LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Complete CCNA, CCNP & Red Hat Certification Training Bundle
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Virtualization and Cloud
User Name
Password
Linux - Virtualization and Cloud This forum is for the discussion of all topics relating to Linux Virtualization and Linux Cloud platforms. Xen, KVM, OpenVZ, VirtualBox, VMware, Linux-VServer and all other Linux Virtualization platforms are welcome. OpenStack, CloudStack, ownCloud, Cloud Foundry, Eucalyptus, Nimbus, OpenNebula and all other Linux Cloud platforms are welcome. Note that questions relating solely to non-Linux OS's should be asked in the General forum.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 01-21-2019, 10:14 AM   #1
linuly
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2018
Posts: 55

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
instance


hi,
in openstack we have
#openstack server list
overcloud-compute-2 ctlplane=192.168.100.33
overcloud-controller-2 ctlplane=192.168.100.47

Why in openstack the compute controller roles are instances?
Why the real IP address of compute node is different from the IP address of the server designed as compute?
tnx
 
Old 01-21-2019, 09:37 PM   #2
berndbausch
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2013
Location: Tokyo
Distribution: Redhat/Centos, Ubuntu, Raspbian, Fedora, Alpine, Cirros, OpenSuse/SLES
Posts: 2,608

Rep: Reputation: 653Reputation: 653Reputation: 653Reputation: 653Reputation: 653Reputation: 653
Quote:
Originally Posted by linuly View Post
hi,
in openstack we have
#openstack server list
overcloud-compute-2 ctlplane=192.168.100.33
overcloud-controller-2 ctlplane=192.168.100.47

Why in openstack the compute controller roles are instances?
Why the real IP address of compute node is different from the IP address of the server designed as compute?
tnx
You should not send the same question to two different sites. In your case, it's probably best to use ask.openstack.org and stop sending your questions to Linuxquestions.org.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't ping or ssh to the cirros instance of the openstack instance visuharsha Linux - Networking 0 12-21-2017 02:44 PM
Postfix multiple instance only default instance work Dante K Linux - Server 0 09-05-2017 10:45 AM
[SOLVED] Switch to instance instead of creating a new instance of a program javascriptninja Linux - Newbie 8 01-28-2012 04:39 PM
cant make instance of std::locale... azazil Programming 0 02-20-2002 06:39 AM
how to send instance message from linux to windows ddnehal Linux - Networking 2 07-23-2001 04:09 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Virtualization and Cloud

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration