LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Server
User Name
Password
Linux - Server This forum is for the discussion of Linux Software used in a server related context.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 07-13-2018, 03:46 PM   #1
Bashed
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2015
Posts: 99

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Debian 9 install issue


Just installed Debian 9 server. This is what I see after boot.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	debian.PNG
Views:	20
Size:	9.3 KB
ID:	28108  
 
Old 07-13-2018, 04:09 PM   #2
Timothy Miller
Moderator
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Arizona, USA
Distribution: Debian, Fedora, Arch, & KDE Neon
Posts: 2,829

Rep: Reputation: 819Reputation: 819Reputation: 819Reputation: 819Reputation: 819Reputation: 819Reputation: 819
What hardware? I had this issue on my Ryzen box due to needing newer kernel to support the hardware.
 
Old 07-13-2018, 04:15 PM   #3
jefro
Moderator
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Posts: 18,550

Rep: Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778
The important part I saw was /dev/sdd1 problem.


Grub is trying to find that.

(yes, full story of this will help)
 
Old 07-13-2018, 05:21 PM   #4
Bashed
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2015
Posts: 99

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
It’s just a Dell PE R610 server.
 
Old 07-13-2018, 10:04 PM   #5
colorpurple21859
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: florida panhandle
Distribution: slackware64-current, puppy, ubuntu
Posts: 2,477

Rep: Reputation: 370Reputation: 370Reputation: 370Reputation: 370
what is your drive/partition set up and what partition was debian install on? Post your /boot/grub/grub.cfg
 
Old 07-14-2018, 10:05 AM   #6
Bashed
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2015
Posts: 99

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
No such file or directory
 
Old 07-14-2018, 10:26 AM   #7
Bashed
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2015
Posts: 99

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
More error on reinstall attempt.

This is such a pain to install.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	error.PNG
Views:	11
Size:	16.0 KB
ID:	28111  
 
Old 07-14-2018, 10:49 AM   #8
Bashed
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2015
Posts: 99

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Got into ssh via console, but networking is not working?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	eno1.PNG
Views:	6
Size:	3.6 KB
ID:	28112   Click image for larger version

Name:	network.PNG
Views:	7
Size:	9.1 KB
ID:	28114  
 
Old 07-14-2018, 12:24 PM   #9
Bashed
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2015
Posts: 99

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
How can I fix this? I'm installing Debian 9 via iDRAC virtual console. I tried to mount bnx2-mips-09-6.2.1b as an iso media attachment (just as I do with the o/s iso files) and that didn't pick up.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	firmware.PNG
Views:	9
Size:	13.9 KB
ID:	28116  
 
Old 07-14-2018, 12:57 PM   #10
colorpurple21859
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: florida panhandle
Distribution: slackware64-current, puppy, ubuntu
Posts: 2,477

Rep: Reputation: 370Reputation: 370Reputation: 370Reputation: 370
You will need to download the needed firmware and make it accessible during the installation.
googling 'firmware during debian installation' will give several hits on how to do it.
https://www.debian.org/releases/jess...h06s04.html.en

Last edited by colorpurple21859; 07-14-2018 at 01:02 PM.
 
Old 07-14-2018, 01:04 PM   #11
Bashed
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2015
Posts: 99

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
I'm installing via virtual console though in iDRAC 6. Can't attach USB drive.
 
Old 07-14-2018, 02:53 PM   #12
Bashed
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2015
Posts: 99

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
This is stupid and frustrating. I found a debian + nonfree CD available online. I installed with 2 drives as RAID 0, so single virtual drive. It worked, but I still end up with this boot problem.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	debian.PNG
Views:	11
Size:	16.3 KB
ID:	28117  
 
Old 07-14-2018, 04:22 PM   #13
colorpurple21859
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: florida panhandle
Distribution: slackware64-current, puppy, ubuntu
Posts: 2,477

Rep: Reputation: 370Reputation: 370Reputation: 370Reputation: 370
the "/dev/sdc1 does not exist" inidicates the root= parameter passed to the kernel during booting is wrong. Post the output of the config file for the boot loader that you are using to boot the system. If you only have two drives set up as raid 1 and the root filesystem is on the first partition it most likely should be root=/dev/sda1

Last edited by colorpurple21859; 07-14-2018 at 08:06 PM.
 
Old 07-14-2018, 08:13 PM   #14
Bashed
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2015
Posts: 99

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
" Post the output of the config file for the boot loader that you are using to boot the system"

I don't think you even read my last post to be honest. It's one virtual drive, RAID 0. It's fresh install of Debian with grub boot loader on that virtual drive. It's supposed to work, why it isn't is beyond me. I install Centos and Ubuntu without hiccups ever.

I cannot even find the boot loader info at all in the shell it drops me in?
 
Old 07-14-2018, 08:42 PM   #15
colorpurple21859
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: florida panhandle
Distribution: slackware64-current, puppy, ubuntu
Posts: 2,477

Rep: Reputation: 370Reputation: 370Reputation: 370Reputation: 370
without details on what you did during installation as far as drives/devices/partitions, messages/errors during setup can't give any real advice.
Do you know what device debian is on(/dev/sda1), something else?
Code:
ls dev
to see what drive devices are available. This assuming the modules needed to access your virual drive are loaded at boot.
Code:
mount -t ext4 /dev/sda1 /root
assuming the debian partition is /dev/sda1 and was formatted ext4. could be some other /dev/??? and/or partition format
Code:
mount dev /root/dev
mount proc /root/proc
mount sys /root/sys
chroot /root
you will be in your debian system to be able to fix it.
after fixing
Code:
exit
then reboot

Last edited by colorpurple21859; 07-14-2018 at 09:19 PM.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Debian 2.6 install issue on Sparc System bhudlemeyer Debian 0 03-17-2007 07:16 AM
Install dual boot debian on raid1 issue linuxstarved Linux - Enterprise 1 01-12-2007 02:37 AM
Debian Install Issue - Debconf loop cracka Debian 1 12-24-2005 11:09 PM
Debian install issue mavrix Linux - Software 1 10-01-2004 08:25 PM
Debian install issue mavrix Linux - Hardware 1 10-01-2004 06:16 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Server

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration