LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Complete CCNA, CCNP & Red Hat Certification Training Bundle
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking
User Name
Password
Linux - Networking This forum is for any issue related to networks or networking.
Routing, network cards, OSI, etc. Anything is fair game.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 08-10-2018, 11:26 PM   #1
lucmove
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Location: Brazil
Distribution: Debian Jessie
Posts: 841

Rep: Reputation: 78
Finding and using IPFire behind a switch


I have this setup:

Code:
modem (AP) -> wifi -> IPFire (AP) -> eth -> desktop
                      |
                      wifi -> phone, tablet
I want to have this setup:
Code:
modem (AP) -> eth -> switch -> eth -> IPFire (AP)
                      |                 |
                      eth -> desktop    wifi -> phone, tablet
I tried it, and my desktop could only find the modem. My phone and tablet had no problem finding IPFire's access point (AP) though.

Any ideas?
 
Old 08-11-2018, 08:47 AM   #2
michaelk
Moderator
 
Registered: Aug 2002
Posts: 17,715

Rep: Reputation: 2380Reputation: 2380Reputation: 2380Reputation: 2380Reputation: 2380Reputation: 2380Reputation: 2380Reputation: 2380Reputation: 2380Reputation: 2380Reputation: 2380
Quote:
Finding and using IPFire behind a switch
Needs more detail. What are you trying to accomplish? I assume the IPFire(AP) is some appliance computer running IPFire linux.

Your original setup all devices are on the LAN side of the IPFire device and can "talk" to each other.

In your desired setup by default IPFire is acting as a firewall so the desktop is on a the "WAN" side of the firewall and isolated from phone and tablet which is on the LAN side. The desktop can find the IPFire IP address by looking at the attached devices on the MODEM or by running a nmap scan.
 
Old 08-12-2018, 12:21 AM   #3
lucmove
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Location: Brazil
Distribution: Debian Jessie
Posts: 841

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 78
What I don't like about the current setup is that IPFire is getting its Internet access from the modem over Wifi. I want it to use the Ethernet cable instead (and configure the modem to deny wireless access completely).

But I also want the desktop to connect to IPFire over Ethernet (and configure IPFire to deny admin rights to wireless cients).

So I would have to have two Ethernet ports on the notebook that runs IPFire (assuming IPFire would handle this accordingly), which I don't have.

So I am basically trying to use the switch as some kind of splitter/adapter for the one Ethernet port. I don't know if that is possible.

In case it's still not clear, I use the switch and the desktop interacts with the Internet directly through the switch only, and I want all desktop interaction with the Internet to be mediated by IPFire, which is also connected to the switch. I want IPFire to take over.

Last edited by lucmove; 08-12-2018 at 12:26 AM.
 
Old 08-12-2018, 01:27 PM   #4
scasey
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2013
Location: Tucson, AZ, USA
Distribution: CentOS 7.5
Posts: 1,998

Rep: Reputation: 626Reputation: 626Reputation: 626Reputation: 626Reputation: 626Reputation: 626
Doesn't the laptop have a cat5 and a wi-fi connection? Aren't those your "two Ethernet (read: networking) ports"?
Can't you just connect as you do now, but change the connection between the Modem and the IPfire to wired?
Code:
modem (AP) -> eth -> IPFire (AP) -> eth -> desktop
                      |
                      wifi -> phone, tablet
And then do as you describe...disable wi-fi on the modem and manage all connections with the IPFire appliance. No switch required.

What am I missing?

Last edited by scasey; 08-12-2018 at 01:28 PM.
 
Old 08-12-2018, 03:46 PM   #5
michaelk
Moderator
 
Registered: Aug 2002
Posts: 17,715

Rep: Reputation: 2380Reputation: 2380Reputation: 2380Reputation: 2380Reputation: 2380Reputation: 2380Reputation: 2380Reputation: 2380Reputation: 2380Reputation: 2380Reputation: 2380
Your diagram shows two ethernet ports on the laptop. The OP needs a USB ethernet adapter for to work. I assume the OP wants all devices behind the laptop firewall.
 
Old 08-12-2018, 07:51 PM   #6
scasey
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2013
Location: Tucson, AZ, USA
Distribution: CentOS 7.5
Posts: 1,998

Rep: Reputation: 626Reputation: 626Reputation: 626Reputation: 626Reputation: 626Reputation: 626
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelk View Post
Your diagram shows two ethernet ports on the laptop. The OP needs a USB ethernet adapter for to work. I assume the OP wants all devices behind the laptop firewall.
Doh!
 
Old 08-12-2018, 08:03 PM   #7
lucmove
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Location: Brazil
Distribution: Debian Jessie
Posts: 841

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelk View Post
Your diagram shows two ethernet ports on the laptop. The OP needs a USB ethernet adapter for to work. I assume the OP wants all devices behind the laptop firewall.
Your assumption is correct. I want all devices behind IPFire's firewall. Besides, I want Ethernet connections from the modem to IPFire and from IPFire to the desktop. That's why I won't just use the one Eth port to connect to the modem and have the desktop go through IPFire over Wifi.

I thought of buying a USB to Ethernet adapter, but I had this switch lying around doing nothing so I thought I should try it.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IPfire and pfsense jsherman0110 Linux - Networking 1 06-08-2017 04:03 PM
LXer: How to install OpenSC on IPFire firewall LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 09-26-2016 01:13 PM
LXer: IPFire 2.17 - Core Update 89 released LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 04-23-2015 11:42 AM
IpFire 2.9 Blal0ck Linux - Security 3 01-16-2011 07:05 PM
Can I use 2 ethernet cards for the green network in ipfire? rajcan Linux - Networking 3 07-06-2010 01:12 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:27 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration