it does to have that menu screen. If you have a spare machine, try it and you'll see.
 
Old 04-10-2021, 05:56 PM   #7
bassmadrigal
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: West Jordan, UT, USA
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 8,141

Rep: Reputation: 5678Reputation: 5678Reputation: 5678Reputation: 5678Reputation: 5678Reputation: 5678Reputation: 5678Reputation: 5678Reputation: 5678Reputation: 5678Reputation: 5678
The simple option will still generate a lilo.conf. It's impossible to run lilo to store the bootloader without some form of a lilo.conf.

Also, the simple option will generate the needed code for the boot screen within the lilo.conf. I'm not sure what caused your system to not have it. You could try running liloconfig again...
 
Old 04-10-2021, 07:27 PM   #8
cwizardone
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Distribution: Slackware64-current with "True Multilib."
Posts: 6,541
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 3905Reputation: 3905Reputation: 3905Reputation: 3905Reputation: 3905Reputation: 3905Reputation: 3905Reputation: 3905Reputation: 3905Reputation: 3905Reputation: 3905
Quote:
Originally Posted by stf92 View Post
.....You choose simple and the installer writes the boot loader in the MBR and writes no lilo.conf........
That has not been my experience. AFAIK, it has always written a lilo.conf.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Taskbar callout/menu white text on white background Deepin 15.11 on mint dinosaurbloo Linux Deepin 7 10-23-2019 12:10 PM
Background of Facebook comment shows white letters on white backgroundt radiogoop Linux - Newbie 2 02-12-2014 04:22 AM
Evolution display problem - white fonts on white background wolecki Linux - Software 1 06-17-2013 04:33 PM
Gnome black on white menu bar etech3 Debian 2 02-09-2013 03:41 PM
if you want lilo to be black & white marlor Slackware 0 07-22-2004 10:34 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration