LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware
User Name
Password
Linux - Hardware This forum is for Hardware issues.
Having trouble installing a piece of hardware? Want to know if that peripheral is compatible with Linux?

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 11-30-2022, 12:21 PM   #1
Pen guin
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2019
Posts: 175

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Linux is saying I have a 1.5TB drive, when I don't.


I've only bought 1TB drives, yet Linux is saying I have a 1.5TB drive with a long alphanumeric number, and it's not the model number of the drive.

It says there are 22 files on the drive with 1.4TB free. To make matters worse, Windows says Drive E is full with - wait for it - zero bytes of information on it. And it's only a year old. Disk info, says it's in good health.
 
Old 11-30-2022, 12:33 PM   #2
wpeckham
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2010
Location: Continental USA
Distribution: Debian, Ubuntu, RedHat, DSL, Puppy, CentOS, Knoppix, Mint-DE, Sparky, VSIDO, tinycore, Q4OS,Manjaro
Posts: 4,713

Rep: Reputation: 2302Reputation: 2302Reputation: 2302Reputation: 2302Reputation: 2302Reputation: 2302Reputation: 2302Reputation: 2302Reputation: 2302Reputation: 2302Reputation: 2302
Welcome to the world of differences between based 2 Tera and based ten tera, and the wonders of formatting overhead with different reporting by different operating systems. It is SO much fun!
 
Old 11-30-2022, 12:38 PM   #3
boughtonp
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Location: UK
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 3,069

Rep: Reputation: 2166Reputation: 2166Reputation: 2166Reputation: 2166Reputation: 2166Reputation: 2166Reputation: 2166Reputation: 2166Reputation: 2166Reputation: 2166Reputation: 2166

Ok. You've posted a bunch of statements, but zero questions.


If your intent is to get help, you need to provide more information than you have.

Some of that can be provided by "inxi", "lsblk" and "df" commands.

You say it's a year old - so it was working fine previously and has unexpectedly changed behaviour?

 
Old 11-30-2022, 01:21 PM   #4
jailbait
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Virginia, USA
Distribution: Debian 11
Posts: 8,150

Rep: Reputation: 497Reputation: 497Reputation: 497Reputation: 497Reputation: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pen guin View Post
Linux is saying I have a 1.5TB drive with a long alphanumeric number, and it's not the model number of the drive.
Is it an alphanumeric number or a hexadecimal number? When Linux formats a partition it gives the partition a partition ID using hexadecimal digits 0 through f.
 
Old 11-30-2022, 03:45 PM   #5
michaelk
Moderator
 
Registered: Aug 2002
Posts: 23,891

Rep: Reputation: 5264Reputation: 5264Reputation: 5264Reputation: 5264Reputation: 5264Reputation: 5264Reputation: 5264Reputation: 5264Reputation: 5264Reputation: 5264Reputation: 5264
A labeled 1 TB drive is equal to ~931 GiB. A labeled 1.5 TB drive is equal to ~1.396 TiB.

So what you posted would make sense. Without any context as to how drive e: is formatted etc it is not possible to say why Windows thinks it is full.
 
Old 12-03-2022, 09:50 AM   #6
jefro
Moderator
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Posts: 21,604

Rep: Reputation: 3540Reputation: 3540Reputation: 3540Reputation: 3540Reputation: 3540Reputation: 3540Reputation: 3540Reputation: 3540Reputation: 3540Reputation: 3540Reputation: 3540
Partition manager from command line in Windows should report same.
 
Old 12-07-2022, 07:27 PM   #7
Pen guin
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2019
Posts: 175

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by jailbait View Post
Is it an alphanumeric number or a hexadecimal number? When Linux formats a partition it gives the partition a partition ID using hexadecimal digits 0 through f.
I found out later that, that alphanumeric number was its UUID...
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LVM: pvcreate fails on 5TB drive with "pe_align (2048 sectors) must not be less than pe_align_offset (8388607 sectors)" furryspider Slackware 12 10-14-2016 06:21 PM
Up2date keeps saying I have a download waiting when I don't? hitbob Red Hat 8 09-17-2003 01:16 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration