LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware
User Name
Password
Linux - Hardware This forum is for Hardware issues.
Having trouble installing a piece of hardware? Want to know if that peripheral is compatible with Linux?

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 06-08-2019, 12:11 PM   #16
Quakeboy02
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2006
Distribution: Debian Linux 9 (stretch)
Posts: 3,354

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 126Reputation: 126

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadow_7 View Post
Put "autospawn = no" in /etc/pulse/client.conf and you can stop/start pulseaudio.

$ pulseaudio --kill

$ pulseaudio --start

$ sudo modinfo snd-hda-intel
Thanks for these! They didn't help, but I didn't know how to do them. LOL

I'm down to just "options snd-hda-intel model=generic" in my snd_hda_intel.conf file, now that I know that probe_mask is -1 (all ones) by default. I have headphones working. They switch the sink back and forth to HDMI like they should, but no output sound on the TV. I tried both HDMI input ports on the TV, as well as a new HDMI cable. This is Big progress. But it seems that I just can't finish the last mile.

I guess about the last thing to do is to put the Win 10 disk back in the computer and see if it works for sound once everything is configured. Maybe I somehow broke the sound on the connector? I dunno.

Last edited by Quakeboy02; 06-08-2019 at 12:12 PM.
 
Old 06-08-2019, 06:17 PM   #17
Quakeboy02
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2006
Distribution: Debian Linux 9 (stretch)
Posts: 3,354

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 126Reputation: 126
So, after booting from power off, it became clear that something was retaining the last single_cmd, so I had to add that back to the conf file. But, that's where I'm stuck. I've got headphones, and it switches when the phones go in or out. I've just got no HDMI sound. Also, I did put the Win 10 disk in without changing anything else. The HDMI sound works with it in.

Code:
options snd-hda-intel single_cmd=1
options snd-hda-intel model=generic
 
Old 06-10-2019, 05:00 AM   #18
Shadow_7
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Distribution: debian
Posts: 3,858
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 819Reputation: 819Reputation: 819Reputation: 819Reputation: 819Reputation: 819Reputation: 819
You might need a fancy .asoundrc if your HDMI audio only takes certain protocols like AAC, MP3, or other "formatted" audio, not PCM. I'm not quite sure though. My HDMI monitor lets you change from "digital" to "Line-In", and has a DDC/CI option to toggle ON/OFF in the monitors menu. None of which makes my HDMI audio work. Where outputing just to the hw:#,3 on my HDTV would work almost brain dead. So I might need a fancy .asoundrc file myself. I know my pocketchip doesn't output audio without it's fancy .asoundrc. But it's hardly a standard piece of kit and doesn't do HDMI.
 
Old 06-10-2019, 11:08 AM   #19
Quakeboy02
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2006
Distribution: Debian Linux 9 (stretch)
Posts: 3,354

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 126Reputation: 126
Hi Shadow 7,

I'm using Debian Stretch. Just for grins, I did a clean install of Stretch on an old disk I had laying around. No sound, codec doesn't load, wakeup waits. Grrrrrrrrrrrr. So, sometime in the past, possibly even in a previous release of Debian, I fixed something in the sound on the machine this OS was originally installed on. That was either an ASUS mobo with an AMD FX-8350 or something like that, or my little eeebox which is where I lifted the mostly running OS from. Oh, and to make matters worse, I've upgraded to all SSD drives, and the old drive I installed to was a hardware drive. ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZz LOL

Yeah, getting frustrated at all this time lost. So, I think that next I'm going to download a live CD and see what that does with this computer. I'll post the results when they happen.
 
Old 06-12-2019, 12:30 PM   #20
Quakeboy02
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2006
Distribution: Debian Linux 9 (stretch)
Posts: 3,354

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 126Reputation: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadow_7 View Post
You might need a fancy .asoundrc if your HDMI audio only takes certain protocols like AAC, MP3, or other "formatted" audio, not PCM. I'm not quite sure though. My HDMI monitor lets you change from "digital" to "Line-In", and has a DDC/CI option to toggle ON/OFF in the monitors menu. None of which makes my HDMI audio work. Where outputing just to the hw:#,3 on my HDTV would work almost brain dead. So I might need a fancy .asoundrc file myself. I know my pocketchip doesn't output audio without it's fancy .asoundrc. But it's hardly a standard piece of kit and doesn't do HDMI.
Here's the HDMI output from dmesg. As you can see, it only has dig-out. So, do I need something to tell it some kind of protocol for that through .asoundrc?
Code:
[    2.535654] snd_hda_codec_generic hdaudioC0D2:    speaker_outs=0 (0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[    2.535655] snd_hda_codec_generic hdaudioC0D2:    hp_outs=0 (0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[    2.535656] snd_hda_codec_generic hdaudioC0D2:    mono: mono_out=0x0
[    2.535656] snd_hda_codec_generic hdaudioC0D2:    dig-out=0x3/0x0
[    2.535657] snd_hda_codec_generic hdaudioC0D2:    inputs:
Also, I've tried a number of different "models" in /etc/modprobe.d/snd_hda_intel.conf, and the only one that shows any real sign of promise is "generic". Everything else gets a mess for the hdaudioC0D2 i.e. HDMI results.

I'm wondering if it would be easier to get a set of cheap powered speakers, or maybe even bluetooth speakers. Except bluetooth would probably be the same nightmare as this, which I don't need.
 
Old 06-13-2019, 08:47 AM   #21
Shadow_7
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Distribution: debian
Posts: 3,858
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 819Reputation: 819Reputation: 819Reputation: 819Reputation: 819Reputation: 819Reputation: 819
bluetooth nightmares are just having a driver that works and getting the device to connect. Which might not be an issue worth noting with "blessed" hardware and a DE with an easy button.

Running debian stretch here as well. With a flatpak of the game I tends towards, I don't need buster (yet) for the more recent video driver(amdgpu) (although I tend to recall HDMI audio working in buster/testing, since pulseaudio would switch to it everytime the screen blanked).
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 06-13-2019, 11:39 AM   #22
Quakeboy02
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2006
Distribution: Debian Linux 9 (stretch)
Posts: 3,354

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 126Reputation: 126
I just installed the backport package and I'm running the higher kernel. No improvement on the sound, but at least the onboard wifi is working, so I can pack away the wifi dongle. I've pretty much run out of ideas with the sound. I tried a lot of stuff from looking at the code. Most things I tried it returned "unplugged" for all the HDMI stuff. Generic seems to want to work, but it doesn't. At least it's not marked "unplugged", it simply doesn't work. So, I don't know whether that means I don't have something set right, or it's just so lost it doesn't know what to do. I did download the firmware package for Buster, so I may give that a try.
 
Old 06-13-2019, 01:45 PM   #23
Quakeboy02
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2006
Distribution: Debian Linux 9 (stretch)
Posts: 3,354

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 126Reputation: 126
W00h00!!!!! I got it working. As it turns out, I don't need any files in /etc/modprobe.d, nor do I need a .asoundrc file. I found the solution here:

https://askubuntu.com/questions/1015...eadphones-work
[code]

1. Open /etc/default/grub
2. Add: GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="i915.alpha_support=1"
3. Run sudo update-grub to make the change effective
4. Reboot

After that, it just works. The key thing about this is that this computer has a Coffee lake processor.

The article links here for the explanation.
https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=article&item=coffee-uhd-graphics&num=1
 
Old 06-14-2019, 06:43 AM   #24
Shadow_7
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Distribution: debian
Posts: 3,858
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 819Reputation: 819Reputation: 819Reputation: 819Reputation: 819Reputation: 819Reputation: 819
i915 is the intel video driver. With coffee lake coming out Oct 2018, so the newest of the CPUs. Not surprised that you needed to add a module parameter. You could also add that parameter in /etc/modprobe.d/

# echo "options i915 alpha_support=1" > /etc/modprobe.d/custom_intel.conf

Why not, you might want to boot with LiLo or some other craziness.

# modinfo i915
Code:
filename:       /lib/modules/4.9.0-9-amd64/kernel/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915.ko
license:        GPL and additional rights
description:    Intel Graphics
author:         Intel Corporation
author:         Tungsten Graphics, Inc.
firmware:       i915/bxt_dmc_ver1_07.bin
firmware:       i915/skl_dmc_ver1_26.bin
firmware:       i915/kbl_dmc_ver1_01.bin
firmware:       i915/kbl_guc_ver9_14.bin
firmware:       i915/bxt_guc_ver8_7.bin
firmware:       i915/skl_guc_ver6_1.bin
alias:          pci:v00008086d0000593Bsv*sd*bc03sc*i*
...
...
alias:          pci:v00008086d00003577sv*sd*bc03sc*i*
depends:        drm_kms_helper,drm,video,button,i2c-algo-bit
retpoline:      Y
intree:         Y
vermagic:       4.9.0-9-amd64 SMP mod_unload modversions 
parm:           modeset:Use kernel modesetting [KMS] (0=disable, 1=on, -1=force vga console preference [default]) (int)
parm:           panel_ignore_lid:Override lid status (0=autodetect, 1=autodetect disabled [default], -1=force lid closed, -2=force lid open) (int)
parm:           semaphores:Use semaphores for inter-ring sync (default: -1 (use per-chip defaults)) (int)
parm:           enable_rc6:Enable power-saving render C-state 6. Different stages can be selected via bitmask values (0 = disable; 1 = enable rc6; 2 = enable deep rc6; 4 = enable deepest rc6). For example, 3 would enable rc6 and deep rc6, and 7 would enable everything. default: -1 (use per-chip default) (int)
parm:           enable_dc:Enable power-saving display C-states. (-1=auto [default]; 0=disable; 1=up to DC5; 2=up to DC6) (int)
parm:           enable_fbc:Enable frame buffer compression for power savings (default: -1 (use per-chip default)) (int)
parm:           lvds_channel_mode:Specify LVDS channel mode (0=probe BIOS [default], 1=single-channel, 2=dual-channel) (int)
parm:           lvds_use_ssc:Use Spread Spectrum Clock with panels [LVDS/eDP] (default: auto from VBT) (int)
parm:           vbt_sdvo_panel_type:Override/Ignore selection of SDVO panel mode in the VBT (-2=ignore, -1=auto [default], index in VBT BIOS table) (int)
parm:           reset:Attempt GPU resets (default: true) (bool)
parm:           enable_hangcheck:Periodically check GPU activity for detecting hangs. WARNING: Disabling this can cause system wide hangs. (default: true) (bool)
parm:           enable_ppgtt:Override PPGTT usage. (-1=auto [default], 0=disabled, 1=aliasing, 2=full, 3=full with extended address space) (int)
parm:           enable_execlists:Override execlists usage. (-1=auto [default], 0=disabled, 1=enabled) (int)
parm:           enable_psr:Enable PSR (0=disabled, 1=enabled - link mode chosen per-platform, 2=force link-standby mode, 3=force link-off mode) Default: -1 (use per-chip default) (int)
parm:           preliminary_hw_support:Enable preliminary hardware support. (int)
parm:           disable_power_well:Disable display power wells when possible (-1=auto [default], 0=power wells always on, 1=power wells disabled when possible) (int)
parm:           enable_ips:Enable IPS (default: true) (int)
parm:           fastboot:Try to skip unnecessary mode sets at boot time (default: false) (bool)
parm:           prefault_disable:Disable page prefaulting for pread/pwrite/reloc (default:false). For developers only. (bool)
parm:           load_detect_test:Force-enable the VGA load detect code for testing (default:false). For developers only. (bool)
parm:           force_reset_modeset_test:Force a modeset during gpu reset for testing (default:false). For developers only. (bool)
parm:           invert_brightness:Invert backlight brightness (-1 force normal, 0 machine defaults, 1 force inversion), please report PCI device ID, subsystem vendor and subsystem device ID to dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org, if your machine needs it. It will then be included in an upcoming module version. (int)
parm:           disable_display:Disable display (default: false) (bool)
parm:           enable_cmd_parser:Enable command parsing (1=enabled [default], 0=disabled) (int)
parm:           use_mmio_flip:use MMIO flips (-1=never, 0=driver discretion [default], 1=always) (int)
parm:           mmio_debug:Enable the MMIO debug code for the first N failures (default: off). This may negatively affect performance. (int)
parm:           verbose_state_checks:Enable verbose logs (ie. WARN_ON()) in case of unexpected hw state conditions. (bool)
parm:           nuclear_pageflip:Force atomic modeset functionality; asynchronous mode is not yet supported. (default: false). (bool)
parm:           edp_vswing:Ignore/Override vswing pre-emph table selection from VBT (0=use value from vbt [default], 1=low power swing(200mV),2=default swing(400mV)) (int)
parm:           enable_guc_loading:Enable GuC firmware loading (-1=auto, 0=never [default], 1=if available, 2=required) (int)
parm:           enable_guc_submission:Enable GuC submission (-1=auto, 0=never [default], 1=if available, 2=required) (int)
parm:           guc_log_level:GuC firmware logging level (-1:disabled (default), 0-3:enabled) (int)
parm:           enable_dp_mst:Enable multi-stream transport (MST) for new DisplayPort sinks. (default: true) (bool)
parm:           inject_load_failure:Force an error after a number of failure check points (0:disabled (default), N:force failure at the Nth failure check point) (uint)
parm:           enable_dpcd_backlight:Enable support for DPCD backlight control (default:false) (bool)
parm:           enable_gvt:Enable support for Intel GVT-g graphics virtualization host support(default:false) (bool)
Hmmm..... doesn't seem like my non-backport-ed kernel driver has that parameter / option in debian stretch.

BTW, Buster will become the new stable next month (July 2019) by the looks of things. Release parties and all that jazz.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 06-14-2019, 07:29 AM   #25
Quakeboy02
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2006
Distribution: Debian Linux 9 (stretch)
Posts: 3,354

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 126Reputation: 126
Yeah, I did have an i915 setting in modprobe.d, but it was the wrong one. LOL I've got my sources.list setup for stretch, so I won't change dists without doing something affirmative. I've tried dist upgrades in the past, and except for one, they were all disasters. So, I'll have to give long thought to upgrading to Buster. Maybe next year or the year after. Usually it's when there's something I want to do that I can't that causes me to upgrade. But, now that I'm living on this sailboat, my needs are pretty straightforward.

Thanks for all the help, even if you didn't come up with the final solution. Frustrating problems like this can make for a lonely job.

Bob
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
(ASUS Xonar DX sound card) Only its Side output has sound. Akeke Linux - Hardware 3 04-13-2011 08:41 AM
asus p5b or asus p5b-e on f edora core 6? cizzi Linux - Software 0 01-31-2007 04:46 PM
Printer? How resume Jobs if Printer Stopped: jobs stopped? Reluctant Linux - General 0 06-03-2006 01:36 PM
No sound: Kubuntu 5.10, Asus A8N SLi Deluxe, onboard sound Lordandmaker Ubuntu 2 05-14-2006 12:51 PM
Does SuSe 8.0 support Asus A7V333 and Asus V7100 Magic GeForce 2? chansky Linux - Hardware 2 08-26-2002 01:57 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration