LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Zorin OS
User Name
Password
Zorin OS This forum is for the discussion of Zorin OS Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 08-11-2020, 08:25 AM   #1
Ripley
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2020
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Incompatible display?


Hi, I'm running a dual boot Win10 and Zorin for awhile and did not had issues until now.

I bought an AOC screen model G2590FX, somehow I have compatibility issue with Zorin. It's working fine on my OSX and Win10. I've tried HDMI and Display port, both were working with my older monitor.

Into the "Screen Display" panel, the Resolution have no choice as it should.

I tried to run gnome-panel after installing it it does not work.

Any ideas?

Thanks
 
Old 08-12-2020, 04:06 AM   #2
mrmazda
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2016
Location: USA
Distribution: openSUSE, Debian, Knoppix, Mageia, Fedora, others
Posts: 2,645
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 867Reputation: 867Reputation: 867Reputation: 867Reputation: 867Reputation: 867Reputation: 867
Please use the # icon above the input window here to paste in the complete input and output from doing the following using an X terminal:
Code:
inxi -SGxx
xrandr
if [ -f ~/.local/share/xorg/Xorg.0.log ] ; then pastebinit ~/.local/share/xorg/Xorg.0.log; elif [ -f /var/log/Xorg.0.log ] ; then pastebinit /var/log/Xorg.0.log; fi
If you get a command not found error, please install the missing command and try again.
 
Old 08-12-2020, 07:46 AM   #3
Ripley
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2020
Posts: 7

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
I have an error on the third command is their something missing?

Thanks for the help.

Code:
ripley@Xenomorph:~$ inxi -SGxx
System:    Host: Xenomorph Kernel: 5.4.0-42-generic x86_64
           bits: 64 gcc: 7.5.0
           Desktop: Gnome 3.30.2 (Gtk 3.22.30-1ubuntu4) dm: gdm3
           Distro: Zorin OS 15.2
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA GP102 [GeForce GTX 1080 Ti]
           bus-ID: 09:00.0 chip-ID: 10de:1b06
           Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.20.8 )
           drivers: fbdev,nouveau (unloaded: modesetting,vesa)
           Resolution: 640x480@73.00hz
           OpenGL: renderer: llvmpipe (LLVM 10.0.0, 128 bits)
           version: 3.3 Mesa 20.0.8 (compat-v: 3.1) Direct Render: Yes

ripley@Xenomorph:~$ xrandr
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
Screen 0: minimum 640 x 480, current 640 x 480, maximum 640 x 480
default connected primary 640x480+0+0 0mm x 0mm
   640x480       73.00*

ripley@Xenomorph:~$ if [ -f ~/.local/share/xorg/Xorg.0.log ] ; then pastebinit ~/.local/share/xorg/Xorg.0.log; elif [ -f /var/log/Xorg.0.log ] ; then pastebinit /var/log/Xorg.0.log; fi
Bad API request, invalid api_dev_key
 
Old 08-12-2020, 10:02 AM   #4
mrmazda
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2016
Location: USA
Distribution: openSUSE, Debian, Knoppix, Mageia, Fedora, others
Posts: 2,645
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 867Reputation: 867Reputation: 867Reputation: 867Reputation: 867Reputation: 867Reputation: 867
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ripley View Post
Code:
$ inxi -SGxx
...
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA GP102 [GeForce GTX 1080 Ti]
           bus-ID: 09:00.0 chip-ID: 10de:1b06
           Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.20.8 )
           drivers: fbdev,nouveau (unloaded: modesetting,vesa)
           Resolution: 640x480@73.00hz
Running on the FBDEV driver is a fallback due to any number of reasons to fail to load a competent X driver, either FOSS modesetting DDX, or FOSS nouveau DDX, or NVidia's proprietary driver. The FBDEV driver is very crude, unable to do more than enable a basic VESA video mode, here, 640x480.

Quote:
Code:
$ xrandr
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
Screen 0: minimum 640 x 480, current 640 x 480, maximum 640 x 480
default connected primary 640x480+0+0 0mm x 0mm
   640x480       73.00*
This is a consequence of any competent driver's failure to load. Why it didn't load should be explained by Xorg.0.log.

Quote:
Code:
$ if [ -f ~/.local/share/xorg/Xorg.0.log ] ; then pastebinit ~/.local/share/xorg/Xorg.0.log; elif [ -f /var/log/Xorg.0.log ] ; then pastebinit /var/log/Xorg.0.log; fi
Bad API request, invalid api_dev_key
It works here in openSUSE and in Debian Buster. Something about the Zorin environment must be different that breaks it. What it's supposed to do is look for file ~/.local/share/xorg/Xorg.0.log and if found, upload it to a pastebin, which would be http://paste.debian.net/ on Debian or http://susepaste.org on openSUSE. If not found, then it would look for /var/log/Xorg.0.log and if found, upload it to a pastebin. You can check which and manually upload with a web browser at either of those two URLs or http://pastebin.com/ or equivalent.

Please provide input and output from:
Code:
sudo dpkg -l | egrep -i 'nouveau|nvidia'
 
Old 08-12-2020, 02:17 PM   #5
Ripley
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2020
Posts: 7

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
I've figured there's no existing xorg folder in my Zorin.

Here's the asked dump : https://pastebin.com/YMXj4k4d
 
Old 08-12-2020, 02:26 PM   #6
Ripley
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2020
Posts: 7

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Something new came up!

I've used the Advanced options for Zorin and booted with Linux 5.3.0-40-generic instead of Linux 5.3.0-42-generic and everything is fine on the resolution point of view...

I don't get it, am I stuck in this version forever :P
 
Old 08-12-2020, 02:32 PM   #7
colorpurple21859
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: florida panhandle
Distribution: slackware64-current, fedora,Xubuntu, others
Posts: 4,636

Rep: Reputation: 830Reputation: 830Reputation: 830Reputation: 830Reputation: 830Reputation: 830Reputation: 830
Is there any extra options on the linux line of the menu entry for Linux 5.3.0-40-generic in /boot/grub/grub.cfg versus Linux 5.3.0-42-generic
 
Old 08-12-2020, 03:30 PM   #8
Ripley
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2020
Posts: 7

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
There no diff between those two files, I made the check with the diff tools of Sublime.
 
Old 08-13-2020, 09:08 PM   #9
Ripley
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2020
Posts: 7

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Does it means it's a version problem? If so do I need to report it? BTW, I've open a support ticket with the Zorin team since I've paid my version and haven't heard from them and it's been a week. Anyone got some knowledge to share about this?

Last edited by Ripley; 08-13-2020 at 09:11 PM.
 
Old 08-17-2020, 07:59 PM   #10
Ripley
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2020
Posts: 7

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
I got my answer form Zorin's support and worked!

Quote:
It appears that you are using the NVIDIA drivers version 440. We have recently released NVIDIA's newer 450 graphics driver, which should hopefully fix the issue for you. In order to do so, please follow these steps:
Open the Terminal (Ctrl+Alt+T) and enter this command: sudo apt update
Open the Zorin Menu and go to "System Tools" > "Software Updater" and click on the "Settings..." button
Navigate to the "Additional Drivers" tab.
In the drivers list, select the "nvidia-driver-450" option and click "Apply Changes".
Reboot your computer to apply the changes.

Please note that we have also released the newer Linux kernel 5.4.0 as a software update, which should fix driver related bugs like these.
If the Linux kernel 5.4.0 doesn't appear in the Software Updater for you, please try opening the Terminal and entering this command to upgrade to it: sudo apt install linux-generic-hwe-18.04 --install-recommends
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
we have vfd pole display detected as hiddev0. how to display data on the vfd display kpr_hrc Linux - Newbie 2 03-21-2016 06:03 AM
Compiling Evolution 1.4 issues on Slackware 9 (incompatible db3 version) Obi-Wan_Kenobi Slackware 2 06-11-2003 11:54 AM
Getting an incompatible pointer type error... JStew Programming 4 03-06-2003 05:08 PM
Installing Wine - incompatible pointer type orange400 Linux - Software 1 03-03-2003 12:57 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Zorin OS

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration