LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware > Slackware - ARM
User Name
Password
Slackware - ARM This forum is for the discussion of Slackware ARM.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 12-06-2019, 02:12 PM   #1
dodoLQ
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Dec 2014
Location: France
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 23

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Question to drmozes :)


Do you plan to port Slackware on an aarch64 platform soon? Actually armv7 is 32 bits so does a 64 bits version is in your project?
 
Old 12-07-2019, 04:24 AM   #2
Exaga
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2012
Posts: 225

Rep: Reputation: 100Reputation: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by dodoLQ View Post
Do you plan to port Slackware on an aarch64 platform soon? Actually armv7 is 32 bits so does a 64 bits version is in your project?
I honestly think he just doesn't want to do it.
 
Old 12-07-2019, 05:04 AM   #3
drmozes
Slackware Contributor
 
Registered: Apr 2008
Location: Surrey, England
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 875

Rep: Reputation: 665Reputation: 665Reputation: 665Reputation: 665Reputation: 665Reputation: 665
Quote:
Originally Posted by dodoLQ View Post
Do you plan to port Slackware on an aarch64 platform soon? Actually armv7 is 32 bits so does a 64 bits version is in your project?
No.

A few people have asked about this when they noticed the 64bit support appearing within the build scripts.
This is because I was touching every build script, updating them for other reasons and decided to add that at the same time; should I ever fancy porting it in the future, I can tinker around with it easily.
I do maintain an awareness of the goings on with aarch64 upstream (kernel, glibc, major packages, etc.) but don't dig into it.

For now I have no need for 64 bit ARM hardware and I don't own any.
It's not possible to maintain a stable release, -current plus another architecture without it being a paid-for business in its own right.
Once I see 32bit becoming abandoned upstream, I'll look at 64-bit - if indeed I'm still doing this at that point!

Someone else is already doing a 64bit port - have a look at that.

Last edited by drmozes; 12-07-2019 at 05:35 AM.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apache newbie question.. (very newbie question) tarballed Linux - Newbie 1 02-07-2003 09:41 PM
RE: Suse 8.0 hardware question {newbie question, pls help} Radiouk Linux - Distributions 2 06-04-2002 01:53 PM
RE: Samba question pls help {Newbie question} Radiouk Linux - Networking 4 06-03-2002 07:40 PM
Security question {newbie question} Radio Linux - Security 3 05-17-2002 07:32 PM
Lilo/kernel question & font question phek Linux - General 9 09-18-2001 01:20 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware > Slackware - ARM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration