LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Non-*NIX Forums > Programming
User Name
Password
Programming This forum is for all programming questions.
The question does not have to be directly related to Linux and any language is fair game.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 05-17-2018, 08:46 AM   #1
gginnj
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jun 2011
Posts: 14

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
including browscap.ini causing php to delay loading by about 2.5 secs - normal?


OK. So if I have the browscap.ini file in my php.ini file, php takes a little time to process it.

I do have one program that uses get_browser() - for which I needed to load the browscap file for.

In reading up on the browscap, it says one of the requirements is that the server needs to be able to dial out to update itself? I'm wondering if that delay may be DNS related. but I can't find anything in the .ini file that looks like a URL it's talking to.

Any ideas on how to keep the functionality of get_browser() but not slow down the program?
 
Old 05-17-2018, 08:52 AM   #2
gginnj
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jun 2011
Posts: 14

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Well.....

https://bugs.php.net/bug.php?id=70490
and
https://github.com/php/php-src/pull/2242
 
Old 05-17-2018, 08:56 AM   #3
gginnj
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jun 2011
Posts: 14

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
by using this file:
https://access.thelounge.net/harry/browscap.ini.txt (9M filesize)

I reduce the delay from 3.5 seconds down to 1 second

So it seems the size of the browscap file is my issue (33M)

GG
 
Old 05-18-2018, 04:39 PM   #4
keefaz
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 6,230

Rep: Reputation: 712Reputation: 712Reputation: 712Reputation: 712Reputation: 712Reputation: 712Reputation: 712
Check lite_php_browscap.ini... 373 KB
http://browscap.org/
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] php.ini.rpmsave instead of php.ini ilvista Linux - Server 3 02-01-2011 04:39 PM
Loading a php module using custom ini puppymagic Programming 1 09-09-2010 09:01 AM
Custom php.ini is not loading. jim.thornton Linux - Server 4 06-10-2008 11:55 AM
Running a command after a delay of n secs anjanesh Linux - Newbie 5 05-28-2006 05:00 PM
php.ini-dist to php.ini lord-fu Programming 10 05-02-2006 05:24 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Non-*NIX Forums > Programming

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration