LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Fedora
User Name
Password
Fedora This forum is for the discussion of the Fedora Project.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 12-27-2017, 11:14 AM   #16
misc
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2003
Distribution: Red Hat + Fedora
Posts: 1,084

Rep: Reputation: 54

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rotwang2 View Post
Oh wow that's great information about runlevels being basically obsolete- well that just shows my old age! (Well, that plus shown by the fact that I've got two 32 bit shuttle devices from 10 years ago. Sigh.)
You call that hardware old? Oh my!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rotwang2 View Post
Well actually, you don't need to avoid x from starting in order to get to a text console. There's two ways to get to a terminal even if you've booted into a broken x (unless it's outright freezing the *entire* system):

You can either ctrl-alt-4 (or wait, it might be ctrl-alt-f4), or if you have ssh installed you can just login from the outside.
Yes, those are the socalled "virtual consoles", but as long as the broken display manager and stuff is still running, you want to stop those processes anyway before starting something else.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rotwang2 View Post
Oh lastly- as for the graphics card being an unknown, well- remember, the installer had no problem displaying on this same gfx card, so... right? So between the 32 bit processor and the gfx card, neither could be the villain.
Different kernel, updates, runtime detected driver options whatever. One could guess a whole day long.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rotwang2 View Post
Anyway, I'm gonna just do, like "yum install xfce". And then how do I switch startx to run xfce instead? Is that something you can tell me in a sentence or is it complicated and I should go RTFM? no problem, lemme know, thanks again,
Not "yum", since it has been replaced with "dnf" a long time ago. You likely want a groupinstall, such as

dnf install @xfce-desktop-environment

and then start XFCE with "startxfce4".

Using the following executable $HOME/.xinitrc script would also make it work with plain startx:

#!/bin/sh
xfce4-session
 
Old 12-28-2017, 10:40 PM   #17
Rotwang2
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2014
Distribution: Ubuntu, Centos, Fedora
Posts: 81

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
ZOMG!! Woo! I've got xfce running and it works fine. I haven't rebooted yet, and I'll have to figure out how to make it go directly into kfce instead of attempting a prompt with the damn gray box, but if I can't figure that out, that'll be for another post. Also I'm running it as root which is not a good idea so I'm guessing/hoping it'll work fine from a user account.

(And oh yea, I keep forgetting about dnf, (not to be confused with the puzzle competition term).)

Hey thanks so much misc, this actually worked.

Hey last question- to switch back to "real" console, ctrl-alt-f4 no longer works. Is there still a way, or do I have no other option but to reboot to runlevel 3 instead of 5? Btw I'd rather (eventually) stick with 5 when the dust is all settled. Call me old-fashioned... (because I am, haha). I can ctrl-alt-f2 to get a prompt, but the only way to ctrl-c the xfce session is to be on the console that started it (f4), and if I switch to f4, I get the gray box.

Anyway I can probably figure that out if you don't know off the top of your head.

Thanks again! woo!

m

Last edited by Rotwang2; 12-28-2017 at 10:57 PM.
 
Old 12-30-2017, 06:52 AM   #18
Rotwang2
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2014
Distribution: Ubuntu, Centos, Fedora
Posts: 81

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Oh fyi for anyone who wants to know more-

To kill the open gnome processes I googled around and found:

pkill x

And that worked, but... I read up on pkill and that looks like a blunt weapon. I guess I could just kill all the gdm processes with killall... but is that everything?

Anyway though- another sneaky thing you can do that works- you can install vnc. It's all pretty painless

dnf install tigervnc-server -y then set up your passwords, etc, here:

https://www.atlantic.net/community/h...wn-vnc-server/

Then from another machine when you vnc in, it starts a gnome session and it all looks fine, bypassing your gfx card and display, right. I guess from there you can do all that initial setup stuff like language, timezone, keyboard or whatever, I didn't bother, but just letting you know that's a sneaky simple move.

-Rotwang

Last edited by Rotwang2; 12-30-2017 at 06:57 AM.
 
  


Reply

Tags
fedora, weirdness


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
font problem on a fresh install of Slack 13 mattydee Slackware 2 01-27-2010 04:50 PM
login problem on fresh install mobouser Mandriva 4 01-29-2005 04:02 PM
Fresh 9.1 install/ compile and some weird sound/mozilla problems Abe_the_Man Slackware 2 11-28-2003 01:47 AM
fresh install screen problem chado Fedora 2 11-26-2003 01:44 PM
LILO problem with fresh install Bruce Hill Linux - Software 26 08-11-2003 08:26 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Fedora

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration