LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 07-08-2020, 01:29 PM   #346
stf92
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2007
Location: Buenos Aires.
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 4,311

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 71

I didn't.
 
Old 07-08-2020, 01:39 PM   #347
bassmadrigal
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: West Jordan, UT, USA
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 7,251

Rep: Reputation: 4945Reputation: 4945Reputation: 4945Reputation: 4945Reputation: 4945Reputation: 4945Reputation: 4945Reputation: 4945Reputation: 4945Reputation: 4945Reputation: 4945
Do su - and then type passwd to set your root password.
 
Old 07-08-2020, 01:41 PM   #348
stf92
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2007
Location: Buenos Aires.
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 4,311

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 71
I already set the root password. I did it first thing after I installed.
 
Old 07-08-2020, 09:51 PM   #349
stf92
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2007
Location: Buenos Aires.
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 4,311

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by stf92 View Post
My apologies. It was me who typed the password, not the system. What happens is that entering 'su -' gives me a root prompt without having to type the password. I was used to enter the password always after su - so I automatically typed the password and pressed enter. Still why does su - not asks me for the password?
I think I now know what happens. When the installer asked if I wanted to set the password, I answered "no". Then when I finally boot the system, I ran passwd and set the root password. But the system still thinks the root password is the empty string. So when I do 'su -' the system does not ask for the password. It's the only explanation I find.
 
Old 07-09-2020, 10:49 AM   #350
stf92
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2007
Location: Buenos Aires.
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 4,311

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 71
Slackware64-current
kernel 5.4.50

Something unbelievable: first note in this machine, Acer Aspire One Cloudbook 14 (A01-431-C8G8), the hardware clock can't be set by the OS. Only the BIOS knows how to write to it (I've tried with arch and with debian). Now I see the top bar clock (Xfce 4.12) is lagging. So I boot, enter the BIOS menu and set the clock to 12.30 (current time). I boot and run Xfce and I see the time is 6.30. I use the date command (just in case slackware can write the hardware clock) and set to 12.35. I boot and see the BIOS shows 12.36 which is true. I boot and I get time= 9.30. What happens here?

I think the O.S. does not know how to read the hardware clock. At boot time a message is displayed which says something like "Reading the hardware clock...", and it elapses about 10s before it displays the following message, which seems odd.

Last edited by stf92; 07-09-2020 at 11:16 AM.
 
Old 07-09-2020, 12:08 PM   #351
bassmadrigal
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: West Jordan, UT, USA
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 7,251

Rep: Reputation: 4945Reputation: 4945Reputation: 4945Reputation: 4945Reputation: 4945Reputation: 4945Reputation: 4945Reputation: 4945Reputation: 4945Reputation: 4945Reputation: 4945
Run timeconfig as root and make sure that you have the correct answer for "Is the hardware clock set to local time or UTC?" (paraphrasing). My guess is you have it set that the hardware clock set to UTC. If you set it so the hardware clock is local, then it should match the time when you boot up into xfce.
 
Old 07-10-2020, 07:28 AM   #352
stf92
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2007
Location: Buenos Aires.
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 4,311

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 71
No, it's not that. I ran timeconfig and after rebooting the clock was right. But today I turned on the machine and the clock was lagging three hours. It's what I said above. The system does not know how to read the hardware clock:
Code:
root@darkstar:~# hwclock
hwclock: select() to /dev/rtc0 to wait for clock tick timed out
root@darkstar:~#
 
Old 07-10-2020, 07:58 AM   #353
Gordie
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2007
Location: Nolalu, Ontario, Canada
Distribution: Slackware Linux
Posts: 628

Rep: Reputation: 247Reputation: 247Reputation: 247
Try changing your CMOS battery
 
Old 07-10-2020, 08:00 AM   #354
stf92
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2007
Location: Buenos Aires.
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 4,311

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 71
This is a laptop. Has it a CMOS battery?
 
Old 07-10-2020, 08:06 AM   #355
colorpurple21859
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: florida panhandle
Distribution: slackware64-current, fedora,Xubuntu, others
Posts: 4,531

Rep: Reputation: 807Reputation: 807Reputation: 807Reputation: 807Reputation: 807Reputation: 807Reputation: 807
If your still duel booting with debian select hardware clock set to utc.
Maybe this will help
https://www.linux.org/threads/how-to...ackware.23706/
 
Old 07-10-2020, 09:08 AM   #356
stf92
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2007
Location: Buenos Aires.
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 4,311

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 71
For the time being I'll put 'netdate time.nist.gov' in /etc/profile. This will correctly set the system clock (date command) when I boot the O.S. But the problem is this: the time given by the date command, or by the top bar clock in the DE if you prefer, is not the same as the time in the BIOS menu. Or forget about the BIOS.
Code:
root@darkstar:/home/bill# hwclock --get
hwclock: select() to /dev/rtc0 to wait for clock tick timed out
root@darkstar:/home/bill#
However Debian has no problem reading the hardware clock. It just can't write it.
 
Old 07-10-2020, 03:42 PM   #357
stf92
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2007
Location: Buenos Aires.
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 4,311

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 71
Does removepkg remove the package?

Hi: suppose I have foo.txz in the working directory and I run removepkg. Will foo.txz be preserved or will it be deleted?
 
Old 07-10-2020, 04:14 PM   #358
bassmadrigal
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: West Jordan, UT, USA
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 7,251

Rep: Reputation: 4945Reputation: 4945Reputation: 4945Reputation: 4945Reputation: 4945Reputation: 4945Reputation: 4945Reputation: 4945Reputation: 4945Reputation: 4945Reputation: 4945
Quote:
Originally Posted by stf92 View Post
Hi: suppose I have foo.txz in the working directory and I run removepkg. Will foo.txz be preserved or will it be deleted?
It will be preserved.

The only thing removepkg is look at the package database for an entry with that package name and will remove it. It won't affect the actual package itself, just removing any of the package that was installed on the system.
 
Old 07-10-2020, 04:22 PM   #359
stf92
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2007
Location: Buenos Aires.
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 4,311

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 71
Thanks. I ask because having slackware64-current installed, I want to remove the entire d (development) series. Now, I plan to mount the installation USB stick, go to the slackaware/d directory and issue 'removepkg *.txz'. Latter on, I could installpkg gcc, which I think includes the linker, in case I want to build a slackbuilds package, for instance.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Infinite Grub Loop: GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB... beeblequix MEPIS 2 11-02-2013 10:56 PM
Linux boot loader entry in Windows boot loader abhikohokade Linux - Newbie 6 02-22-2013 06:12 AM
I want to remove ubuntu boot loader and use windows boot loader RUshabh55 Linux - Newbie 9 11-29-2009 07:01 PM
How to change from grub boot loader to lilo boot loader linuxjamil Linux - Software 1 05-27-2008 01:47 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:58 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration