LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 05-17-2018, 08:32 AM   #1
dTd
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Location: CT, USA
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 93

Rep: Reputation: 10
lilo config logic


I've a logic problem
I have a drive with 4 partitons

p1 = slackware 32b install
p2 = swap partition
p3 = /usr/local
p4 = slackware 64b installation

Now I've got this working, running lilo while logged into 32b slackware I had to install the 64b-huge kernel. Is there a way to configure lilo to read the kernel image from sda4 instead of /boot?

Here is the pertinent part of my configuration:

default = Slack32
# End LILO global section

# Linux bootable partition config begins
image = /boot/vmlinuz-generic-smp
initrd= /boot/initrd.gz
root = /dev/sda1
label = Slack32
read-only
image = /boot/vmlinuz-huge
root = /dev/sda4
label = Slack64
read-only
# Linux bootable partition config ends
other = /dev/sdb1
label = Win7
table = /dev/sda

I'm hoping there's some "image = " magic coming
 
Old 05-17-2018, 08:47 AM   #2
allend
Senior Member
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne
Distribution: Slackware-current
Posts: 4,998

Rep: Reputation: 1745Reputation: 1745Reputation: 1745Reputation: 1745Reputation: 1745Reputation: 1745Reputation: 1745Reputation: 1745Reputation: 1745Reputation: 1745Reputation: 1745
My approach is to create a subdirectory (say sda4 in your case) in /boot and then copy the kernel (and intrd.gz if using the generic kernel) into the new subdirectory.
Then in /etc/lilo.conf
Code:
image = /boot/sda4/vmlinuz-<version>
#initrd = /boot/sda4/initrd.gz
root = /dev/sda4
label = Slack64
read-only
 
Old 05-17-2018, 08:51 AM   #3
dTd
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Location: CT, USA
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 93

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 10
So there's no way of keeping them separate then, thank you for your reply.
 
Old 05-17-2018, 08:59 AM   #4
allend
Senior Member
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne
Distribution: Slackware-current
Posts: 4,998

Rep: Reputation: 1745Reputation: 1745Reputation: 1745Reputation: 1745Reputation: 1745Reputation: 1745Reputation: 1745Reputation: 1745Reputation: 1745Reputation: 1745Reputation: 1745
It depends where you want to maintain lilo.
The technique I described will work if you want to maintain lilo from your Slackware32, but still want to be able to boot to Slackware64.
If you want to maintain lilo from your Slackware64, but be able to run lilo when in Slackware32, then you need to have the Slackware64 partition mounted and run sbin/lilo in that partition with the -r option.

Last edited by allend; 05-17-2018 at 09:04 AM.
 
Old 05-17-2018, 12:13 PM   #5
colorpurple21859
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: florida panhandle
Distribution: slackware64-current, puppy, ubuntu
Posts: 2,465

Rep: Reputation: 368Reputation: 368Reputation: 368Reputation: 368
from inside of 64bt install lilo to sda4 and then chainload from the 32bt lilo. Then what ever one your using only have to remember to run lilo after an update.

Last edited by colorpurple21859; 05-17-2018 at 12:15 PM.
 
Old 05-17-2018, 01:44 PM   #6
enorbet
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Location: Virginia
Distribution: Slackware = Main OpSys for decades while testing others to keep up
Posts: 1,925

Rep: Reputation: 1819Reputation: 1819Reputation: 1819Reputation: 1819Reputation: 1819Reputation: 1819Reputation: 1819Reputation: 1819Reputation: 1819Reputation: 1819Reputation: 1819
I didn't see a "boot = /dev/foo" line in your config. That entry tells lilo where to install itself whether to a root partition, a boot partition, or an MBR. It is possible to boot either drive by lilo.conf or by installing to both hard drive's MBR and using your Boot Order BIOS selection depending on how your table reads.

The easiest way is to copy the needed files as posted by allend for anything on /dev/sdb, using the "other" line and installing with "boot = /dev/sda". I like installing lilo to each root system at least once so it is easy to recover from any boot errors with the Slackware Install Disk or any boot device.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LSI Logic / Symbios Logic 53c875 (rev 14) -> HP Storageworks 1/8 G2 gileravxr Linux - Hardware 0 07-21-2009 04:45 AM
Error output with LILO while updating my lilo.config adilturbo Linux - General 4 10-17-2006 04:10 PM
LILO Config tdking19 Linux - General 1 05-27-2005 09:42 PM
LILO / lilo.conf - can't change the config clearh20 Linux - Newbie 14 06-05-2003 09:20 PM
lilo config doodah Linux - Software 3 05-05-2001 12:43 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration