LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware
User Name
Password
Linux - Hardware This forum is for Hardware issues.
Having trouble installing a piece of hardware? Want to know if that peripheral is compatible with Linux?

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 01-20-2019, 05:43 PM   #16
mrmazda
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2016
Location: USA
Distribution: openSUSE, Debian, Knoppix, Mageia, Fedora, others
Posts: 1,195

Rep: Reputation: 356Reputation: 356Reputation: 356Reputation: 356

Bummer.

If you file a report on https://bugzilla.kernel.org/ maybe it will get fixed. It's hardly unusual for bugs they don't know about to persist for long periods. Maybe someone who sees it will have a workaround to recommend, as might a query on the kernel mailing list.

Is there an NVidia proprietary driver for G71 with the 4.15 kernel?

How much loss do you notice on other activities when running on one CPU?
 
Old 01-20-2019, 06:45 PM   #17
RobK7
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jan 2019
Posts: 9

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
If you file a report on https://bugzilla.kernel.org/ maybe it will get fixed.
I'll do so.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
Is there an NVidia proprietary driver for G71 with the 4.15 kernel?
Yes there is but it doesn't even boot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
How much loss do you notice on other activities when running on one CPU?
Depends. When writing/testing assembly code, none. When using eclipse, its quite noticeable. Overall its not all that bad one one CPU, for now I'll live with it, but in the long term this needs to get fixed.
 
Old 01-20-2019, 07:15 PM   #18
mrmazda
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2016
Location: USA
Distribution: openSUSE, Debian, Knoppix, Mageia, Fedora, others
Posts: 1,195

Rep: Reputation: 356Reputation: 356Reputation: 356Reputation: 356
Is Plymouth installed in your 18.3? If it's installed in openSUSE, "it doesn't even boot" (whatever that means) with proprietary NVidia installed, but works as expected otherwise. It would be no surprise to me if something similar happens in Mint 18.3.
 
Old 01-20-2019, 09:00 PM   #19
RobK7
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jan 2019
Posts: 9

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
Is Plymouth installed in your 18.3?
Yes it is. Since lightdm and cryptsetup both depend on it, uninstalling is not an option. So I removed splash from GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT. That however, did not make the nvidia driver work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
"it doesn't even boot" (whatever that means)
It means a quick flash of the password promt for cryptsetup, mangled with various colors and the system freezing completely with a continous beep from its speaker.
 
Old 01-21-2019, 01:42 AM   #20
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 11,044
Blog Entries: 7

Rep: Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778
here's another thought:
Ubuntu is known for phasing out hardware support somewhat earlier than Linux (kernel) in general.
That also applies to all Ubuntu derivates, certainly Mint.

So the suggestion would be to proactively look for distros that are
a) NOT based on ubuntu
b) specifically designed for old hardware
you can have a look yourself, but it's a safe bet that antiX is the best fit.
 
Old 01-21-2019, 05:15 AM   #21
business_kid
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Ireland
Distribution: Slackware & Android
Posts: 9,916

Rep: Reputation: 1077Reputation: 1077Reputation: 1077Reputation: 1077Reputation: 1077Reputation: 1077Reputation: 1077Reputation: 1077
I won't dispute AntiX, but Slackware accommodates old stuff too.

It has lilo-1.x, elilo, grub, sysvinit, fixed width X fonts, and every X video driver back into the nineties. I can still get R128, S3, etc - which are long forgotten video cards. As late as slackware-13.37 you could still run a '86 on Slackware and you can run a '586 on it today.
 
Old 01-21-2019, 01:56 PM   #22
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 11,044
Blog Entries: 7

Rep: Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778
Quote:
Originally Posted by business_kid View Post
It has lilo-1.x, elilo, grub, sysvinit, fixed width X fonts, and every X video driver back into the nineties. I can still get R128, S3, etc - which are long forgotten video cards. As late as slackware-13.37 you could still run a '86 on Slackware and you can run a '586 on it today.
i did not know it extends so far.
will keep it in the back of my mind for the next time i struggle with an oldie.
 
Old 01-22-2019, 04:10 AM   #23
business_kid
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Ireland
Distribution: Slackware & Android
Posts: 9,916

Rep: Reputation: 1077Reputation: 1077Reputation: 1077Reputation: 1077Reputation: 1077Reputation: 1077Reputation: 1077Reputation: 1077
Belated edit: On slackware 13.37, you could run a '486, not 'an '86, which would be an 8086
 
Old 02-06-2019, 04:22 AM   #24
beard5849
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Feb 2019
Location: Sydney Australia
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 14

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
I've had system freezes with kernels 4.15.xx and later on both the Banana Pi (original) (Fedora 28) and an Intel J1900 APU system (ASRock Q1900-ITX). Ubuntu 16.04
Disabling the GUI console and running just a text console, problem solved.
The Kernel team have introduced Power Management code to many drivers to reduce power consumption for laptops.
I believe this is the source of the problem. Not all hardware combinations are fully tested.
It's a bugger when systems just freeze, no logs, nothing. Crashing daily, sometimes running for a week.

Alan VK2ZIW

Last edited by beard5849; 02-06-2019 at 04:23 AM.
 
Old 02-06-2019, 02:15 PM   #25
business_kid
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Ireland
Distribution: Slackware & Android
Posts: 9,916

Rep: Reputation: 1077Reputation: 1077Reputation: 1077Reputation: 1077Reputation: 1077Reputation: 1077Reputation: 1077Reputation: 1077
@beard5849: It's better not to hijack a thread, but to post your own thread when you have a problem and give it a proper subject & details. That can usually get attention and get it sorted. Otherwise delimit it as follows
/begin rant
Keep it brief
/end rant
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
trying (and failing) to load newer linux on not-too-old machine sparvin Linux - Newbie 3 10-23-2013 09:38 PM
[SOLVED] High CPU load, but low CPU usage (high idle CPU) baffy Linux - Newbie 5 03-13-2013 09:24 AM
Extremely sluggish system with newest kernels under high memory load Einars Linux - Kernel 5 03-11-2012 04:36 AM
AMD bug problem fixed in newer kernels??? pkathgr Slackware 1 01-12-2005 06:48 AM
kmod is used in newer kernels but... hampel Linux - General 1 08-27-2003 02:56 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration