LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Server
User Name
Password
Linux - Server This forum is for the discussion of Linux Software used in a server related context.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 09-15-2018, 10:58 AM   #1
supermario18b
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2018
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
NFS Client doesn't try to connect with the NFS Server


Hi everyone,

I share a folder via NFS with two PCs, this my /etc/exports:

Code:
/media/nfs         10.20.0.2(rw,sync,no_subtree_check) 192.168.1.13(rw,sync,no_subtree_check)
With the 192.168.1.13 works fine but with the 10.20.0.2 (via VPN) doesn't work.

On the 10.20.0.2 if I type "showmount -e" it shows:

Code:
Export list for 10.20.0.1:
/media/nfs 192.168.1.13,10.20.0.2
That shows the client can communicate with the server, I also checked that with tcpdump and I see the packages.

The Problem is that when I try to mount the folder the client 10.20.0.2 doesn't even try to contact the server. It says "mount.nfs: access denied by server while mounting 10.20.0.1:/media/nfs"

That could be some configuration Problem but it is not, because it doesn't even try to connect with the server. I checked that with tcpdump. Not a single Package was sent.

By the way the command was:

Code:
mount 10.20.0.1:/media/nfs /somepath
Do you have any suggestion?

Thank you

Last edited by supermario18b; 09-15-2018 at 11:24 AM.
 
Old 09-16-2018, 03:55 AM   #2
supermario18b
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2018
Posts: 3

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Which Services are required on the client? I only have nfs-common. I read that they could/should be more
The Client OS is debian 8

Edit:
I tried with nfs version 3

Code:
mount -vvv -t nfs -o vers=3 10.20.0.1:/media/nfs /somepath
Finally It sends packages to the server (tcpdump check). Unfortunately I still receive the message "access denied".

This is the output:

Code:
mount.nfs: trying text-based options 'vers=3,addr=10.20.0.1'
mount.nfs: prog 100003, trying vers=3, prot=6
mount.nfs: trying 10.20.0.1 prog 100003 vers 3 prot TCP port 2049
mount.nfs: prog 100005, trying vers=3, prot=17
mount.nfs: trying 10.20.0.1 prog 100005 vers 3 prot UDP port 57182
mount.nfs: mount(2): Permission denied
mount.nfs: access denied by server while mounting 10.20.0.1:/media/nfs
Firewall allows the connections. I checked that with telnet too. The permissions on /media/nfs are 777.

Last edited by supermario18b; 09-16-2018 at 05:06 AM.
 
Old 09-16-2018, 07:47 AM   #3
supermario18b
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2018
Posts: 3

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Now I also noticed that the nfs-common.service on the client says:

Starting NFS common utilities: statdmount: rpc_pipefs is write-protected, mounting read-only

Do I need the rpc_pipefs?
 
Old 09-18-2018, 02:17 AM   #4
MadeInGermany
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2011
Location: Simplicity
Posts: 882

Rep: Reputation: 379Reputation: 379Reputation: 379Reputation: 379
"access denied by server" means you need to check the NFS exports on the server. Normally /etc/exports
 
Old 09-19-2018, 01:17 PM   #5
guzzi
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Location: Lawrence, KS
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 307

Rep: Reputation: 39
From reading the man page on exports you may find:

Each line contains an export point and a whitespace-separated list of clients allowed to mount the file system at that point.

Could the fix be this simple?
 
Old 09-20-2018, 06:23 AM   #6
dc.901
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2018
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
I have never used multiple IPs on same line like you have.
What I normally do is:

Code:
/media/nfs         10.20.0.2(rw,sync,no_subtree_check) 
/media/nfs         192.168.1.13(rw,sync,no_subtree_check)
And never had any problems. Have you tried this? If not, may want to try and restart/reload NFS server service.
 
Old 09-20-2018, 11:49 AM   #7
MadeInGermany
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2011
Location: Simplicity
Posts: 882

Rep: Reputation: 379Reputation: 379Reputation: 379Reputation: 379
Do you have a special NIC setup?
Two IP addresses? A tun interface? A nat interface?
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] NFS mount fails (times out): NFS server is in DMZ, NFS client is in intranet Hiroshi Linux - Networking 2 05-24-2010 10:22 AM
Linux NFS client <--> Leopard NFS server ACL support tplessers Linux - Networking 0 02-17-2010 04:28 AM
nfs server on ubuntu doesn't play nice with nfs client on solaris mathiraj Linux - Networking 11 09-15-2009 02:08 PM
Can't connect from slackware nfs client to rhel nfs server llattan Linux - Server 2 04-21-2009 09:49 AM
NFS client = Linux, NFS server = Mac OS X Tiger --> Hell of a problem make Linux - Networking 9 03-10-2006 05:16 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Server

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration