LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking
User Name
Password
Linux - Networking This forum is for any issue related to networks or networking.
Routing, network cards, OSI, etc. Anything is fair game.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 05-12-2022, 02:48 PM   #1
byron.hawkins
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2019
Posts: 15

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Cannot reach LAN from Fedora 35 that is sharing Internet


In my cable ethernet configuration, a Fedora 35 workstation has 2 network interfaces:

1. if0 connected to an Internet router via DHCP
2. if1 connected to the LAN with a static IP 192.168.1.x

Machines in the LAN are only connected to this Fedora 35 workstation, and all machines in the network can access Internet.

The problem: my Fedora 35 workstation folio cannot reach machines on the LAN (subnet 192.168.1.0/24). It seems to be a problem with the routing table (some of these entries were mysteriously added after an update):

Code:
    Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Indic Metric Ref    Use Iface
    default         _gateway        0.0.0.0         UG    101    0        0 if0
    default         folio           0.0.0.0         UG    20100  0        0 if1
    10.0.0.0        0.0.0.0         255.255.0.0     U     101    0        0 if0
    192.168.1.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U     100    0        0 if1
    192.168.1.0     folio           255.255.255.0   UG    100    0        0 if1
    192.168.1.0     folio           255.255.255.0   UG    101    0        0 if0
    folio           0.0.0.0         255.255.255.255 UH    101    0        0 if0
How can I configure the routing table so that traffic to the subnet goes to if1 and all other traffic goes to if0? It seems like this should be simple but I've tried quite a few suggestions and nothing seems to work. If possible, please explain any suggestions in steps, or include a link to reference material, since I don't know much about linux networking.

If there is any way to configure the system to "route the obvious way by netmask", that would really be ideal.
 
Old 05-14-2022, 04:15 AM   #2
ferrari
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Location: Auckland, NZ
Distribution: openSUSE Leap
Posts: 5,491

Rep: Reputation: 1081Reputation: 1081Reputation: 1081Reputation: 1081Reputation: 1081Reputation: 1081Reputation: 1081Reputation: 1081
It looks as if your LAN is using the same subnet as that you use to connect to your router. That would be problematic.

Show us
Code:
ip a
Code:
ip r
so others can comment more meaningfully.

If using NetworkManager...
https://fedoramagazine.org/internet-...etworkmanager/
 
Old 05-14-2022, 06:04 AM   #3
byron.hawkins
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2019
Posts: 15

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Thanks for your response, though I managed to get it working. For some reason Fedora doesn't like to share an internet connection on a user-specified IP, so I let it move my LAN over to 10.42.x.x and magically all the weird entries disappeared from the routing table. Everything works fine now. For me it's a bug, but I've filed so many on Fedora this week that I'm just going to ignore this one.
 
Old 05-14-2022, 04:09 PM   #4
ferrari
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Location: Auckland, NZ
Distribution: openSUSE Leap
Posts: 5,491

Rep: Reputation: 1081Reputation: 1081Reputation: 1081Reputation: 1081Reputation: 1081Reputation: 1081Reputation: 1081Reputation: 1081
Quote:
Thanks for your response, though I managed to get it working. For some reason Fedora doesn't like to share an internet connection on a user-specified IP, so I let it move my LAN over to 10.42.x.x and magically all the weird entries disappeared from the routing table.
Again, the issue you had appeared to be due to using the same subnet for the two network interfaces. Shifting the LAN subnet away from 192.168.1.0/24 was required.

GW----<192.168.1.0/24>----Workstation----<10.42.0.0/24>----Local hosts

Not a bug.
 
Old 05-14-2022, 04:16 PM   #5
byron.hawkins
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2019
Posts: 15

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
No, the Internet is on 10.0.x.x and the LAN moved from 192.168.x.x to 10.42.x.x. It's a bug.
 
Old 05-14-2022, 07:09 PM   #6
ferrari
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Location: Auckland, NZ
Distribution: openSUSE Leap
Posts: 5,491

Rep: Reputation: 1081Reputation: 1081Reputation: 1081Reputation: 1081Reputation: 1081Reputation: 1081Reputation: 1081Reputation: 1081
Quote:
Originally Posted by byron.hawkins View Post
No, the Internet is on 10.0.x.x and the LAN moved from 192.168.x.x to 10.42.x.x. It's a bug.
Thatís not consistent with the routing table you posted.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PC cannot reach two lan card linux box chuikingman Linux - Server 1 06-27-2014 04:20 AM
LAN Traffic (Ping, HTTP, FTP) Cannot reach External IP (but can internet) Jkm3141 Linux - Networking 9 04-05-2007 07:46 AM
Cannot reach some sites from LAN giancarlo76 Linux - Networking 9 03-15-2007 10:08 AM
cannot reach internet from private LAN toodr Linux - Networking 12 10-23-2005 07:44 PM
Proftpd: Can reach withing LAN but not outside LAN Harlin Linux - Networking 4 07-18-2005 12:57 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration