LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Red Hat
User Name
Password
Red Hat This forum is for the discussion of Red Hat Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 06-14-2019, 09:46 AM   #1
paqman
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jun 2019
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Filesystem wouldn't mount, but gave no errors


This post is more of a post-fix root cause hunting expedition. The problem was fixed by a reboot. :-D The box in question is a RHEL 7.6 server. Technically Oracle Linux Server 7.6. I have a 1TB disk that I partitioned using fdisk into 3 partitions. 2 of which are getting used as raw Oracle ASM disks, and the other one is a 100GB partition that I wanted mount up as an xfs file system. I ran mkfs on the partition, put it in the fstab, and tried to mount it. No errors. Exit code is zero. But it didn't mount. Mount command does not show it mounted at all. I tried reformatting as ext4, same problem. I was trying to mount it using the UUID, which I checked with blkid and verified was correct. I tried mounting it using just the path to the disk, nothing would fix it.

And so I figured what the heck I'm probably forgetting some command that would probably get run on boot, so I rebooted. And it mounts up just fine.

So the question is what was I missing that a reboot fixed? I can unmount and remount it to my hearts content now with no issues.

And to piggyback on my own post, if anyone happens to know, those two ASM disks that I created don't seem to persist on reboot. Using mknod, I created them in /dev/oracleasm/disks, but when I reboot, they go away. I assume I am missing some oracleasm command or config in a file somewhere. As you can tell, Redhat is not my strong suit. I am an HPUX admin mostly, but hey we all have to work on systems we're not comfy with. Thanks for your time!
 
Old 06-15-2019, 02:10 AM   #2
mrmazda
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2016
Location: USA
Distribution: openSUSE, Debian, Knoppix, Mageia, Fedora, others
Posts: 1,485

Rep: Reputation: 443Reputation: 443Reputation: 443Reputation: 443Reputation: 443
As a multibooter who does a lot of repartitioning and cloning as part of OS testing and as backup routine, I think this describes what happens to me on irritatingly frequent occasions, particularly when Fedora is involved. Rather than trying to figure out why a silent mount failure occurs, I just reboot and get on with life. If this happens to you again, give partprobe a try. I think the problem is whatever is supposed to is not keeping device names, UUIDs, Labels and symlinks in /dev/disk/ all in sync when partition tables are manipulated. Mount thinks it succeeds whether or not it actually does, or mount succeeds, but the storage device driver and/or kernel don't get the message.
 
Old 06-15-2019, 07:37 AM   #3
ehartman
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2007
Location: Delft, The Netherlands
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 575

Rep: Reputation: 271Reputation: 271Reputation: 271
Quote:
Originally Posted by paqman View Post
And to piggyback on my own post, if anyone happens to know, those two ASM disks that I created don't seem to persist on reboot.
/dev is REcreated at every reboot (by udev), so any user-created device files are lost AT those reboots.
You should create extra rules for them in the /etc/udev/rules.d directory for udev to know that they should be created again.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SATA Laptop Drive wouldn't mount :( manuleka Linux - Hardware 8 05-17-2009 05:30 PM
So memtest86+ gave me errors -- what to do? 1veedo General 3 03-24-2008 04:01 PM
internal SD drive wouldn't mount! jem81 Linux - Laptop and Netbook 3 12-21-2007 05:22 AM
cd wouldn't mount issues tededlin Linux - Newbie 3 07-28-2006 11:45 PM
Errors, Errors, and more Errors (KDE 3.4.x GUI Errors) Dralnu Linux - Software 2 05-13-2006 08:30 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Red Hat

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration