LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 01-03-2020, 04:57 PM   #16
Qury
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: Dublin
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 190

Rep: Reputation: 167Reputation: 167

somewhere I've read that EFI only works properly if you set the chipset to ICH9 in virtualbox
 
Old 01-03-2020, 09:03 PM   #17
colorpurple21859
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: florida panhandle
Distribution: slackware64-current, fedora, ubuntu, others
Posts: 3,925

Rep: Reputation: 660Reputation: 660Reputation: 660Reputation: 660Reputation: 660Reputation: 660
Quote:
somewhere I've read that EFI only works properly if you set the chipset to ICH9 in virtualbox
That is not true, the chipset I'm using to boot virtualbox in efi mode is PIIX3
 
Old 01-03-2020, 10:14 PM   #18
colorpurple21859
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: florida panhandle
Distribution: slackware64-current, fedora, ubuntu, others
Posts: 3,925

Rep: Reputation: 660Reputation: 660Reputation: 660Reputation: 660Reputation: 660Reputation: 660
I coudn't duplicate your problem. I used your mkiso script as is only changed the -o option for the output file.

Was the iso tried on an already existing vm to begin with?
 
Old 01-04-2020, 01:03 AM   #19
Jeebizz
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: Slackware14.2 64-Bit Desktop, Devuan 2.0 ASCII Toshiba Satellite Notebook
Posts: 2,832

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 807Reputation: 807Reputation: 807Reputation: 807Reputation: 807Reputation: 807Reputation: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qury View Post
somewhere I've read that EFI only works properly if you set the chipset to ICH9 in virtualbox
I just checked, and it is set to PIIX3 for the chipset , I never actually touched that setting, so I don't know.


Quote:
Originally Posted by colorpurple21859 View Post
I coudn't duplicate your problem. I used your mkiso script as is only changed the -o option for the output file.

Was the iso tried on an already existing vm to begin with?
That was it, the VM already existed and I merely enabled EFI - *shrug* , I don't know why Virtualbox is so picky as in real life I would have the same use case, enable UEFI support or enable legacy. The solution was to delete the VM outright and start anew - again don't see why I would need to but whatever.

On my actual system, I will most likely still stay with legacy as I don't know why I would need UEFI yet - it is more for me to poke at mainly. What is weird still, I re-attached the ISO just to boot back the ISO, but the VM just boots Slackware , even though I made sure to have it boot via optical disc (iso) first, I don't know I guess Virtualbox still has its quirks with EFI.

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2020-01-04_00-04-13.png
Views:	9
Size:	51.9 KB
ID:	32214Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2020-01-04_00-04-27.png
Views:	7
Size:	47.0 KB
ID:	32215Click image for larger version

Name:	VirtualBox_Slackware_04_01_2020_00_04_35.png
Views:	9
Size:	3.6 KB
ID:	32212Click image for larger version

Name:	VirtualBox_Slackware_04_01_2020_00_04_37.png
Views:	7
Size:	36.7 KB
ID:	32213

So basically when there is another significant update to -Current or say when 15.0 finally is released, I still would have to delete the VM, because now Virtualbox doesn't boot my iso for whatever reason and just goes straight into Slackware.

Last edited by Jeebizz; 01-04-2020 at 03:12 AM.
 
Old 01-04-2020, 09:29 AM   #20
colorpurple21859
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: florida panhandle
Distribution: slackware64-current, fedora, ubuntu, others
Posts: 3,925

Rep: Reputation: 660Reputation: 660Reputation: 660Reputation: 660Reputation: 660Reputation: 660
Another question to ask if someone else has a similar problem..

Have you tried the f12 key when you first turn on the vm to select the cdrom?
Is the vbox on your slackware system? It may have something to do with vbox settings. I have a similar issue on vmware switching between legacy and efi mode, but not on vbox.

Last edited by colorpurple21859; 01-04-2020 at 09:31 AM.
 
Old 01-04-2020, 10:16 AM   #21
Jeebizz
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: Slackware14.2 64-Bit Desktop, Devuan 2.0 ASCII Toshiba Satellite Notebook
Posts: 2,832

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 807Reputation: 807Reputation: 807Reputation: 807Reputation: 807Reputation: 807Reputation: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by colorpurple21859 View Post
Another question to ask if someone else has a similar problem..

Have you tried the f12 key when you first turn on the vm to select the cdrom?
Is the vbox on your slackware system? It may have something to do with vbox settings. I have a similar issue on vmware switching between legacy and efi mode, but not on vbox.
I can answer that right out - f12 does nothing.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Ooooy. EFI boot mmx64.efi.efi not found bulgin Linux - Newbie 12 12-20-2018 12:03 PM
[SOLVED] Can't find /boot/efi/EFI/Slackware/vmlinuz kernel configuration ironQiu Slackware 4 02-09-2015 07:21 AM
boot efi disk with without a non-efi bios pc... masavini Programming 1 11-12-2013 09:48 PM
EFI main GPT overwritten everytime (when windows 7 runs) - structure of EFI masuch Linux - Newbie 2 07-20-2012 03:49 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration