LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Linux Power User Bundle
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking
User Name
Password
Linux - Networking This forum is for any issue related to networks or networking.
Routing, network cards, OSI, etc. Anything is fair game.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 08-11-2018, 12:06 PM   #1
mfoley
Senior Member
 
Registered: Oct 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio USA
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 1,473

Rep: Reputation: 122Reputation: 122
ASUS RT-N66U lost ability to be DNS for LAN


I have an ASUS RT-N66U router. Up until recently, it was acting as the DNS for my LAN. Now, it doesn't resolve any host names. This was useful so I didn't have to configure bind.

I tried the link https://unfinishedbitness.info/2015/...inalized-setup, but that didn't seem to help.

Does anyone have any idea what I need to do to get this router back in action as a DNS?
 
Old 08-11-2018, 12:54 PM   #2
scasey
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2013
Location: Tucson, AZ, USA
Distribution: CentOS 7.5
Posts: 1,998

Rep: Reputation: 626Reputation: 626Reputation: 626Reputation: 626Reputation: 626Reputation: 626
Typically the router gets its configuration, including DNS, from the ISP.
Have you logged in to the router to check it's settings?

I note in the manual that an "automatic" setup will happen on first installation or after the router has been reset to factory settings. Otherwise, there are instructions for manual setup, but with vague parts: "Check with your ISP for..."

I found the manual here...scroll down to find the appropriate language for download.
 
Old 08-11-2018, 02:12 PM   #3
pan64
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Mar 2012
Location: Hungary
Distribution: debian/ubuntu/suse ...
Posts: 11,483

Rep: Reputation: 3453Reputation: 3453Reputation: 3453Reputation: 3453Reputation: 3453Reputation: 3453Reputation: 3453Reputation: 3453Reputation: 3453Reputation: 3453Reputation: 3453
would be nice to know what's happened "before", if you could remember that....
 
Old 08-14-2018, 05:50 AM   #4
redfox2807
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2012
Distribution: Debian testing/stable, Gentoo, CentOS 7, Sailfish OS, Android
Posts: 164

Rep: Reputation: 29
I used to have an ASUS router that one day had started to act in similar way. I contacted my ISP support then and they told me that they had a number of calls because of a virus for ASUS routers that substitutes the DNS on it. Following their recommendation to do a factory reset helped indeed. After that I had installed OpenWrt on the router as ASUS didn't seem to provide fixes for the vulnerabilities in their routers at all.

P.s. it was several years ago actually, don't know if the information's still actual.
 
Old 08-14-2018, 07:15 AM   #5
michaelk
Moderator
 
Registered: Aug 2002
Posts: 17,715

Rep: Reputation: 2380Reputation: 2380Reputation: 2380Reputation: 2380Reputation: 2380Reputation: 2380Reputation: 2380Reputation: 2380Reputation: 2380Reputation: 2380Reputation: 2380
Was a couple of months ago...

https://www.techradar.com/news/vpnfi...tially-thought

I agree you should reset the router.
 
Old 08-15-2018, 10:19 AM   #6
mfoley
Senior Member
 
Registered: Oct 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio USA
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 1,473

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 122Reputation: 122
I did upgrade the firmware and restarted the router. I even powered it off/on. That didn't help. HOWEVER, yesterday it suddenly started working! Now doing 'host lanhostname' resolves. I have no idea why it stopped working and no idea why it started working again. If any of you have any ideas I'd love to hear them. Otherwise, I'll just mark this as solved.

Last edited by mfoley; 08-15-2018 at 10:24 AM.
 
Old 08-15-2018, 03:32 PM   #7
scasey
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2013
Location: Tucson, AZ, USA
Distribution: CentOS 7.5
Posts: 1,998

Rep: Reputation: 626Reputation: 626Reputation: 626Reputation: 626Reputation: 626Reputation: 626
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfoley View Post
I did upgrade the firmware and restarted the router. I even powered it off/on. That didn't help. HOWEVER, yesterday it suddenly started working! Now doing 'host lanhostname' resolves. I have no idea why it stopped working and no idea why it started working again. If any of you have any ideas I'd love to hear them. Otherwise, I'll just mark this as solved.
Upgrading the firmware would likely reset the router, which is what a couple of us thought you should do anyway.

Again, per the manual, resetting the router would cause it to initiate its automatic setup, thereby re-establishing the DNS setting from your ISP. That's my best guess, anyway.
 
Old 08-16-2018, 03:23 AM   #8
mfoley
Senior Member
 
Registered: Oct 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio USA
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 1,473

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 122Reputation: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by scasey View Post
Upgrading the firmware would likely reset the router, which is what a couple of us thought you should do anyway.

Again, per the manual, resetting the router would cause it to initiate its automatic setup, thereby re-establishing the DNS setting from your ISP. That's my best guess, anyway.
Hmmm, it seemed to take a couple of days for things to "re-establish". Well, that's probably as close as I'll get to figuring out the mystery.

Thanks all!
 
  


Reply

Tags
dns, router configuration


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lost the ability to click on Anything wadesmart Ubuntu 3 09-06-2009 09:04 AM
lost ability to add/remove a_c_g_t Fedora 5 10-26-2007 11:18 AM
Lost ability demsg VampireL0rd Linux - Software 1 03-03-2006 11:17 PM
lost ability to su bax Linux - Security 3 01-29-2005 04:32 AM
Lost printing ability struggler Linux - Newbie 1 02-21-2002 11:16 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:27 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration