LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Desktop
User Name
Password
Linux - Desktop This forum is for the discussion of all Linux Software used in a desktop context.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 01-15-2020, 02:17 PM   #1
Be4stElectrjc
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2017
Location: Italy
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: 0
Monitors Management


Hi, have 5 monitors and i run Ubuntu 19.10. My GPU's max is 4, but it's not a problem since i need 3 maximum active simultaneously. Even if i have settings working (other 2 disabled) in the login screen and in the session, during the transition output is pushed on all monitors attached (and of course this causes a crash, since GPU can't handle... ). Tried to ignore the ones i don't use with xorg.conf, but maybe it's needed something more drastic than that.

Last edited by Be4stElectrjc; 01-15-2020 at 02:19 PM.
 
Old 01-17-2020, 08:27 PM   #2
frankbell
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Virginia, USA
Distribution: Slackware, Ubuntu MATE, Mageia, and whatever VMs I happen to be playing with
Posts: 15,794
Blog Entries: 27

Rep: Reputation: 4635Reputation: 4635Reputation: 4635Reputation: 4635Reputation: 4635Reputation: 4635Reputation: 4635Reputation: 4635Reputation: 4635Reputation: 4635Reputation: 4635
Be4stElectrjc, I suspect you are not getting activity in this thread because not many persons use so many monitors.

I did a web search for "ubuntu with multiple monitors" but most of the articles were talking about two monitors. I included the link on the off chance that one of the articles might prove useful to you.
 
Old 01-18-2020, 09:26 PM   #3
Be4stElectrjc
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2017
Location: Italy
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 2

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Hi, discovered that's a problem with GNOME. Since it works with XFCE using the same NVIDIA drivers.
Will move to specific forums.
 
Old 01-18-2020, 09:41 PM   #4
frankbell
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Virginia, USA
Distribution: Slackware, Ubuntu MATE, Mageia, and whatever VMs I happen to be playing with
Posts: 15,794
Blog Entries: 27

Rep: Reputation: 4635Reputation: 4635Reputation: 4635Reputation: 4635Reputation: 4635Reputation: 4635Reputation: 4635Reputation: 4635Reputation: 4635Reputation: 4635Reputation: 4635
Thanks for the update. Glad you're making progress.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Fedora 25 with radeon HD4850 x2 and 4 monitors. 2 monitors remain foggy omniatronic Fedora 1 07-16-2017 05:42 AM
[SOLVED] RealVNC on 4 Monitors, Can only Access 2 Monitors u9wy Linux - Software 2 11-01-2012 10:14 AM
How HA monitors services or it just monitors connectivity? tanveer Linux - Networking 0 11-12-2008 03:37 AM
2 monitors, nvidia, problem with window-size (maximize uses both monitors) meximex Linux - Hardware 1 05-19-2004 05:37 AM
TV's, CRT Monitors, LCD Monitors... refresh rates and other questions MasterC General 13 05-12-2003 05:00 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Desktop

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration