LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 05-23-2020, 03:32 PM   #16
shuv1t
Member
 
Registered: May 2020
Distribution: Manjaro
Posts: 30

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by colorpurple21859 View Post
Did you successfully run the make and 'make install' commands for your wifi adapter driver?
Yes make, make install seemed to run fine. modprobe didn't return anything though, but no errors either.
 
Old 05-23-2020, 03:53 PM   #17
colorpurple21859
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: florida panhandle
Distribution: slackware64-current, fedora,Xubuntu, others
Posts: 4,431

Rep: Reputation: 785Reputation: 785Reputation: 785Reputation: 785Reputation: 785Reputation: 785Reputation: 785
nevermind, I see where you got video working

Last edited by colorpurple21859; 05-23-2020 at 03:55 PM.
 
Old 05-23-2020, 04:30 PM   #18
colorpurple21859
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: florida panhandle
Distribution: slackware64-current, fedora,Xubuntu, others
Posts: 4,431

Rep: Reputation: 785Reputation: 785Reputation: 785Reputation: 785Reputation: 785Reputation: 785Reputation: 785
this is another git site for your driver, at the bottom of the readme has some suggestions to fix problems.
https://github.com/aircrack-ng/rtl8812au
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 05-23-2020, 04:50 PM   #19
shuv1t
Member
 
Registered: May 2020
Distribution: Manjaro
Posts: 30

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by colorpurple21859 View Post
this is another git site for your driver, at the bottom of the readme has some suggestions to fix problems.
https://github.com/aircrack-ng/rtl8812au
Ah, thank you so much for this! I will check it out immediately. Do I need to uninstall the previous drivers somehow?
 
Old 05-23-2020, 04:54 PM   #20
colorpurple21859
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: florida panhandle
Distribution: slackware64-current, fedora,Xubuntu, others
Posts: 4,431

Rep: Reputation: 785Reputation: 785Reputation: 785Reputation: 785Reputation: 785Reputation: 785Reputation: 785
try the suggestion for networkmanager first, and if that doesn't work try one of the usb mode switches.
 
Old 05-23-2020, 05:45 PM   #21
shuv1t
Member
 
Registered: May 2020
Distribution: Manjaro
Posts: 30

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 1
Ok so I've read a little about using make uninstall, but that only works if the author of the drivers chose to add an uninstall. My question is where do I run the "make uninstall" from? And also if I don't manage to uninstall it should I just try installing the new driver or am I better off reinstalling the entire OS?
 
Old 05-23-2020, 06:02 PM   #22
colorpurple21859
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: florida panhandle
Distribution: slackware64-current, fedora,Xubuntu, others
Posts: 4,431

Rep: Reputation: 785Reputation: 785Reputation: 785Reputation: 785Reputation: 785Reputation: 785Reputation: 785
Quote:
My question is where do I run the "make uninstall" from?
In the same directory that you ran make and make install
Quote:
And also if I don't manage to uninstall it should I just try installing the new driver
That is what I would try first.

Last edited by colorpurple21859; 05-23-2020 at 06:06 PM.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 05-23-2020, 06:31 PM   #23
shuv1t
Member
 
Registered: May 2020
Distribution: Manjaro
Posts: 30

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 1
Posting this from Debian and I'm a happy camper. Thank you all for helping me with this. Now it's time to explore!
 
Old 05-23-2020, 06:35 PM   #24
colorpurple21859
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: florida panhandle
Distribution: slackware64-current, fedora,Xubuntu, others
Posts: 4,431

Rep: Reputation: 785Reputation: 785Reputation: 785Reputation: 785Reputation: 785Reputation: 785Reputation: 785
Great you got it working.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My webserver stuck very often because of httpd processes duzap Linux - Server 2 07-17-2011 08:40 AM
New ATI fglrx driver working, but no accel. because of NVIDIA remnants? Haldrik Linux - Hardware 0 08-11-2004 11:23 AM
stuck because of iTunes Snerkel Linux - Software 5 08-07-2004 06:27 PM
cannot login because file system check fails because of bad magic number trutnev Linux - Newbie 1 03-23-2004 06:44 PM
I'm Stuck, so Stuck. basttrax Linux - General 3 11-14-2003 09:59 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration