LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking
User Name
Password
Linux - Networking This forum is for any issue related to networks or networking.
Routing, network cards, OSI, etc. Anything is fair game.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 07-13-2019, 06:09 AM   #1
HiddenYo
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2019
Distribution: Debian 10 "Buster"
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Network printing via samba error (Canon MF4010)


Hello everyone!

In my work i use a pc in office LAN. The pc is running under Debian 10 "Buster" (gnome). In the LAN there is a pc running win xp with cannon MF4010 printer connected to it. This printer is shared in the LAN. Win xp pc domain name in the LAN is "PRINTERPC" and it's internal IP in 192.168.128.91.

Unfortunately i can't find a way to connect to the printer from my work pc. I have samba and smbclient installed as well as cups (it was in standard installation). Cups and samba services runs without errors or warnings. Automatic printer finder in gnome doesn't find the printer. I tried to find win xp pc and printer from terminal with
Code:
smbclient -L "PRINTERPC" -I 192.168.128.91 -N
My try was successful. I saw "Canon MF4010" in the output of the command (it's shared printer name). Anyway i couldn't find a way to print from it with terminal or from cups administrative tool. I always get
Code:
NT_STATUS_UNSUCCESSFUL
error.

I used this guide to set up printer. I found that on win xp pc NetBIOS it turned on so it cannot be a reason of the error. I'm certain that on any other pc in the LAN running windows i can print with the printer connected to the win xp pc.

I tried to set up the printer in cups web interface - windows printer via samba, address
Code:
smb://PRINTERPC/Canon MF4010
or
Code:
smb://PRINTERPC/Canon%20MF4010
or
Code:
smb://WORGROUP/PRINTERPC/Canon%20MF4010
The same error occurs if i tried to print something even test page.

There is no password needed to connect to the printer. Any ideas?
 
Old 07-13-2019, 03:45 PM   #2
ferrari
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Location: Auckland, NZ
Distribution: openSUSE Leap
Posts: 3,742

Rep: Reputation: 649Reputation: 649Reputation: 649Reputation: 649Reputation: 649Reputation: 649
Please show your current /etc/samba/smb.conf configuration, in particular the '[global]' section. This is likely to be due to a SMB version mismatch. Windows XP is very old, and using SMBv1, while recent Linux samba clients will be using SMBv2. Using SMBv1 presents a well-known significant security risk...

https://techcommunity.microsoft.com/...B1/ba-p/425858
https://community.spiceworks.com/top...-smb1-insecure

Ideally, you should consider upgrading the Windows server, but it may be possible to upgrade the server to support a later samba protocol.
 
Old 07-14-2019, 11:21 AM   #3
michaelk
Moderator
 
Registered: Aug 2002
Posts: 18,685

Rep: Reputation: 2731Reputation: 2731Reputation: 2731Reputation: 2731Reputation: 2731Reputation: 2731Reputation: 2731Reputation: 2731Reputation: 2731Reputation: 2731Reputation: 2731
Try adding the following to the smb.conf global section

min protocol = SMB1

Restart cups.
 
Old 07-14-2019, 03:48 PM   #4
ferrari
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Location: Auckland, NZ
Distribution: openSUSE Leap
Posts: 3,742

Rep: Reputation: 649Reputation: 649Reputation: 649Reputation: 649Reputation: 649Reputation: 649
That is an option, although it should probably be
Code:
client min protocol = NT1
(or similar), but be aware of the security risks with using this protocol.
 
Old 07-14-2019, 04:03 PM   #5
michaelk
Moderator
 
Registered: Aug 2002
Posts: 18,685

Rep: Reputation: 2731Reputation: 2731Reputation: 2731Reputation: 2731Reputation: 2731Reputation: 2731Reputation: 2731Reputation: 2731Reputation: 2731Reputation: 2731Reputation: 2731
Your probably correct. cups has it's own SMB backend i.e. smbspool but not exactly sure how it works in relationship with smb.conf except I read other threads that indicated it worked.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Printing Problems - Canon Pixma iP3000 printing only half of the last page of job beoram Linux - Hardware 1 08-04-2012 04:42 AM
Ubuntu 12.04 LTS installed, Asus laptop, Canon printer & Canon scanner not working. EatonWF Linux - Newbie 2 07-12-2012 10:44 AM
I need to install a Canon PixmaMP190 on a EeePC900/Linux. No help from Canon, michigan48 Linux - Newbie 1 12-16-2009 08:34 PM
Canon S300 and GPL drivers from canon.jp flashf1re Linux - Hardware 1 02-27-2005 07:57 AM
Canon Drivers available from Canon JayCnrs Linux - Hardware 2 08-23-2003 03:21 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration